Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
33,268 ratings
7,617 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

SW
Jun 21, 2021

This course was more intensive than the first one, but felt a little more hands-on. I am excited to see how the next course goes. I do feel I learned quite a bit in this course and it was challenging.

ME
Jul 31, 2020

i learned so much even after i took CCNA i had some vague points, but this course made thing clearer to me looking , it even made me interested to complete the whole google it support specialization .

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 7,673 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By John D

Apr 21, 2021

This course is a great in-depth look into Computer Networking. It really dives in and explains every aspect of networks, what they are, what are the components that make up a connection. data transfer and so much more. It seems like a lot of data to process, which it is, but the layout of the course helps along the way.

By ANDRÉS B L A

Jul 28, 2020

I have some background in networking, this course is very well constructed and serve me great as a refesher of some of the building blocks of networking and even taught me some new things like the diferents command line tools to troubleshoot networks that i never heard about and will surely serve me in my future carrer.

By J. C

May 14, 2020

Very informative course that truly helped me learn deeper skills in my field. While challenging and at times difficult it was absolutely worth it. I appreciate all of the individuals who participated in creating this course. I know it took a lot of time and you did a great job explaining it in an easy to understand way.

By Michael H

May 2, 2020

Since I graduated from ITT Technical Institute in 1988 I have been dealing with computers then after that I started troubleshooting networking learning along the way, I then saw your course on the coursera wedsite and I'm glad I did because it is a VERY GOOD course and I'm agoing to try to get the main certificate.

By Michael E

Dec 18, 2020

The instructor was really passionate about the topic which helped a lot getting to understand the importance and the many intricacies.

I would have wished that more of the course would have been interactive. I feel a bit overwhelmed by the about of information that I have absorbed but not yet been able to put to use

By Philcollins O

Nov 18, 2020

This course has been quite detailed and its exciting to go through lessons learning new insights on how computers are able to communicate to one another through different networks and all the protocols involved, from the basic hardware standards to the complex yet well presented and guided protocols.

I love this unit

By Jonathan O

Nov 14, 2020

This was well worth it. I believe it's one of the courses that makes or breaks you. I know understand how networking works, how it got started, why it's so important, and how to do some minor/basic troubleshooting.

Since I passed, I truly believe that it's not impossible for anyone to learn about being an IT person.

By Morgan R

Mar 28, 2020

This was definitely a lot on the technical side, through weeks 2, 3, and 4. Gave me a lot of information that I never really knew about, outside of generalisations. Once we got into weeks 5, and 6 it got back into the end-user side of networking and back on ground I think everyone has at least some experience with.

By Damaso R

Apr 8, 2018

Phenomenal amount of information! If you take this course, and REVIEW the notes after each lesson, you will learn so much about networking, from its very finer details (dynamic host configuration) to the general concepts (network layers, Wi-Fi) that will really help you understand the way computer networking works.

By CHRISTOPHER T

Apr 19, 2019

This was a very informational course in the concepts of computer networking. Having no background in networking, I found that there were challenging moments. I feel that the course could be improved with the addition of some virtual instances to allow learners to attempt to solve a few troubleshooting scenarios.

By Niya B

Jun 4, 2018

I had a bit an issue with the week 2 test, when I had to fill in the blank it wasn't excepting my answers. However when I retook it and clicked the bubble with the same answers i had previously entered it excepted it. Other than that minor issue I absolutely loved this course and it wasn't as scary as I thought.

By Dejene G

Jun 26, 2021

Thanks to the courses I took I able to ha exposure how computers are working by using bits and bytes to communicate between computers no matter how far in the global exist. I wish there is away on job the training so that it is possible to have hands on experience. I am interested to continue with next courses.

By Kurt D S

Jun 5, 2020

This did a good job. There were only two times in the whole course I had to run out to YouTube to clarify my understanding of the topic. This is a great course if you're interested in networking whether you're at the start of a career, looking for a change, or an old man trying to keep his job by staying current!

By Aayush S

May 17, 2020

Amazing Instructor!!! It's so boring to listen to people who are monotonous but this was not the case with this guy. He made material super exciting to listen to. And when it comes to course content, you don't have to worry much as this and all google courses are mostly well thought and presented in the best way.

By Omar F

Mar 5, 2021

Course had great material and broke concepts down well in order to get a fundamental understanding of networking as a whole. Would have liked to see a bit more real world tools being leveraged in order to check network issues. Perhaps a Wireshark demo or a tcpdump to see relevant network traffic put in practice.

By Kasey P

Feb 26, 2021

Boy, this was one of the tougher courses! But it is so worth it once you finish, and I feel very accomplished. Finishing this course successfully truly gave me excitement pride. This set me up with the mentality that this is going to be very possible for me to finish and I feel just overjoyed at completing this.

By Stephen G G

Dec 19, 2020

This course was amazing!! I never thought that I would understand networking to the level that I do after taking this course. One of the most difficult courses I have ever taken, and I feel a real sense of accomplishment having just completed it. I can't wait to start the next course in this certificate program!

By Salman A K

Aug 9, 2020

Wow! That's was amazing. Very well explained about hard topics and cleared all the concepts very nicely. The instructor explain in a very nice manner and it helps me to understand the core concepts of networking. Lots of respect and love from Pakistan. Thanks, Google and Coursera for providing the worthy course.

By Farit C C

Aug 7, 2020

It was a really nice and difficult course. I did not have any further knowledge in networking but now I do. It was so complex and thought I could not make it. I am really happy I complete the course. I have so many things to be gratefull I have no words to express how am I feeling right now. Thank you very much.

By Gaëlle L V

Feb 7, 2020

Challenging but really great course! The instructor did some research in order to provide us with the best jokes out there, even though the topic could have made for a boring course. Instead, the instructor's approach made for an awesome overall experience and I managed to complete the course way faster! Thanks!

By TROY B

Sep 5, 2019

There is a lot to learn about Computer Networking and for sure this course was extremely challenging. You have to really hang in there and review the material about the Networking layers and protocols to really grasp the material. This course really detailed every aspect of Computer Networking in great detail.

By Lisa R

May 16, 2020

The hardest class so far. Didn't enjoy it at all. The instructor, however, was a great presenter.

I give it 5 stars because it is relevant information. Wish there was more real life discussion instead of the constant here's a term, definition, term, definition. Get ready to memorize a bunch of unfamiliar terms.

By Binnui J M

Feb 19, 2019

Great course..! Even if you're an entry-level IT person, you will be able to understand many new concepts regarding Computer Networking. If you have any kind of previous training or experience with Computer Networking, this course will help re-affirm many different concepts and/or understand them even better.

By Devon T

Oct 13, 2018

This is very complex compared to the first course. This dives really really deep into the how the client successfully reaches the server and all the small processes in between. I won't spoil too much, but definitely take notes or re-watch videos to fully understand information that doesn't sink in right away!

By Jorge F V

Aug 4, 2018

Muy buen material, excelente explicaciones todas claras con ejemplos estupendos. Realmente te da un paneo general de area de Networking. No se si es tan apto para alguien que no tiene conocimientos basicos de redes. Quizas ayudaria si introducen material de practica para realizar pings y cosas asi. Saludos