Chevron Left
Back to Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
3,445 ratings
592 reviews

About the Course

Clinical trials are experiments designed to evaluate new interventions to prevent or treat disease in humans. The interventions evaluated can be drugs, devices (e.g., hearing aid), surgeries, behavioral interventions (e.g., smoking cessation program), community health programs (e.g. cancer screening programs) or health delivery systems (e.g., special care units for hospital admissions). We consider clinical trials experiments because the investigators rather than the patients or their doctors select the treatment the patients receive. Results from randomized clinical trials are usually considered the highest level of evidence for determining whether a treatment is effective because trials incorporates features to ensure that evaluation of the benefits and risks of treatments are objective and unbiased. The FDA requires that drugs or biologics (e.g., vaccines) are shown to be effective in clinical trials before they can be sold in the US. The course will explain the basic principles for design of randomized clinical trials and how they should be reported. In the first part of the course, students will be introduced to terminology used in clinical trials and the several common designs used for clinical trials, such as parallel and cross-over designs. We will also explain some of the mechanics of clinical trials, like randomization and blinding of treatment. In the second half of the course, we will explain how clinical trials are analyzed and interpreted. Finally, we will review the essential ethical consideration involved in conducting experiments on people....

Top reviews

OS
Sep 18, 2019

This course would be most useful to the participant if pursued within a short time-frame, of maximum of 6 weeks. Both lecturers were clear and good communicators. I would take more of their classes.

CC
Jun 4, 2020

I would highly recommend this course as I found it well-structured and helpful. After studying all the materials, I gained a great amount of knowledge in designing and interpretating clinical trail.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 586 Reviews for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

By Shafagh E

Jan 16, 2019

It's detailed and well-designed course, which could be helpful for digging into Clinical Trials and how it works!

By Stella R

Aug 1, 2019

Very informative course! I took it as a refresher and it helped me to review many concepts in Clinical Research.

By CARLOS E D V

Oct 20, 2019

Good course to refresh knowledge from Clinical Epidiomiology, expand some skills and prepare for ohter courses.

By Juan C M P

May 14, 2020

it was a straight forward and engaging course, definitely i will go for more specialized training in this area

By Robert J

Apr 6, 2021

A very helpful introduction to basic clinical trial design highlighting what makes for a gold-standard trial!

By Dr. M Q

Oct 10, 2020

what a great learning experience. Highly recommended for those who are actively involved in medical research.

By Tomader A

Jul 10, 2020

Clear, focused and succinct. Thoroughly enjoyed it and many thanks to the Instructors and team. Best,Tomader

By Liting C

Mar 29, 2020

the course is mainly an abstrast of clinical trials, if there are more detailed information would be better.

By Chirag S

Dec 17, 2016

Comprehensive, pitched at just the right level. Perfect length of course. An eye opener - highly recommend.

By Elizabeth M

Mar 20, 2020

great pacing, great information. really enjoyed the instructors' enthusiasm and obvious depth of knowledge.

By Mahasweta P

Jan 9, 2018

The lectures are in-depth and complete. I'm able to learn by revisiting the lectures again as I require to.

By Ivanova O

Jul 28, 2017

Very balanced course. It helped me to facilitate communication with the Clinical Department in our Company.

By Frederick G

Mar 3, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. Very clear lectures and materials, an excellent introduction to the subject.

By Maria J c

Jul 29, 2020

Great course!! Teachers made the concepts very simple to learn, even if they are quite difficult subjects

By Imtiaz I A

Jul 1, 2020

Indeed, a very helpful course! I was able to learn and improve my knowledge regarding the design of RCTs.

By Liliana B C

Mar 12, 2016

Muy bueno! explican de la manera más sencilla los puntos principales de un Ensayo Clínico. Recomendable.

By BEYZA E

Sep 29, 2020

This is really good course for beginners who interested in clinical trials. I really enjoyed. Thank you

By Angel G R L

May 4, 2019

excellent if you are begining at the clinical trials world, or if you want to complement your knowledge

By Erica S C

Mar 20, 2021

This is a great overview of clinical trial design. I look forward to taking more from JHSchool of PH!

By Shekh A A

Feb 6, 2021

very useful for preparing and understanding trials protocol and reporting of clinical trials results.

By Omotola O

Sep 15, 2020

Very in-depth and all encompassing for anyone looking to increase their knowledge of clinical trials.

By Keely H

Jun 17, 2020

Excellent high-level overview of clinical trials including methodological and ethical considerations.

By Parul C

May 4, 2020

It was a great course that provided detailed insights into the understanding of the clinical trials.

By Jurga B

Dec 31, 2019

It was easy to follow lectures, gained much of knowledge, especially liked case studies of RCT and o

By Ravi T

Oct 27, 2019

This course is very interesting and I learn a lot about Design and Interpretation of clinical Trials