Chevron Left
Back to Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
2,941 ratings
509 reviews

About the Course

Clinical trials are experiments designed to evaluate new interventions to prevent or treat disease in humans. The interventions evaluated can be drugs, devices (e.g., hearing aid), surgeries, behavioral interventions (e.g., smoking cessation program), community health programs (e.g. cancer screening programs) or health delivery systems (e.g., special care units for hospital admissions). We consider clinical trials experiments because the investigators rather than the patients or their doctors select the treatment the patients receive. Results from randomized clinical trials are usually considered the highest level of evidence for determining whether a treatment is effective because trials incorporates features to ensure that evaluation of the benefits and risks of treatments are objective and unbiased. The FDA requires that drugs or biologics (e.g., vaccines) are shown to be effective in clinical trials before they can be sold in the US. The course will explain the basic principles for design of randomized clinical trials and how they should be reported. In the first part of the course, students will be introduced to terminology used in clinical trials and the several common designs used for clinical trials, such as parallel and cross-over designs. We will also explain some of the mechanics of clinical trials, like randomization and blinding of treatment. In the second half of the course, we will explain how clinical trials are analyzed and interpreted. Finally, we will review the essential ethical consideration involved in conducting experiments on people....

Top reviews

JQ
Oct 25, 2019

Excellent beginner course on design and interpretation of clinical trials, complements a lot of what I reviewed on my classes and I would like to take a more advanced course on the topic. Thank you.

CC
Jun 4, 2020

I would highly recommend this course as I found it well-structured and helpful. After studying all the materials, I gained a great amount of knowledge in designing and interpretating clinical trail.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 502 Reviews for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

By Shanen P

Nov 6, 2020

A brief and informative overview of clinical trials. I would highly recommend this course as an introduction to clinical research.

By Gulam M A K

Apr 12, 2017

Excellent course. I would recommend this course for everyone who are interested and don't have the opportunity at their institute.

By Werner S

Jun 21, 2020

Excellent and structured introduction with a lot of new information, even though I am working in the field since quite some time.

By Veronica A Y

May 24, 2020

The course offers a good introduction into clinical trials and is broken down into bite-size sections that made learning easier.

By ANDRES A C H

Apr 12, 2020

I learning tools for design clinical trial and congratulations to excellence professors University Johns Hopkins for this course

By Tani A

Apr 12, 2020

well crafted and easy to understand. The quizzes provide real time self assessment and are excellent for learning and motivation.

By Asmaa s

Aug 6, 2019

This course is amazing and interesting, I recommend it for every student, I learned a lot and earned skills of clinical research.

By Athira B

Mar 18, 2019

Excellent course for understanding basics of clinical trial in detail. Very useful, informative, detailed sections with examples.

By shaurya b

Sep 10, 2018

An amazing course especially for professionals who work in clinical research operations. Very knowledgeable and interesting !

By Beatriz W

May 1, 2020

Excellent professors! It was discussed the main topic to have a better overview to design ad understand the clinical trials.

By DRASHTANT R P

Feb 22, 2020

Excellent & quick overview of clinical trials.

Fundamentals of clinical trials are thoroughly described in a stepwise manner.

By Sarah R

Jan 15, 2019

I learned so much from this course. I thought the lectures were very well designed and easy to follow. Thanks Janet and Lea!

By Diogenes S F

Feb 14, 2017

Great introductory course about Clinical Trials methodology. It helps if you have some background knowledge on Epidemiology.

By Lily K

Jan 7, 2017

Eventhough my English language is not strong, i just can complete this course as requirement! Excellent! Thank you very much

By Veronika V

Oct 23, 2016

Clear, concise, and well-presented, should be part of corporate educational programs for staff involved in clinical trials.

By Zac N

Aug 11, 2020

Excellent course. Highly recommend to all health professionals interested in understanding the basics in clinical trials.

By Cynthia F

Apr 3, 2018

Las expositoras son excelentes

La claridad de los contenidos y el abordaje hace que algo tan complejo sea facil de entender

By MUSOKE A

Mar 30, 2017

It is pretty exciting course with rich knowledge in clinical trials' field which is well expressed with practical examples

By Sena E

Sep 12, 2020

Excellent course, very informative and engaging lectures. However, visuals could've been better in the lecture slides.

By Andrés A P

Nov 12, 2020

Very interesting Course, Totally recommended if you would like to learn or work in the Clinical field of research.

By Shafagh E

Jan 16, 2019

It's detailed and well-designed course, which could be helpful for digging into Clinical Trials and how it works!

By Stella R

Aug 1, 2019

Very informative course! I took it as a refresher and it helped me to review many concepts in Clinical Research.

By CARLOS E D V

Oct 20, 2019

Good course to refresh knowledge from Clinical Epidiomiology, expand some skills and prepare for ohter courses.

By Juan C M P

May 14, 2020

it was a straight forward and engaging course, definitely i will go for more specialized training in this area

By Dr. M M Q

Oct 10, 2020

what a great learning experience. Highly recommended for those who are actively involved in medical research.