Chevron Left
Back to Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
3,506 ratings
601 reviews

About the Course

Clinical trials are experiments designed to evaluate new interventions to prevent or treat disease in humans. The interventions evaluated can be drugs, devices (e.g., hearing aid), surgeries, behavioral interventions (e.g., smoking cessation program), community health programs (e.g. cancer screening programs) or health delivery systems (e.g., special care units for hospital admissions). We consider clinical trials experiments because the investigators rather than the patients or their doctors select the treatment the patients receive. Results from randomized clinical trials are usually considered the highest level of evidence for determining whether a treatment is effective because trials incorporates features to ensure that evaluation of the benefits and risks of treatments are objective and unbiased. The FDA requires that drugs or biologics (e.g., vaccines) are shown to be effective in clinical trials before they can be sold in the US. The course will explain the basic principles for design of randomized clinical trials and how they should be reported. In the first part of the course, students will be introduced to terminology used in clinical trials and the several common designs used for clinical trials, such as parallel and cross-over designs. We will also explain some of the mechanics of clinical trials, like randomization and blinding of treatment. In the second half of the course, we will explain how clinical trials are analyzed and interpreted. Finally, we will review the essential ethical consideration involved in conducting experiments on people....

Top reviews

JQ
Oct 25, 2019

Excellent beginner course on design and interpretation of clinical trials, complements a lot of what I reviewed on my classes and I would like to take a more advanced course on the topic. Thank you.

OS
Sep 18, 2019

This course would be most useful to the participant if pursued within a short time-frame, of maximum of 6 weeks. Both lecturers were clear and good communicators. I would take more of their classes.

Filter by:

576 - 595 of 595 Reviews for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

By Muhammed E M

Aug 5, 2020

Good course !

By Xiaomin W

Dec 22, 2020

Very good!

By natalia r

Jan 19, 2020

Very good!

By ALFREDO H

Oct 28, 2019

excelente

By Adeola A

Jan 5, 2017

great

By barah k a

Mar 10, 2017

good

By Shalini S

Sep 19, 2017

This was an extremely interesting course. The topics laid out week by week were adequate and easy to complete. The only issue I would point out is there was very little interaction from the course coordinators. It would have been helpful to get feedback on some of the discussion topics. I would have also liked to see explanations of some of the answers on the quizzes. A list of further reading (including suggested books, published papers, interesting articles) would have been welcome. In all, it was a very useful course, however due to some of the issues mentioned previously, I refrained from purchasing the course. Th

By Panagiotis N

Sep 12, 2017

This is an educational course that will introduce you many aspects of a clinical trial.

Things to improve: A. instructors/mentors are not responsive and any question that you may have, will remain unanswered and B.some videos are quite lengthy.

By Alexander A

Sep 10, 2020

The course should include lectures about real clinical trials and also analysis about the most useful statistical indicators to read the essays

By Bhaskar G

May 27, 2020

Nice, but statistical methods for calculation of sample size and power calculations must have been included in greater detail.

By Marcus C

Jul 16, 2017

Was alright, but felt a bit short of content. Some more interactive assignments, questionnaires and examples would be nice.

By Robert W

Aug 27, 2019

for me personally the level was to basic. Having said that, it gives a good overview on clinical trial designs.

By Bruna d A P

Mar 26, 2020

The content was very well prepared, but i think most of the Topics can not be applie

By Marilia C

Aug 31, 2017

Good course as an introduction of the topic.

By Xin W

Jan 3, 2017

presentation is poor, not very engaging

By Nicolas C

Jun 11, 2017

Interesting, but a little elementary.

By Felix J G G

Jul 23, 2017

Explanations are complicated

By Sandeep C

Mar 15, 2020

english is not too formal.

By Dmitry P

May 22, 2020

Great, smart, and talented people who understand the course material. Not everybody has the talent to teach.

By Amr S

Mar 28, 2021

it's not easy forward nor clear especially for examples wise, many times I feel confused and lost.