Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures and Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures and Performance by University of California San Diego

4.8
stars
2,189 ratings

About the Course

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 12, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS

Dec 18, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Filter by:

426 - 439 of 439 Reviews for Data Structures and Performance

By Seokhyun W

Nov 21, 2020

It is a decent course to learn different data structures in Java. I've learned a lot throughout this course. However, the biggest drawback is that it is an old course just like the previous one. A new decade already has started long ago and this course could give much more if it was updated in accordance with new versions of programs. For future students, please do so.

By mohammed

Sep 9, 2016

its very basic stuff , and uses not optimal solutions to coding challenges , which might be okay for basics , for example the spelling check/suggestion project algorithm is probably exponential in time complexity .

By Kerstin K

Jul 23, 2017

Still the first weeks only repetitions from the predecessor specialization. But better assignments than the first course and not only repetition.

By Jacob F

Jun 26, 2018

good materials, learnt a lot but human interaction is a desert think this course is too old maybe

By Unnar T B

Dec 5, 2015

Not difficult course but teaches you much about Java

By Rachmat F

Feb 11, 2016

good course, but... paid, I can't submit the task

By VIKALP P

Jul 7, 2021

good course..Followed practical approach

By Barath K

Nov 24, 2019

good

By Ahmet G

Feb 1, 2021

Did not like this course at all, it is not flexible at all when it comes to IDE choices and offers very little support when it comes to using IDE's such as Intellij. The course consists of core and support videos, the idea being that if you are competent enough you are able to tackle the assignment/projects at any point. If you feel like you need more help you can dip into the support videos. The problem with this is that the videos are not actually very good and the support in the forums are lacklustre at best. The end of course peer review is an absolute joke and literally has no value to the students what so ever. It's basically students grading eachother positively so that everyone can pass lol.

Things that need to improve:

- Outdated content and Java version, Course structure needs to change, support videos need to be more supportive and maybe incorporate a code as you go approach incrementally building up on concepts, more active lecturers on the forums.

By Qin J

Jun 5, 2021

The videos are fine, but the instructions sometimes just confirm that the authors of the assignments are not very familiar with the OOP.

I am not able to upload my assignment screen prints to the course.

By David S

May 13, 2022

Environment programming is complicated to set up. I wasted a lot time just to configure the workplace.

By Valery B

Aug 23, 2022

Very very bad - I couldn't even run the start code - a lot of errors

By Keqi D

Mar 1, 2021

Not enough support from the course team

By Wendy R

Apr 17, 2022

outdated