Chevron Left
Back to Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.9
383 ratings
64 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how companies decide on how much debt to take, and whether to raise capital from markets or from banks. You will also learn how to measure and manage credit risk and how to deal with financial distress. You will discuss the mechanics of dividends and share repurchases, and how to choose the best way to return cash to investors. You will also learn how to use derivatives and liquidity management to offset specific sources of financial risk, including currency risks. Finally, You will learn how companies finance merger and acquisition decisions, including leveraged buyouts, and how to incorporate large changes in leverage in standard valuation models. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand how companies make financing, payout and risk management decisions that create value • Measure the effects of leverage on profitability, risk, and valuation • Manage credit risk and financial distress using appropriate financial tools • Understand the links between payout policies and company performance • Use derivatives and liquidity management to offset financial risks • Pick an appropriate financing package for an M&A or leveraged buyout deal This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

RO

Mar 02, 2019

Excellent material to drive and support the discussions introduced in the live sessions. Some materials may need a review (particularly wording), but it does not compromise the overall content at all.

DB

Jun 27, 2019

I didn't realise how much I'd learn in this course. So many concepts I've touched on before and thought I knew a bit about, but in hindsight I really didn't understand, until I completed this course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 61 Reviews for Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk

By Massimo G

Jan 11, 2019

This course complete the topic covered in Part I. It goes more in details with Business cases and explanations, mixing theory and practice. Additionally the exercises combined numerical and explanation of the cases helping to to have a practical but also logical understanding. One of the best course I took on corporate finance, Thank prof. Almeida, hoping to get further courses on corporate finance.

By J S

Feb 26, 2019

This is a great course. The Professor delivers the material using real examples. I enjoyed his teaching style and I learned a lot taking this course. I highly recommend Corporate Finance 1 and 2. In fact, this was my favorite class so far in the iMBA program

By Apurva D

Feb 26, 2019

Amazing Professor, love his way of teaching and especially his music :)

By Rodrigo P O

Mar 02, 2019

Excellent material to drive and support the discussions introduced in the live sessions. Some materials may need a review (particularly wording), but it does not compromise the overall content at all.

By Frank A

Mar 03, 2019

Excellent course! Professor Almeida really goes over much in the four modules. A great learning experience.

By Michael G

Mar 04, 2019

Great Course the teacher is great and he is very dynamic. I am a CFO and I felt I still learned new things from this course.

By Troy W F

Mar 03, 2019

A treasure trove of research based information to inform real-world financial decisions; immediately applicable and relevant!

By Prabesh L

Mar 05, 2019

One of the best courses I have taken so far

By Edmundo X G M

Mar 05, 2019

Great course, all the way!

By Brett S

Mar 01, 2019

Very engaging course that doesn't ever get bogged

By Joe F

Mar 01, 2019

Great course! A lot of good information and useful tools from the world of Finance. The professor is top-class

By Josep S P

Mar 26, 2019

Very interesting and useful course.

By Sachin P X

Dec 06, 2018

Fantastic Value Adding Course. Very Practical with a lot of good examples. Excellent conceptual breadth and depth also in this course. Highly recommended.

By Ponciano R

Apr 09, 2019

good course.

By soumya s

Jul 11, 2018

good course

By Shuting G

Jul 21, 2018

worth taking and very helpful

By Zhiyong ( S

Oct 06, 2017

I think this course if well structured and very useful! The only suggestion I can give is, I wish when professor is discussing financial numbers on the slides, he can somehow use a pen to point and circle more clearly the number he is talking about. Those financial table can get confusing for someone new to finance, and the discussion may become easier to follow if the slides can be used more similar to a real blackboard.

By Biagio P

Dec 02, 2017

A complete overview about the topic. A must if you have a theoretical background.

By Suniti S

Oct 04, 2017

Awesome content. I would recommend this to all people who are trying to learn the risk management.

By ARVIND K S

May 05, 2018

The course was a real revelation to someone like me who has some exposure to corporate finance in a banking career spanning 36 years. The way concepts like optimal capital structure (Dilution is an Illusion), mergers and acquisitions and hedging were presented speak of the enormous efforts put in to lay out the course to the world wide community of avid learners. Personally, I learnt a lot and hope one day to research the topics crying out for more insights from academecians. Thanks a lot.

By Gagan B

Mar 07, 2017

Very good review course

By venkat c r

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent teacher and excellent material filled with real life examples. It was very interesting to study this course,

By Ihor

Mar 29, 2017

This is a great course and a great addition to Corporate Finance I! Thank you Heitor!

By Mithilesh k

Feb 03, 2017

Excellent teaching

By Michael W

Mar 12, 2017

Great course. Recommend with great enthusiasm. Comprehensive and extremely well taught.