Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
18,811 ratings

About the Course

If there is a shortcut to becoming a Data Scientist, then learning to think and work like a successful Data Scientist is it. Most of the established data scientists follow a similar methodology for solving Data Science problems. In this course you will learn and then apply this methodology that can be used to tackle any Data Science scenario. The purpose of this course is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in practicing data science - Forming a business/research problem, collecting, preparing & analyzing data, building a model, deploying a model and understanding the importance of feedback - Apply the 6 stages of the CRISP-DM methodology, the most popular methodology for Data Science and Data Mining problems - How data scientists think! To apply the methodology, you will work on a real-world inspired scenario and work with Jupyter Notebooks using Python to develop hands-on experience....

Top reviews

AG

May 13, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

TM

Jun 18, 2021

Very interesting course. It shed a light on what the structured approach really is. It's worth to pause for a moment with every step of the methodology and think how to apply it in real life. Thanks!

Filter by:

2076 - 2100 of 2,345 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Louis C

Mar 27, 2021

The course has very little material, it feels like it could be a chapter in a course. I learned a valuable and good methodology though. So the content is good, it just feels like very little contents.

By Erik P

Mar 29, 2020

Rather open ended. The main points should be crisper. For example, why is feedback not part of the final assessment , where the keywords repeated in the training and in the final assessment?

By Aman A

May 8, 2020

The last course jumped to python notebooks which has a lot of coding,while Python language is yet to be covered,I feel the notebook assignment should have followed after the Python module.

By Kate O

May 9, 2019

This course provides a clear approach to data science methodology. The lab exercises are difficult to open and use, but the case study presented in the instructional videos is informative.

By Prabir C

Sep 11, 2019

very theoretical topic and hard to follow with case study give, The final assignment is also very unclear on what to expect. This course content needs to be redone by the instructors.

By Ephraim K O

Oct 24, 2021

this course is helpful and the video aspect is fine.

how can we have access to the videos covered in each course? i need them for my personal revision. is very important to me please.

By Nugraha S H

Mar 21, 2020

As I'm not familiar with US healthcare system, the case study given in this course is very confusing to me as there are many unfamiliar words and terms being thrown here and there.

By Gayatri H

May 31, 2020

The final assignment is not very specific. Its's largely open ended and left up to individual discretion. Please make it quiz based or project based, where results are definitive.

By Vara P

Jun 22, 2020

The core part of the methodology is not properly covered, it would have been better if the technical information such as tools and the modeling strategies are discussed in depth.

By Farzana S

May 14, 2020

The course was OK but not up-to the Mark,the case study was quite tough to understand,the case study could have been something simpler so that the beginners can understand well.

By Ryan K

Nov 8, 2018

Using a case study to illustrate the ideas is great. But it will be better if a less complicated example can be used to help following the concepts easier and better understood.

By Chetan K

Jan 16, 2020

An easier and more relatable case study would exponentially increase understanding. The present one had complex medical terms and added a layer of complexity to the course.

By adwayt n

Mar 5, 2019

It was very theoretical and, at times, a little boring as well. I was hoping for more of a hands on experience. But it was definitely very instructive and educational.

By Ramkumar G

Sep 24, 2019

Since we are following a track, the previous two courses were basic and in this course we came across to lot of data science terminology without proper introduction.

By Umaimah Z

Jul 8, 2019

The example provided was not good at all to follow on the concepts. i had a hard time following up with the video since very little time was spent on each concept.

By Marnilo C

Apr 25, 2019

The discussions were too introductory. This would be acceptable had there been links to resources which provided more detailed information on this important topic.

By Micatty B

Dec 9, 2019

The final assignment is not clear

Data preparation and modeling quite confusing for someone with no prior knowledge in data manipulation and statistical background

By Kuldeep R

Jul 10, 2022

COurse provides some initial theoretical information but the practical exercises are ofno use. Proper schedule of practical be followed and the instructions for

By Jayan T

Oct 22, 2018

Its an important topic for data scientists, but wish it was taught in a more interesting way with multiple examples of different types instead of one case study.

By Siddhartha P

Apr 21, 2019

Very short and filled with too much jargons. A much simpler case study would have been great instead of deep diving into the world of Life Science & Healthcare

By Declan H M G

May 13, 2019

I found the material here vague and difficult to follow at times. Which led to confusion particularly about what was expected with the peer graded assignment.

By Vladislav G

Jan 25, 2020

Well, when the previous courses in the specialization were a total waste of time, this one is adequate, but still not very usefull for data science itself.

By Wilbert V G

Jun 3, 2021

The speaking is too fast and the slides don't help much to follow up the explanation. I found it is better just to read the transcript at my own pace :-)

By Alok M

Jan 12, 2020

Better problems (more generalized and relatable) could have been used to describe and make the modules understand better. Not satisfied with this course.

By olu

Mar 31, 2020

Teaches what it's supposed to but could be more indepth in establishing your understanding of the process of methodology from Analysis to Evaluation