Chevron Left
Back to Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
3,590 ratings
612 reviews

About the Course

Clinical trials are experiments designed to evaluate new interventions to prevent or treat disease in humans. The interventions evaluated can be drugs, devices (e.g., hearing aid), surgeries, behavioral interventions (e.g., smoking cessation program), community health programs (e.g. cancer screening programs) or health delivery systems (e.g., special care units for hospital admissions). We consider clinical trials experiments because the investigators rather than the patients or their doctors select the treatment the patients receive. Results from randomized clinical trials are usually considered the highest level of evidence for determining whether a treatment is effective because trials incorporates features to ensure that evaluation of the benefits and risks of treatments are objective and unbiased. The FDA requires that drugs or biologics (e.g., vaccines) are shown to be effective in clinical trials before they can be sold in the US. The course will explain the basic principles for design of randomized clinical trials and how they should be reported. In the first part of the course, students will be introduced to terminology used in clinical trials and the several common designs used for clinical trials, such as parallel and cross-over designs. We will also explain some of the mechanics of clinical trials, like randomization and blinding of treatment. In the second half of the course, we will explain how clinical trials are analyzed and interpreted. Finally, we will review the essential ethical consideration involved in conducting experiments on people....

Top reviews

TS
Jul 3, 2018

High quality course ! covering important areas and detailed lectures, more and better than a mere introduction. Congrats ! My only regret : I'd have liked to hear more about NI and equivalence trials

CC
Jun 4, 2020

I would highly recommend this course as I found it well-structured and helpful. After studying all the materials, I gained a great amount of knowledge in designing and interpretating clinical trail.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 607 Reviews for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

By Catherine N W

Nov 5, 2019

W

o

n

d

e

r

f

u

l

By Jorge H C

Nov 7, 2017

Excellent

By John A

May 3, 2017

excellent

By Alfredo J A G

Mar 25, 2017

excelente

By Gonzalo C S

Mar 6, 2017

Very good

By Ahmed K H S

Oct 27, 2016

very good

By Ahmed H

Oct 19, 2016

THANK YOU

By Roberto O G

Jun 4, 2016

Excellent

By Shakil A S

Sep 13, 2020

amazing!

By Sakshi T

Jun 19, 2020

loved it

By Rodrigo D d N

May 2, 2020

Excelent

By ramez m

Mar 8, 2019

Love it.

By Claudia M

Apr 25, 2016

excelent

By Waynice G

Sep 28, 2021

Awsome!

By k m

Jul 12, 2021

Perfect

By Andrea e

Jul 16, 2021

Great!

By Ali O m

Nov 19, 2020

thanks

By Sevda M

Nov 15, 2020

thanks

By Ashwin K

Aug 13, 2017

Good !

By AYUSHI P

Jun 20, 2021

GOOD

By Md W

Apr 21, 2020

...

By Monu S

May 12, 2020

v

By Kara H

Sep 21, 2017

I

By Takashi A M

Dec 18, 2016

This was a good introductory course into clinical trials, providing an overview of its principles, features and design. The lectures were good and clear, and the accompanying slides were just as useful. I will admit to being occasionally lost on certain concepts, especially with regards to those which would've normally been covered in the biostatistics class, as Ms. Drye mentioned once or twice -- after all, I believe this is a class which is probably offered in conjunction with others. That notwithstanding, I can now consider myself aptly familiar with clinical trials and what they entail, thanks to this course.

I will say, however, that having just 10 questions in the quiz is hardly neither exhaustive nor -- and I suppose this goes without saying -- a true test of a good grasp of the course. For instance, I'd read most of the supplemental material for Ethics (week 4) only to realize that that week's quiz could've been passed using common sense alone. I felt somewhat disappointed by that. And also, while one lecturer was very clear in her presentation and discourse, the other wasn't really; more often than not, I was confused by her sentences.

By Simon V d b

Dec 15, 2017

The course was informative and fun, with helpful outlines of actual clinical trials to support the theory. While the length of some videos (a few are >30 minutes) might turn some people off, this did not turn out to be a problem as the course content was very engaging, at least to me. Following both the slides and the voice-over proved to be difficult, but fortunately they seem to completely overlap, so focusing on one is a valid approach The quiz quiestions were easy, sometimes to the point of being obvious, and perhaps the course would benefit from a more varied range of question types instead of just true/false questions. The discussion prompts, on the other hand, were very thought-provoking and challenged the learner to put what they learned into practice. They are easily the highlights of this course. Overall, quite an enjoyable experience.