Chevron Left
Back to Coexistence in Medieval Spain: Jews, Christians, and Muslims

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Coexistence in Medieval Spain: Jews, Christians, and Muslims by University of Colorado System

4.5
stars
126 ratings

About the Course

This course explores Jewish, Christian, and Muslim intercultural relations in Iberia from the Visigothic era (6th century CE) until the creation of Queen Isabel I and King Ferdinand II Catholic Spain (late 15th century). We evaluate the many identities of the peninsula known as Christian Hispania, Jewish Sefarad, and Islamic al-Andalus. We trace the origins and trajectory of conflict between these communities (the Muslim conquest of Spain, Christian Reconquista, prohibitions blocking intermixing of peoples, and expulsions). We aim to understand conflicts within communities as well, such as the tensions between Christian Arian Visigoths and native Catholic Iberians or the fundamentalist North African Almohad Dynasty that rejected the Spanish Umayyad Caliphate’s preference for religious tolerance. We delve into an appreciation of collaboration and coexistence among these communities. We explore the unique role of the Jewish community who Muslims and Christians depended upon as political and cultural intermediaries as well as their intellectual collaborators. We find the history of how peoples attempted to create and manage viable diverse communities. As we study this history, the Honors Track will employ an investigative process (“The Historian’s Craft”) that involves viewing, reading, analyzing, and reflecting on events, peoples, places, and artifacts....

Top reviews

TR

Aug 5, 2020

Awesome! I am going to revisit this class readings and keep learning. Amazing videos! Abundance of knowledge shared! Above and beyond of what I thought this class could be! Thank you so much!!!

GA

Jul 12, 2021

Excellent. If you are interested in History, and if you are Latin American it can give you a sense of identity an give you understanding of many aspects of our current day to day life.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 49 Reviews for Coexistence in Medieval Spain: Jews, Christians, and Muslims

By Jo N

Feb 23, 2018

Was really looking forward to this course but was extremely disappointed. I do these courses to learn about unfamiliar subjects, but there was nothing here to add to my general knowledge. Such a shame, as it is potentially a fascinating area of study. I expect the in-course quizzes to check my understanding of what I have learned, not as a means of the poor quality presenter finding my opinion on the state of the world today. I shall not be wasting more of my time on this.

By Jody G

Mar 24, 2018

Excellent course. Informative and well-presented in a variety of formats (reading, video, virtual simulations).

By Ann W C

Oct 8, 2020

rubbish student support AKA none

By Maureen T

Oct 13, 2018

I have truly enjoyed this course. I have been reading around this subject since I was a teenager. I spent years trying to find a course on it,and I couldn't really afford to take another degree. So, I went back to reading anything I could on this topic,including travelling to Spain on flamenco and sight seeing holidays, L'institut du Monde Arabe for more literature, etc,etc. Just by accident,I found this course ,after enrolling on several online education sites.

This course has a lot of material, videos, extracts, quizzes, forums and analysing and reviewing artefacts,and listening to Andalusi/ Sephardic music,reading poetry etc. I enrolled as an interested learner but it was so interesting,with things I hadn't known about,before,I upgraded. Yes,if you want to get a lot of it,you have to put in the work. The quizzes were a mixture of medium difficulty to challenging: they really kept me on my toes. I learned a lot about honing my skills as a historian : evaluating ,reviewing,reflecting on historical artefacts, with their contexts and significance.

The videos have transcripts/ subtitles facilities. You can work at your own pace,within the time given.

By the end of the course,I had a far deeper and detailed ,joined up understanding of history,politics,art,culture/ anthropology of co existence in Moorish/ Medieval Spain. I shall certainly enrol on the Deciphering Secrets series.

The main lecturer,Roger Louis Martinez- Davila is very enthusiastic, encouraging and dedicated lecturer. I really respect his efforts within this course and all the other interrelated projects he has done. Great contributions from others,too.

A very enriching journey and experience

By Paulo

Jun 2, 2018

Excellent course on coexistence and religious tolerance, increasingly important to us today.

By Sergio M Y

Jul 22, 2019

Very interesting the perspective from the muslim point of view

By Diego P P

Aug 14, 2020

This is a very nice course for someone who has interest on expand their knowledge in Iberian History. It was very nice structured and I think it is an excellent job from the professor to start the course with an introduction of the main topic of the course ¿What does coexistence mean?, this is a key question to study the content of the course.

The material used (lectures, book chapters, videos, images) were excellent, it is amazing studying through a digital platform that allows you to have access to a lot of materials that you can even check after the end of the course.

Finally I would like to thank professor Martinez because all my expectations were exceeded with the course. Thanks for all the time and effort on putting all this together.

By Cansu A

May 6, 2018

I really enjoyed the course, it was very educative and inspring. The videos were, particularly the Virtual Plasencia was quite interesting. I loved how the course rncoutaged the audirnce to wuestion the terminology and meaning of the words within different historical contexts. I highly recommend it to everyone interested in Mediterranean history, history of Spain and Middle Ages. Thank you for this lovely intellectual experience Roger ^_^

By Delia G P S

Jul 10, 2019

Ha sido un curso realmente maravilloso en el que no solamente nos brindaron herramientas para el trabajo histórico sino que ilustraron de una manera sumamente amigable la forma en la que judíos, cristianos y musulmanes lograron convivir en el espacio de la Península Ibérica.

By Calvin E

Jun 3, 2022

This course was rreally insiteful and thought provoking as well as very informative. I really enjoyed this one.

By Georgina W

Jan 31, 2020

This course contains a lot of information . However, one thing that I feel that it is lacking is information on the gypsies in Spain during this entire span of time. Even just one video or reading looking into the gypsy's place in the culture should be added to this course.

By Bruce w

Dec 31, 2018

well covered subject. However, the audio quality of nearly all of the Spanish speakers was terrible. I speak Spanish but had to turn the volume way up and even then I missed much of what was said.

By Bob B

Aug 26, 2018

My only real complaints are that a lot of the material repeated (readings saying the same as the lecture) and that the lecturer's pronunciation of Spanish names really irked me.

By Jonathan G

Aug 15, 2018

dry course. Too much reading and boring as hell

By Elaine H

Feb 18, 2022

information was there but class was poorly organized, the readings went on random tangents, overall really disapointing

By Ruturaj M

Sep 3, 2023

I would be delighted to provide feedback on the course "Coexistence in Medieval Spain: Jews, Christians, and Muslims." This course has been an exceptional journey into the complex and fascinating history of religious coexistence in medieval Spain. Here are some key points that made this course truly outstanding:

1. Comprehensive Content: The course offers a well-rounded and comprehensive exploration of the interactions between Jews, Christians, and Muslims in medieval Spain. It covers historical, cultural, and social aspects, providing a holistic understanding of this unique period.

2. Engaging Lectures: The lectures are not only informative but also engaging. The instructors' passion for the subject matter shines through, making the content come alive and keeping learners captivated throughout.

3. Diverse Perspectives: The course does an excellent job of presenting diverse perspectives and voices from the different religious communities. This inclusivity adds depth and authenticity to the historical narrative.

4. Quality Resources: The recommended readings, multimedia materials, and additional resources are of high quality and complement the lectures effectively. They offer further opportunities for exploration and learning.

5. Thought-Provoking Discussions: The discussion forums and assignments encourage critical thinking and lively debates. They foster a sense of community among learners and provide a platform for sharing insights and opinions.

6. Cultural Insights: The course goes beyond historical events to delve into the cultural contributions of Jews, Christians, and Muslims during this period. It helps learners appreciate the rich heritage left behind by these communities.

7. Accessibility: The course platform is user-friendly, making it easy to navigate and access course materials. This accessibility enhances the overall learning experience.

8. Timely and Relevant: Understanding the historical coexistence of different religious groups is especially relevant in today's diverse world. This course offers valuable insights into tolerance, collaboration, and the challenges of coexistence.

9. Expert Instructors: The instructors demonstrate a deep expertise in the subject matter and a genuine commitment to educating learners. Their expertise shines through in their teaching and interactions.

10. Impactful Learning: As a learner, I feel that this course has expanded my knowledge, enriched my understanding of history, and provided a broader perspective on the dynamics of coexistence.

In conclusion, "Coexistence in Medieval Spain: Jews, Christians, and Muslims" is a stellar course that combines excellent content, engaging teaching, and a thought-provoking approach to history. It's an enriching experience that I wholeheartedly recommend to anyone interested in this period of history or the themes of religious coexistence. Thank you for offering such a valuable and enlightening course.

By Elizabeth T A

Sep 28, 2020

It was a very interesting and illuminating course. I loved the virtual visits to archives, as wells many readings that illustrated the topics presented.

I would love to do a Comparative Religions in our day.

Any suggestions?

As soon as the pandemic allows, I will go and visit Spain and spend time enjoying the spaces we discussed.

Enjoyed Professor Roger Luis Martinez-Dávila. his love for his specialty is contagious. I very much admired his respect and veneration for his selected profession.

Elizabeth Tavares Arsénio

By MAXIM B

Aug 5, 2020

It was a truly eye-opening course. I learnt more about multiculturalism from this course than from any other course I have taken earlier. Even though it felt somewhat raw due to a low number of students, I still managed to make the most of it. I would like to congratulate Dr. Roger Louis Martínez-Dávila on this extraordinary work. We need more courses like this in order to raise awareness about this compelling period of the Spanish and the world's history. ¡Viva la Convivenca!

By Марат Б

Oct 7, 2021

Dear friends! Thanks so much as the organisers of the course for this powerful material, it was very interesting, especially for me as a Christian from an evangelical community, it was very important to learn many details of the history and make conclusions. Also a big thank you to Coursera for the financial support, thank you and God bless everyone!

By David M

Aug 18, 2023

An amazing and highly motivational course, highlighting not just the history of Medieval Spain but one of the greatest periods of interfaith cultural cooperation and coexistence. Thoroughly recommend this wonderful programme developed by American and European Universities. More humanities courses please Coursera!

By Maria J V

Jul 24, 2023

Un magnífico curso muy bien explicado y que me ha servido para ampliar mis pocos conocimientos acerca de esta tan valiosa e interesante convivencia de estas tres religiones monotístas del mismo orígen en la península Ibérica. Gracias al magnífico profesor.

By Marcelo V

Jul 24, 2020

This is an excellent course with a very well planned sequence. The videos not only enforce the contents of the course but also provide a window to historical sites in museums, synagogues and mosques, and presentations from experts.

By Maria C

Jul 15, 2020

I really enjoyed this course due to its excellent short videos and quizzes on the history of Spain. I very much liked the authentic videos from Spain and the interviews with local experts, but, at times they did speak too quickly.

By TyAnn S R

Aug 6, 2020

Awesome! I am going to revisit this class readings and keep learning. Amazing videos! Abundance of knowledge shared! Above and beyond of what I thought this class could be! Thank you so much!!!

By Gustavo A

Jul 13, 2021

Excellent. If you are interested in History, and if you are Latin American it can give you a sense of identity an give you understanding of many aspects of our current day to day life.