Chevron Left
Back to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
803 ratings
270 reviews

About the Course

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Top reviews

J
Dec 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW
Feb 3, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 268 Reviews for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

By Cleefton B

Dec 1, 2019

Excellent!

By Abu S M H

Jan 13, 2020

Excillent

By James L

Mar 30, 2020

GREAT

By Kingshuk D

Jul 24, 2020

The first 3 weeks were good content and testing, though i would request more questionnaires to test all concepts introduced. though i believe the content visuals & explanations could be improved, but that generally applies to most things we do anyway. Improvisation is a continuous process.

There is something humourous about the 4th week. The content and exercises appear to have been squished in with the same amount of haste like that of a student wanting to just finish the course( I was one of the students myself , so there!). The forum response rate went down as well (understandably!). In my humble opinion, the 4th week needed to be a bit more elaborate by at least 1 more week. More exercises with smoother notching up of complexity of exercises, testing out all possible concepts so that they get embedded deeper into the students' thought process irrespective of whether they take up computing later or not.

Thank you big time, Professors! :)

By Reece M

Feb 3, 2020

Overall I thought this course was very well done. It was at a basic level, so much so that you didn't need a background in computational thinking or mathematics to take the course. This was very nice!

The explanations were very helpful and the videos were well done. The instructors were overall quite engaging and the concepts were well-motivated.

I think the capstone problem (the Corpus example) could be modified to make it more engaging and interesting. I think a different problem would be more suitable, as the description of the problem was somewhat difficult to digest.

Some of the compiling and checking of the solutions was a little challenging at times. Sometimes you had the correct answer, but needed to alter the solution somewhat to fit the criteria of the test. This was not necessarily a bad thing, but it was frustrating in Module 4.

Overall nicely done!

Reece

By Daniel C

Aug 16, 2020

Very interesting course for beginners. In my professional environment, I am rarely exposed to this type of problem solving through coding (I am a CPA), yet, this course took me from zero to having a better understanding about how to "think" like a computer. One recommendation I would make is to somehow show students, onscreen, for each example on the PowerPoints, how each line of code is interpreted by the computer. The latter would clearly show things like why indentation is so important or how the computer understands a loop. Lastly, although I received multiple emails from the available support, it comes a point where you need somewhat of a live chat. Again, I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to wet his/her appetite for programming. Thank you for all the support and patience.

By Christopher T

Nov 22, 2020

For the most part, the course is well paced and the content is explained clearly. However, the python module felt a bit rushed to me and the problem sets did not feel appropriate for someone with no prior python experience. I had to complete two other intro level python classes outside of this course in order to be ready to solve the final assignment in Computational Thinking. In the end, this class did challenge me quite a bit and I have learned about Python coding as a result, which was my ultimate goal in the grand scheme.

By Alon H

May 19, 2020

Really well put together course, clear audio and beneficial visuals. The earlier phases of the course didn't provide clear guidance on what was looked for in grading, so it took a while to get adjusted. Sometimes explanations on why something was done in a video were skipped over, leading to a need to read the forums to get clarity. Learned a lot, and enjoyed the exercises!

By thaddeuspearson

Dec 17, 2019

A well thought out, progressive walk into python programming and the paradigm of computational thinking. There were a few exercises that left a few details slightly fuzzy, and some instructions that were not 100% clear, but not impossible to work through. Presenters spoke clearly and slowly, and were helpful in understanding topics.

By Nguyễn N P A

Jul 29, 2019

Overall the course is interesting and informative to beginner. And this way of thinking is truly practical and helpful in the real life. But the last part of the course including the coding part is not truly adequate for the beginner, making the beginner has to go extra miles to be able to do it but I wondered its necessity.

By CHUAN W

Jul 9, 2020

Great course!

I learned a little bit about python before, so this program really broad my eye about algorithms. The 4th week is somehow challenging especially for 4.7. but after complete it. I enhanced my knowledge about some key point in Python programming like class and object.

By Robert B

Feb 24, 2020

Enjoyed the course very much. Only had issues submitting Assignments 4.7 and 4.8 to the Autograder. Running the code in the window would provide a correct answer but it wouldn't be accepted once submitted. Otherwise, I highly recommend this course.

By santiago p

Aug 17, 2019

Great course and content. The responsiveness to questions and issues in the forum was not the best and could be improved. Overall the course was well structured, engaging, and insightful. Feel great to start coding in Python.

By Lluc R S

Jan 18, 2019

Useful course taught at an adequate rate. I recommend it for people who are interested in learning the basics of computational thinking, i.e. a systematic approach to problem-solving.

By Elise N

Aug 18, 2019

The autograder can be somewhat of a pain and some of the solutions in the peer-review sections aren't the most efficient. Otherwise it helped teach the building blocks of coding.

By Jessica K

Jul 1, 2020

Prior basic python knowledge will help with this course. Instructors were great. However the last week and its assignments need to tie in better with the overall course.

By Lucas d H M

May 7, 2020

Very useful course with interesting and relatable examples. Both instructors speak in an easy manner and take proper time to explain the concepts.

By Weilian X

Aug 24, 2019

Very nice course of people who have no experience with computer and programming.

The only thing I can complain is the peer-graded assignment.

By Danielle J

Jun 9, 2019

Really great course. I found the wording of a couple homework problems to be confusing, but overall really enjoyed the course

By Danrui

Nov 7, 2020

The course is great, but the last 2 questions in the forth week are not friendly for the coding beginner.

By Salahuddin P

Jun 17, 2020

It was very joyful throughout the course and i learned a lot but there is a problem, the voice is so low.

By Priya C

Jul 5, 2020

The last 2 assignments had some issues in the results. Those need to be fixed to save us some time.

By Laura M

Apr 16, 2020

Muy interesante, especialmente para aquellos que estamos iniciandonos en entender este mundillo.

By Shalin M

Sep 23, 2019

The course is very well designed and taught, however the peer review system is a real pain.