Chevron Left
Back to Cultural Competence - Aboriginal Sydney

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cultural Competence - Aboriginal Sydney by The University of Sydney

4.7
stars
229 ratings
66 reviews

About the Course

This course explores some of the key themes and capabilities of cultural competence by exploring Aboriginal experiences and narratives of Sydney. Australia was ‘claimed’ for the British Crown in 1770, by Captain James Cook, but the invasion began in earnest when the First Fleet of British arrived in 1788 and established a penal colony in Sydney. As a consequence Sydney is a city rich in diverse pre-colonial, colonial and contemporary sites of significance to Aboriginal peoples. Too often though our perceptions about Aboriginal peoples consign them to an ancient past or perpetuates stereotypical imaginations that Aboriginal peoples live in remote communities (Hinkson, 2010). At the heart of this MOOC is the theme that Sovereignty was never ceded and Sydney always was and always will be Aboriginal Land. Despite this the Aboriginal presence in the city is often invisible to non-Aboriginal eyes. This course aims to bring to light marginalised narratives of Aboriginal presence in this space. To understand hidden and marginalised narratives and experiences it is necessary to develop cultural competence capabilities. Key elements of practicing cultural competence include being able to understand and interrogate context, which in the case of Sydney includes not only learning about the peoples, places and histories of Aboriginal Sydney but to also understand issues about how knowledge is created and how dominant narratives can exclude diverse knowledges and experiences. Course learning outcomes 1. Develop knowledge about cultural competence capabilities. 2. Develop a deeper and multi-layered knowledge and understanding about Aboriginal peoples, cultures and places in Sydney. 3. Develop a greater understanding of how history, cultures and places are represented, contested and interpreted and how that relates to their own context. Acknowledgement of Country We acknowledge that this course was developed on the land of the Gadigal Peoples of the Eora nation. We pay our respect to the Traditional Owners of this land and acknowledge that the land that the University of Sydney was built on has been a place of learning for many thousands of years....

Top reviews

RM
Jun 3, 2018

A valuable and hugely informative course. I am new to Australia and this course has helped me to understand many of the complex issues to do with the land's identity; past, present and future.

DG
Jul 15, 2017

A fantastic and vital course. Lectures are succinct and easily digestible, with beautifully filmed and edited interviews providing a range of expert insights on the subject. Thank you!

Filter by:

51 - 66 of 66 Reviews for Cultural Competence - Aboriginal Sydney

By Therese M

Oct 9, 2017

v

e

r

y

I

n

f

o

r

m

a

t

I

v

e

.

E

a

s

y

t

o

f

o

l

l

o

w

By Greg C

May 30, 2017

Very interesting! Great course.

By Tristan M

Mar 21, 2021

Wonderful and informing course

By Alistair C

Jun 8, 2017

I am learning SO MUCH!!

By Winston A W

Dec 28, 2020

Excellent, thank you.

By Ivan J

Jul 18, 2019

Pretty good.

By Nilesh N

May 3, 2020

thank you.

By Tessa L

Mar 30, 2021

Excellent

By alexandra c

Dec 12, 2020

This course was very helpful in providing an Aboriginal perspective and provoking one's own reflections on culture and colonialism and its accompanying problems.

I apprciated that the content was presented by a variety of community members and the notes were not just printed form the transcripts but were connections to bothe community links / sites as well as to some academic papers. This combination was valuable.

It was also appropriate, given the topic, that the assignments required participation and personal reflection as well as peer reviews.

Occassionally a link was not available or was out of date. I did once get a comment re. a late submission but in fact only one assignment was available for review instead of the two required to complete the assignment. Perhaps a software tweek to accommodate that event.

By John H

Sep 13, 2021

This course, developed by the University of Sydney, potentially outstanding and fairly solid in terms of learning design, might be improved in two ways: ensuring that all hyperlinked resources (readings) work and by carefully reviewing the accuracy of some video content that might be considered as inaccurate in relation to some neighbouring Aboriginal Nations.

Readings/links that do not function: Week 1 - NSW Department of Health (2004); Week 2 - Karskeus (2011); Week 3 - Gilbert (1988); Week 4 - Smith (2009) & Stolen Generations Testimonial Foundation (2017); Week 5 - Attenborough (2009) & Troy and Walsh (2009); and Week 6 - Aboriginal Legal Service & Taffe (2014).

By Adrian B T

Jan 9, 2021

Very informative course, however the more detailed and academic resources were often broken links at the time I am writing this review. Though they were often suplimental, I see the readings as critical for filling in the more lightweight content presented via video.

By Sean G

Mar 11, 2021

Reading times are not good estimates for how long it will take to read working. This made scheduling the course into a study plan tricky. Some weeks had very lengthy reading recommendations. The readings were however very insightful.

By Ezdehar B

Jul 21, 2020

good course with many interesting fact and history i really enjoyed .

By Sandra P C

Jun 9, 2019

it's a good course. Not what I was looking for, but I enjoyed it quite a lot.

By David L

Feb 1, 2021

Disappointing. The course is mostly politics, not culture. I feel I have learned very little of Indigenous culture as such.

By Andrew C

Apr 19, 2018

I was disappointed