Chevron Left
Back to Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
522 ratings
90 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how companies decide on how much debt to take, and whether to raise capital from markets or from banks. You will also learn how to measure and manage credit risk and how to deal with financial distress. You will discuss the mechanics of dividends and share repurchases, and how to choose the best way to return cash to investors. You will also learn how to use derivatives and liquidity management to offset specific sources of financial risk, including currency risks. Finally, You will learn how companies finance merger and acquisition decisions, including leveraged buyouts, and how to incorporate large changes in leverage in standard valuation models. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand how companies make financing, payout and risk management decisions that create value • Measure the effects of leverage on profitability, risk, and valuation • Manage credit risk and financial distress using appropriate financial tools • Understand the links between payout policies and company performance • Use derivatives and liquidity management to offset financial risks • Pick an appropriate financing package for an M&A or leveraged buyout deal This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

RO

Mar 02, 2019

Excellent material to drive and support the discussions introduced in the live sessions. Some materials may need a review (particularly wording), but it does not compromise the overall content at all.

DB

Jun 27, 2019

I didn't realise how much I'd learn in this course. So many concepts I've touched on before and thought I knew a bit about, but in hindsight I really didn't understand, until I completed this course.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 91 Reviews for Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk

By Frank A

Mar 03, 2019

Excellent course! Professor Almeida really goes over much in the four modules. A great learning experience.

By Fred S

Mar 24, 2018

Lots of case studies along the way and ways to use the knowledge to do some practical assignments.

By Suniti S

Oct 04, 2017

Awesome content. I would recommend this to all people who are trying to learn the risk management.

By ankit k a

Aug 30, 2018

Well designed course to understand the corporate finance, their strategy and how to manage risk

By Saiprakash R

May 16, 2020

Top notch Professor and brilliant teaching. This is one of the finest programs I have studied.

By MUHAMMAD Y B

Nov 03, 2018

i learned lot of concept about corporate finance about investing and risk related. thank you

By Fang S

May 29, 2018

very complicated stuff to understand and master. But very useful if you want to work in IB.

By Christopher G

Jul 09, 2020

Incredible Course. Comprehensive and very well taught. Learned so much and enjoyed it!

By yara o

Apr 14, 2020

a great course that helps understand better the material given using real life examples.

By Michael W

Mar 12, 2017

Great course. Recommend with great enthusiasm. Comprehensive and extremely well taught.

By Ihor

Mar 29, 2017

This is a great course and a great addition to Corporate Finance I! Thank you Heitor!

By Rashid P

Oct 22, 2018

Even sweeter than corporate finance 1. Loving it. Big Salute to you professor!!!!

By Biagio P

Dec 02, 2017

A complete overview about the topic. A must if you have a theoretical background.

By Kiran y

Nov 03, 2018

Its amazing course which i learned related to financing and risk management.

By Apurva D

Feb 26, 2019

Amazing Professor, love his way of teaching and especially his music :)

By Alireza A B

Jul 10, 2020

Great course, excellent real life examples specially around M&A

By Martin P

Dec 29, 2017

This is an excellent course, very clear and with good examples.

By Hussein A S

Mar 12, 2017

Great Professor; Meaningful content; Useful in the workplace!

By Pierre L

Oct 09, 2017

Excellent course. One of the best the iMBA has to offer!

By Patricia B

Dec 18, 2019

Excellent content, clear communication and fun lessons.

By Brett S

Mar 01, 2019

Very engaging course that doesn't ever get bogged

By Amitkumar

Oct 02, 2017

I enjoyed this course, specially the "Researcher"

By Prabesh L

Mar 05, 2019

One of the best courses I have taken so far

By Rishav K

Jun 22, 2020

Nicely explain everything. Nice teaching.

By Nithya

Oct 11, 2017

Best Course by Professor Almeida!!!!