Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
43,156 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

TS

Aug 5, 2019

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

BC

Jun 23, 2018

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 9,848 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By Michael F

Oct 11, 2022

This informative section covers the basics of networking history, including devices, domains, and core internet protocols. The course ends with an overview of advanced networking topics, including DNS, cloud computing, IPv6 tunneling, and modern network troubleshooting techniques. 

The instructors are knowledgeable and qualified to be teaching this section. Despite having worked in IT for several years, I learned something new each week. I wish a program like this had been available when I first entered the field. 

Thanks, Google (and Coursera)

By Faisel K

Aug 29, 2022

Difficult to get through if you are not technically minded or have any tech background (hence you have to learn by researching and not just relying on the course) especially week 2 graded assignment, but overall it was really good with loads of technical details and understanding. It's amazing to believe that Google has been able to make this course to be available with so much optimism. I like the it's rooted on the ground and is relatedable. Thank you for making me feel that I can be a part of this and strive for a career in IT

By Ronald D G

Jul 12, 2022

I really enjoyed this course and the curriculum that went along with it. I was very informative and educational, with the videos for each lesson as well as the transcript of everything the lecturers said. Not only that, but I liked how a subject would be taught and more and more information would be built upon that topic as the lessons went on. Taken one topic and breaking it down in such a detail manner. I don't know, it might just be me, but I find this information so interesting and exciting. Thank you, Coursera

By Jeph C

Jan 30, 2022

This course was exceptional. It's a very throrough sweep of computer networking as a whole. There were certain topics that could have been expanded on, but the instructors were always keen on offering a few outside source suggestions. They were very transparent when it came to "hey, we could talk forever on this topic. We strongly encourage you to research on your own.".

I definitely feel much more confident talking shop about computer networking after this course. Had a blast!

By Mohamed M K

Oct 24, 2021

The most interesting thing I learned in this course Not a specific thing, but in general a close and systematic view of many, many concepts and definitions within the world of bits and bytes The most difficult moments in which I suffered was the abundance of information in most units, so that sometimes it is difficult for me to absorb all this amount of information at once. And of course I look forward to taking the next course in IT Support Specialist certification

By Malleshwar S

Nov 11, 2022

That's an amazing course - explained bit by bit. From a simple user of computer system, now I feel like I belong to IT. Feeling elated at my success in this course.

There were a couple of issues. Two or three quizzes were presented in Ukranian language. Shocked and surprised at first, I figured out a way and took to Google Translate web-service and completed the Quiz. Felt like it was another achievement apart from this Course. Feeling Great. Thank you.

By Indira I C

Mar 22, 2022

This course was pretty intense with lots of information to learn. The more concepts I learn, they are becoming more familiar to me. I am totally new in this field since my background is education. TNow when I turn my computer on at work and at home, I am going in my head through all the different things that are happening behind doors . IBefore getting my CT, I try to look at possible solutions even if that means a cable that was loose. Thanks for the course!

By Alexander C

Jan 23, 2023

Another compelling course, especially for those inclined towards the networking aspects of computers. Learning about some of the network models and how they work as an individual layer and in unison, the importance of services and protocols such as DNS and DHCP and much more provides not only knowledge and skill, but also an appreciation for the innovative solutions that allows us to utilize the Internet in numerous ways . . . including taking this course.

By Olimpo A M S

Oct 14, 2022

Incredible course! It was in-depth and concise and really teaches you the literal bits and bytes of what makes communicating with someone else across the world in a fraction of a second possible. It is very techincal though, so be prepared to review the materials multiple times to really understand things through but at the end of it all, it will be quite the satisfying feeling knowing you've conquered one of the most fundamental parts of IT support.

By Oziegbe V E

Jun 24, 2021

I really enjoyed the course, as a beginner somehow i wasn't lost. I had tried learning about computer networking before but it was a bit too difficult so i left it, I guess it was because they just dived right into the complexity. But this course takes you from zero upward. Though I had to watch some videos more than once to understand but that is just the process of learning. I liked the lecturer's geeky jokes to keep one's attention.

By Nicole P

Feb 24, 2023

I liked how organized this course was with many visuals to explain the information that was given. It was a lot of information and really hard to understand but after going over it a few times and with some other aids, I feel like it really prepares me for getting CompTIA certified in the future and having a very good foundation that will serve the rest of my IT career for whatever I decide to do or specialize in, in the future.

By Jane S

Jul 1, 2022

a great course but i cant complete because there is a error in the week 6 lab test ipv6 compression so i cant get credit for completing the couse i hope it gets fixed not just me. the whole class cant compete it see discussion forum great course because it really made my trouble shoot so i could pass the ipv6 compression test. and i figured it out. lots of thinking and experimenting. thats what IT IS ALL ABOUT

By JOSEPH B

Aug 29, 2022

This course has up my skill in the IT fraternity as an entry level support specialist. I am now confident to apply for jobs in the IT field.  Big thanks to Coursera and Google for making these studies a reality for some of us who have literally near no knowledge before the start of the program. I really appreciate all the instructors for taking me along till the end of this program, your impact was/is phenomenal.

By Emanuel R

Aug 26, 2022

I took this course about as serious as I would any real class. A lot of note taking and slowly digesting the content really helped me get past this course. Some stuff could use a bit better explaining, but thankfully the forums and the community do a great job in directing you to the right spots for better or more thorough explanations. I really enjoyed learning this content and I would 100% do it again!

By PRAGNYA P P 2

Oct 18, 2021

I use to struggle with the networking concepts and tried very hard in class to get what the teacher actually meant and now after taking up this course, I feel very confident with the concepts and it is really great that this course started with the basics and it strengthened my foundation and also I have developed a keen interest in networks all credits to the teacher and course. Thank you so much :)

By Pete M H

Dec 12, 2021

The Networking section of this specialization is well organized and the facilitator is precise with his relay of valuable information, while avoiding any unnecessary filler content. The content for Networking is already dense as it is, so it was a relief to not have to go through the transcript and filter out the non-pertinent information. This was a huge benefit to my fast-intake learning style.

By Ronald L

Nov 19, 2021

Networking subnetting ipv6 were all tough , I sure am glad I finished up on the course but I know there is a lot more of these areas to learn about . It made me realize that I needed to apply more time to the different areas to stay fresh in it. I can see why it is a field of constant learning. There will always be more to learn about and I think that is the most intriguing part of IT work..

By Donna M S

Jan 21, 2023

Thank you, team Google, Coursera and DICT Philippines for this wonderful experience. This Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking is so completed and exhausting to learn yet teacher Victor Escobedo made it easy, and I am glad to be one of your student. May I suggest though, to please include video of actual setting up of network, it would be a great help. Again, thank you very much.

By Aknur S

Jan 22, 2022

All materials encompassed in this course model was well-rounded as well as informative. Thanks to all aspiring course developers for their endless efforts and motivational feedback videos. Thanks to Google Corporation for providing community with such comprehensive and innovative professionalcertifications with a bunch of insightful and easy-to-understand contents and materials!

By Aleksandar T

Aug 1, 2021

I absolutely loved the second course of the proffessional certificate. It really made me polish some existing skills and also learn new and exciting things which I can use in the real world. I felt absolutely challenged and enjoyed going through the material and going through the material. My course guide was very thorough, clear and detailed on the reading material and lectures.

By Segundo “ T

Nov 15, 2021

Excellent material and an outstanding way of guiding the learner through the course, having us complete tasks as we follow along with the instructors. Bravo, Coursera and Google!!! I sincerely thank you, and I am finishing up the sysadmin course now! Hopefully, before X-mas, I will have completed the entire certification so as to start the new year with an inspiring new career.

By Robert H

Oct 11, 2022

This course was great! A lot of learning, a lot of memorization but the course itself (IT Professional Google) has been an amazing course all together. The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking specifically, has thus far been the hardest and a lot harder than the first initial course. However after completing the 6 week course, I'm happy and satisfied with the course.

By Carshénah J S

Aug 13, 2022

THIS COURSE WAS HARD BUT FUN TO LEARN! Everything from relearning what certain terms were by definition that you don't even think about because you use them was an eye opening experience. The teacher was AMAZING! Each video was easy to learn, easy to understand and made me laugh during some of the puns and jokes to ease you into all the technical jargon. Great course!

By nambobi w

Mar 11, 2023

The "Bits and Bytes" course on Coursera was excellent. The instructor was knowledgeable and engaging, and the material was well-structured with practical applications. The interactive quizzes and assignments helped me solidify my understanding of computer architecture. I highly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning about computers at a low-level.

By Abron G

Jan 19, 2023

Very good course. I learned a lot, and although there was so much information, the lessons were broken down in small enough parts so that I could go back and review concepts that were more difficult for me without having to sift through too much irrelevant material.

The information here is well organized and represented and very well executed. Highly recommended!