Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
4,173 ratings
701 reviews

About the Course

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top reviews

PS
Jul 9, 2020

I think the course content and assignments were great. A suggestion though, it will be more helpful if there are more and varied corner cases that would save time spent in thinking and making cases.

KL
Sep 4, 2020

one of the best course i have ever taken on any platform.\n\ni love to learn on coursera platform.\n\ncoursera makes one to think fro solution.\n\nafter completion of course one feel satisfied.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 684 Reviews for Data Structures

By John F

Jul 28, 2018

Good introduction to data structures - with a focus on the implementation rather than using premade libraries.

By Rishav R

Apr 5, 2019

I wish every assignment had the test cases

The course is awesome anyways and focuses on more than just grades.

By Xavier C i R

May 20, 2016

Great course although last lesson about splay trees explanation is too fast and basic for me to understand.

By Kodumuri S

Sep 14, 2020

The accent of tutors is a bit hard for me to understand but eventually i got used to it ,Good course!

By Can R

Jun 12, 2018

instuctors no longer check the discussion boards. So it's a hassle to get the right answers sometimes

By Planck M

Jan 11, 2018

many subtitle of the video doesn't match what the speaker is saying, so I hope you can improve it,thx

By Debasish M

Jul 9, 2016

the last lecture was too fast. Would be good to divide this into two parts. Rest all is great stuff.

By Dhanendra K V

Apr 26, 2019

This is really good for beginners. This will explain you from basics to advance level uses of DS.

By Fengyi Z

May 21, 2019

We need some feedback sometimes. It is way too hard to solve a question without error feed back.

By John B

Jun 14, 2018

The module on dynamic arrays was not well organized or explained, but otherwise a great course.

By varun r

May 27, 2019

Very good insights in the data structures. There can be more focus on linked List, Graphs etc.

By ROHIT K

Oct 15, 2019

Very informational course, really a great one. THANKS Coursera and Higher School Of Economics

By Amr E

Jun 29, 2020

the assignments are amazing also the content

but some of the sections are not well explained

By Mayank B

Jan 15, 2018

Very good course, only problem is the little help offered by mentors in the discussion forum

By Saruar M

Apr 23, 2019

Overall a good course. In my opinion the hash-tables and BSTs material was a little rushed.

By Sahidul A C

Dec 24, 2018

Less diagramatic explaination.....making it hard for some concepts to grab.....overall good

By Abdulrahman H M

Nov 24, 2019

needs more illustrative videos for presenting the powerful applications of data structures

By daniel k

Dec 27, 2017

Good course. I personally think stress test code should be included with the starter code.

By Boat K

May 10, 2016

Good course, but the problem set is too small. They will be much better if they are more.

By R.Athindran

Aug 17, 2016

The optional videos are not allotted enough time. Those concepts are difficult to grasp.

By Wendell H

Feb 28, 2019

Good material, good problems. Although discussion forums don't seem to be very active.

By Divya M

Jan 13, 2019

would be nice if it was mandatory to solve all the problem of the advanced topics

By Rahul D

Mar 13, 2018

The course material is good.

The assignments were not completely testing knowledge

By Nandini K

Jul 11, 2020

The course was good giving adequate knowledge of data structures in programming.

By Shubham C

Aug 20, 2020

First take an audit if teaching style suits you then only go for full course.