Chevron Left
Back to Creative Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Problem Solving by University of Minnesota

4.4
stars
2,006 ratings
623 reviews

About the Course

This course deals directly with your ability for creativity which is a critical skill in any field. It focuses on divergent thinking, the ability to develop multiple ideas and concepts to solve problems. Through a series of creativity building exercises, short lectures, and readings, learners develop both an understanding of creativity and increase their own ability. This course will help you understand the role of creativity and innovation in your own work and in other disciplines. It will challenge you to move outside of your existing comfort zone and to recognize the value of that exploration. This course will help you understand the importance of diverse ideas, and to convey that understanding to others. The principal learning activity in the course is a series of "differents" where you are challenged to identify and change your own cultural, habitual, and normal patterns of behavior. Beginning with a prompt, e.g. "eat something different", you will begin to recognize your own = limits and to overcome them. In addition, you are encouraged to understand that creativity is based on societal norms, and that by it's nature, it will differ from and be discouraged by society. In this course, the persistence of the creative person is developed through practice. At the same time, these exercises are constrained by concerns of safety, legality, and economics, which are addressed in their creative process....

Top reviews

EN
Jan 17, 2021

I really enjoyed this course, it was very informative and easy to follow. The videos were clear and the graded sections were great. The course as a whole was enjoyable and would recommend to others.

AF
Mar 1, 2016

SO INTERESTING AND FUN. Have you ever took a stranger'S secret and propose another stranger to take that secret in exchange of one of his? This course is an opportunity to do crazy stuff like that!

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 622 Reviews for Creative Problem Solving

By Nicholas S

Dec 6, 2015

Not all the DSDs were useful, and some of the content is very dated (such is the nature of a MOOC that isn't maintained), but it was useful to learn about methodologies and tools to think creatively about issues and solving problems.

By Ade A P

Jul 23, 2020

the delivery is not very interactive and appealing, and also the material seems a bit monotonous week after week. but i actually love the dsd concept, it really pushed me to be a bit more creative and brave

By Jad S

Nov 10, 2020

The course is very interesting and inspiring in terms of creativity and increasing creative potential.

What I felt was missing, or could be strengthened, is the link to problem solving.

By Alper D

Dec 4, 2020

it was fine. but of course a very basic course. It could have been longer and theoretical . I did not find pair studies very useful. it could have been more academic.

By Pardis A S

Jun 26, 2020

The content was so informative but the quality of visual lessons could be better and more appealing. I appreciate the teams effort. Good luck

By kunjung s

Oct 19, 2020

Loved doing the 3 DSD (Do something different) assignments. Had a lot of fun doing those. I just wished the course was a bit longer.

By Pratik m

Jun 1, 2020

Vary vague and subjective type questions in the quiz! It felt like solving an english paper!

By Mohamed P

Sep 26, 2019

Course content itself was very less. But great way to get introduced to Creative thinking.

By أحمد ا

Jul 15, 2020

The assignments were really useful, however the evaluation method is not efficient.

By Gökhan İ

Feb 10, 2020

The course is boring and not very informative, also content is outdated

By Ong J

Oct 11, 2020

Would appreciate if the lecturers' videos are more fun and interactive

By Claudia N C H

Sep 14, 2021

muy buen curso, me gusto mucho

By Vinod K Y

May 20, 2020

Good course.

By Niti M

Jul 17, 2020

Ty

By Nancy D

Jul 3, 2020

Decided to cancel the course as I didn't find myself learning much that I didn't already know, the method of teaching was fairly boring, and the class assignments were not set up so that you could actually do a good job. I understand the course is free, but I also find peer review to be a inept method of grading. I'm not sure how having non-experts grade my work, many of whom don't speak the same language as I do, is useful at all.

By Nadja F

Feb 5, 2021

the course starts very good, and the teachers try hard. Its interesting, but after a while they keep repeating the same and that makes it boring over time. For professionals that deal with creativity, I belive they can do better. However, I enjoyed the challenges and the overall course.

By Adsadang P

Nov 17, 2020

The activities are creative interesting but contents are too repetitive and vague. Even the useful content is appeared at very last.

By Dore B

May 27, 2020

The course video content is very poor and the instructor is not very engaging. This can benefit from an update.

By Abhishek G

Oct 29, 2016

Could have been better. It was little boring when this type of course should be super exciting

By Andrea M

Jun 12, 2020

I do not like this course because of boring lessons and strange tests

By Deleted A

Feb 1, 2021

Me resultó aburrido y no pude continuarlo.

By Augustine Q

Jun 9, 2016

I don't like pay to submit courses.

By Islom G

May 27, 2020

Npy quite engaging.

By Belozerova I V

Jun 12, 2021

This course is not about CREATIVE PROBLEM SOLVING, it's about doing some silly and almost stupid things and watching videos with creepy photos. I mean, the teacher said that in this course we will be taught to be creative, and then we watches a 16-minutes video of the PROPER way to take photos. And did I ask of video someone brushing their teeth?

By Chantel P

Apr 13, 2016

Lesson 1 - no longer available via PC

Lesson 1 no longer exist to do via PC on internet.Sugggested . It has been removed. Cannot go ahead without having the Lesson 1 information.