Chevron Left
Back to Community Change in Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Community Change in Public Health by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
143 ratings
36 reviews

About the Course

In bringing about behavior change in public health, we often focus on the individual mother, student, or farmer. We should not forget the community structure and norms constrain for encouraging individual health behaviors. This course examines the community context of the changes needed to promote the public’s health. We begin by examining the various definitions of ‘community’ and the processes by which we ‘diagnose’ or seek to understand the structure and characteristics of different types of communities. An appreciation of community similarities and differences is necessary lest we fall into the trap of designing one-size-fits-all interventions. We need to recognize that no matter that outsiders may view a community as poor or neglected, we can find strengths and capacities for improvement in each community. Identifying community capacities and resources is the first step in facilitating community change. Different practical and philosophical approaches to change and therefore, examined. Specific to the change process is our recognition of the need for communities to participate in the design, implementation and evaluation of any intervention. We examine the concept of participation in an effort to see how different levels of involvement may affect sustainability of community change efforts. Finally a case study of a community participatory approach to onchocerciasis control in Africa is presented. Community Directed Intervention has subsequently been successfully applied to providing other essential primary health care services by and in the community, such as insecticide treated bednets, malaria treatment, vitamin A distribution, deworming medicines, and pneumonia and diarrhea case management....

Top reviews

AA

Feb 21, 2017

It was a very insightful course as it showed us how community change is effected in developing countries. The case studies were practical and showed the change that occurs in reality, not just theory

MH

Feb 12, 2019

Very informative and give me the chance to have a new perspective regarding the essential role of community participation in improving and sustaining the health care system.

Filter by:

26 - 36 of 36 Reviews for Community Change in Public Health

By Myrna P

Oct 20, 2020

Overall I enjoyed the course and learned quite a bit. I realize that this course was filmed a while ago when focusing on communities in Africa was and they still are a priority. As I live in a very large urban city in the US and I am taking not only this course but the Foundations of Global Health during a SARS-COV2 pandemic I am looking at it through that lens. It would be nice if this could be updated to include the COVID-19 pandemic

By Audra B

Oct 08, 2016

LOVE the topic/content. I would like more small assignments to solidify defining terms and ideas before applying the course ideas to case study samples. I would take more courses in this topic and similar topics!

By Shruti S

Dec 08, 2016

It was a very informative course that helped me understand the principles behind community work. The use of case studies to explain concepts was what helped me the most.

By Suzan O

Mar 21, 2017

It is a very useful insight into community change in public health and a must for every one who want to ensure sustainability is integrated into his intervention

By Humeyra A K

Jun 12, 2020

This was a thought-provoking course on community typologies and the best approach to take to trigger behaviour change.

By Eunice A

Aug 28, 2016

This course is ideal for anyone interested in community-oriented public health. It's worth the time and effort.

By Onyinyechukwu D A

Jan 07, 2018

Very insightful. Lessons can be integrated beyond public health

By Nader A

Dec 22, 2017

It was Amazing!

By rashmi r

Sep 11, 2017

good information.

By Katherine G

Apr 27, 2018

If you like learning labels and definitions, this is a great course. If you want to learn about how to create community change, skip it.

The course focuses on defining communities and types of change, which it does very well. However, be aware that it does not cover how to create this change, except with the most cursory of references. I found the assessments (which require you to define various parts of a community and change processes) monotonous, especially as you must complete the same assessment questions twice. Neither myself nor anyone I peer-graded agreed with the course creators on which labels to use for the case studies, so I wonder how useful they are as learning points.

Finally, I was disappointed that the course focuses on a handful of stereotypical communities and change programs (e.g. HIV, malaria, and clean water in Africa). It is difficult to relate the material to other community contexts, such as Western or developed ones.

By Peter L M

Mar 02, 2017

the course really covered information I knew but made simple concepts complex - that is just my opinion