Chevron Left
Back to Unordered Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Unordered Data Structures by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
517 ratings

About the Course

The Unordered Data Structures course covers the data structures and algorithms needed to implement hash tables, disjoint sets and graphs. These fundamental data structures are useful for unordered data. For example, a hash table provides immediate access to data indexed by an arbitrary key value, that could be a number (such as a memory address for cached memory), a URL (such as for a web cache) or a dictionary. Graphs are used to represent relationships between items, and this course covers several different data structures for representing graphs and several different algorithms for traversing graphs, including finding the shortest route from one node to another node. These graph algorithms will also depend on another concept called disjoint sets, so this course will also cover its data structure and associated algorithms....

Top reviews

YC

May 6, 2022

Great Teacher, although there are still a lot that I need to learn on my own(I come from non-CS background), after hereing these lectures, I feel that I have already learnt a ton.

AF

Jul 16, 2020

This course had good coverage on hashing, disjoint sets, graphs. This course will improve coding skills.

I'm happy with material, coding practices, quiz and projects.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 108 Reviews for Unordered Data Structures

By Aishan Z

Oct 26, 2021

a little bit too fast-paced when teaching about graphs. It is a complicated alogorithm to talk about. Yet, I noticed a lot of material has been edited out from the original content to fit the subject in one week...Otherwise, I like this course. It is very informative.The quizes and projects helped me understand the material better.

By Joshua T

Jan 23, 2020

Really good and succinct course to gain a foundational understanding of data structures & algorithms. I would have liked some more challenging assignments, as I could complete some of them without writing more than 20 lines of code.

By Isaac C A

Mar 16, 2020

A lot of new concepts learned. However I would have like to do more programming, exploring more features of C++. Changing only one or two lines of an existing code does not help much in our learning.

By Luke L

Jan 5, 2020

Great course! Very interesting lecture material / content. I can't give this course a five however, as the assignments seem unnecessarily convoluted, and abstracted to demonstrate the material.

By Priyabrat D

Sep 23, 2020

Could have been a bit more explanatory for people not from CS background. Typos and mistakes should have been eliminated to the largest possible extent. Leaving these aside, nice course.

By Jared P

Sep 3, 2020

Overall, great course. Slightly obscure challenges sometimes, but homeworks were awesome because of how well commented all the provided code was.

Instructor and videos were also amazing!

By carl w

Jul 28, 2020

Good class. I'm still a little mixed on the approach where the student just supplies a small amount of code in a large (mostly complete) class. Nevertheless, enjoyed.

By Ruslan K

Jan 12, 2021

Overall very good course. It is VERY time consuming if don't have background in CS. Each programming projects can easily take 35-40 hours to complete.

By Wang Q

Dec 17, 2021

The final course of this specialization, really useful, and I learned a lot. Just need more practices to understand some difficult concept.

By Suhas A B

Aug 14, 2020

The last section on graphs seems hurried, everything right up to BFS seemed structured but it felt like there was a sudden pack up.

By Yasaman S

Jan 3, 2020

I wish the course was more detailed. Some PDFs to explain the concept more. Other than that I am happy with the content.

By MRIDUL K

Aug 23, 2020

overall course was excellent but there were a few mistakes in week 4, which took a bit of extra time to understand.

By Yu H

May 29, 2020

Hard topics nicely explained. Wish the lectures cover more content. The assignments were a bit too straightforward.

By Guo L

Nov 22, 2019

This course is good though some of the contents may need refinement. Code examples are very helpful.

By Eder R

Mar 13, 2020

The class videos and the quizzes are excellent. the coding part is a bit to easy

By Parag S

Dec 22, 2019

Very Nice Course, recommended for every Computer student.

By Vladimir N

Sep 30, 2019

I've audited this course. It was useful for me. Thanks.

By مريم ع

Sep 27, 2020

The course added alot of knowledge to me

By Arvind D

Jan 7, 2020

Needs to be a bit more in detail

By Pedro F G S

Jun 12, 2020

Tough, but I am glad I took it.

By Eliot C

Jul 31, 2021

Still not enough assignments.

By Sudarshan J

Feb 18, 2023

Nicee course.

By Gloria

Nov 14, 2020

I've finished all three courses in this specialization. They are all great overall. However while studying the third course I feel like it's not well organized as the first two courses. There are some errors in the video that are not corrected yet, with only a few pages of note inserted into the video. And I think the most important part in this course is the run time analysis. But somehow the professor just went through them very quick with only a few words of explanations. I have to check back the old slides and the forums to read the explanations provided by the assistants. It gave me an impression that the professor just want to finish each topic as fast as he can.

By Claire L

May 1, 2021

the tempo of the lecture is not very well, especially for the week 4 courses. the video should have presented the lecture slides ALL the time so that people have enough time to read through the content, instead of switching to the full screen of the prof. immediately after the prof. read through the lines in a super fast speed. it is not very friendly for people who aren't familar with those algorithms. overall, the learning experience is not as good as the previous two courses.

By Jeffrey C

Feb 19, 2022

A decent course if you wish to review previously learned concepts. Not good for those learning for the first time. The actual programming exercises were very simple, as they provided most of the code for you. I would have prefered a more hands-on apporach where they guided you to bulding the structures yourself. Honestly, would not reccomend taking this course unless you have to.