Chevron Left
Back to Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL by University of California, Davis

3.5
stars
504 ratings
186 reviews

About the Course

This course allows you to apply the SQL skills taught in “SQL for Data Science” to four increasingly complex and authentic data science inquiry case studies. We'll learn how to convert timestamps of all types to common formats and perform date/time calculations. We'll select and perform the optimal JOIN for a data science inquiry and clean data within an analysis dataset by deduping, running quality checks, backfilling, and handling nulls. We'll learn how to segment and analyze data per segment using windowing functions and use case statements to execute conditional logic to address a data science inquiry. We'll also describe how to convert a query into a scheduled job and how to insert data into a date partition. Finally, given a predictive analysis need, we'll engineer a feature from raw data using the tools and skills we've built over the course. The real-world application of these skills will give you the framework for performing the analysis of an AB test....

Top reviews

MF
Sep 22, 2020

A good course for learning and apply sql to conduct analysis on ab testing results. Would be better if the instructor could provide more info about how to design and apply AB Testing on the customers

SP
Jul 29, 2019

The instructor is very smart and her syllabus is very easy to follow. The real life examples are great and helps put ideas in perspective! I would definitely recommend this course and already have!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 189 Reviews for Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

By Annamaria N R L S

May 29, 2020

Interesting Course. had more opportunities to practice, but would recommend that the incoming student have more practice and experience before starting. Still rather disorganized and some parts (i.e. explinations and subject videos0 in need of review by creator (i.e. gaps in explanations, vague directions and instruction, etc.). Am grateful for extra practice.

By Cha H

Jun 8, 2021

So far, this certificate stated this was a foundational and basics in SQL but it's more intermediate than beginner. There's absolutely no assistance if you run into any problems and each course uses a different platform so there's no consistency. We went from SQL Lite to postgre in the next course.

Feeling a bit frustrated and disappointed with this cert

By Remko M

Oct 31, 2020

Not well instructed...messy. For example, in the video her own faults or issues are not cut out of the video. You watch minutes of that in total and that a total time waister to me. So you tend to zoom out or wanted to skip through the video. Also the assignment instruction are not coherent with the instructions in mode. That is somethings confusing.

By Tomomi Y

Feb 9, 2021

The topic itself is interesting, but I think this course has a room to improve the lecture video quality. Instructor seems not well prepared when recording the video and she often makes mistakes & mumbles which makes me hard to follow what she is doing. Also I think practice questions are sometimes ambiguous compared to other courses.

By Lynda P

Dec 26, 2020

This course has very poor instructions, exercises are vague and all solutions don't always align with course. For the DBMS (Mode) used in this course, there is no explanation on how to use it. The instructor expects you to present charts without explaining how to use it.

By Derek H

Sep 7, 2021

N​ot very happy with this course. They didn't provide access to all necesarry materials, and submitting the final project was horrible, due to Mode problems.

I​ also felt there were many gaps in the subject matter, too many things were touched on but not taught.

By Irving G M

Aug 27, 2020

The course helped to practice the implementation of complicated SQL queries. However, it was quite unstructured and there teacher said wrong concepts and interpretation about hypothesis testing. This course need to be checked.

By ERIC M

Jul 21, 2020

It's not organized like a class. The teaching style is more like you can shadow me while i work. That's fine if someone can ask questions and get instant feedback. But as an e-learning course it doesn't work very well.

By Georgios A

Aug 10, 2020

This course lacks some structure, overview and professionalism (like editing the videos). Nevertheless, it is a useful of this specialization, if ones has the extra time to invest.

By Manuel J J

Apr 26, 2020

The instructor knows SQL but she needs to take some classes on learning design and teaching. The course is somewhat messy and underprepared.

By Kevin D

Aug 30, 2021

not very organized, and the labs were not as good as most I've taken in coursera. the tool is rather difficult to navigate.

By William F

Dec 1, 2020

Course content is interesting. However, the projects and practice problems are poorly guided with inadequate instructions.

By Ümid O

May 14, 2020

Poorly designed course. Not enough explanation to solve the exercises.

By Yifeng W

Sep 1, 2021

This course is almost a waste of your time.

By Mei H

May 11, 2020

It is really hard to follow.

By Якухин В С

Dec 18, 2020

Did not like

By Justin M

Jan 16, 2021

This course did deal with some useful ideas; things like research design, statistical testing, and what to do with data that isn't cleanly structured. A lot of times, it was like the instructor was taking a normal day on a data science job and walking you through it.

The issue is the lack of structure to the course. Because it was like a a day on a job, there weren't explicit learning goals. Things like "Today we're going to learn how to clean messy data" isn't a learning goal. Instead, you want something like "Here are some ways in which data are messy. I'll walk you through what I do with each one."

The assignments reflect this. I can't stress enough how poorly the assignments supported my learning. The assignments were usually very vague, with instructions that I had to parse through to understand what was even required of me. Questions that just asked open-ended "Does this look right?" kind of questions? I mean... looks fine to me, but I'm literally in a beginner SQL course so what do I know? Then we watch a solutions video where the instructor writes the code to answer it. It lacks any kind of student engagement and doesn't facilitate learning at all.

It's really indicative of the lack of structure of the course. Since there aren't learning goals, there isn't any framework from which to design assignments. The information lacks context, so it doesn't seem useful until the very final assignment, when you need to have learned the A/B testing stuff (but not really anything else). The course material doesn't build together in a logical fashion. I feel like you could take the 4 modules in any order and you'd get the same out of it. This suggests that there isn't a core skill that's being developed over time, but rather a mishmash of ideas that might be useful in a data science position.

In all, I can't recommend this course. The instructor is an excellent data scientist, I'm sure. But her teaching could use some work.

By Joseph C

Dec 20, 2020

Very poor course. The information was very hard to interpret as the videos provided in the course did not give live output of the query being used or highlight the important sections that were being described. Additionally, the actions requested in the quizzes were incredibly vague and did not prompt the learner for what was actually being asked. This made it nigh impossible to complete the course as it was set up to accomplish. It did not ever even explicitly state which SQL language was being used (note it is different from the language used in the first course in the series). Finally, the crux of course was to teach AB Testing with SQL, however, it was explained in a fashion that was not clear or concise and did not demonstrate a real world sense of how it could be implemented in a work environment, how to set up an experiment, or even how it was accomplishing the task through SQL.

Hopefully it will make more sense as I go over the course from the beginning, but please be aware that this course was not well constructed and any insight that you might glean from it will require much more research on your part.

This course's concepts were not well explained, demonstrated, or executed.

Do not recommend...

By Frank P

Feb 16, 2021

I'll start by saying that the subjects you are supposed to learn are important, and if you do a lot of separate study this course might be very good for you. However, the way it is taught is poor. The content is disorganized and not explained well, leaving you to have to do separate research. I'm not one to bash students needing to do their own research, however this class offers no guidance. The first course of this specialization was great, and I've heard great things of all of the courses that follow this one. However this course is a miss.

The concepts are good but the execution is terrible. Not enough time was spent on the lectures, the examples that are worked through aren't taught properly, you're just watching the instructor do the assignment with very little good explanation.

Personally, I'd recommend this course be reworked to be more descriptive in each section. An extra 2 weeks to allow the instructor to take her time teaching the concepts is a very good idea. The homework/assignments also need to have their instructions rewritten to be more clear.

By Thibaut C

Jun 16, 2020

This is a very practical course, with barely no theoretical aspect. You will get more experience of SQL with this course, that is for sure. The videos have very little actual content, they are more an introduction for the practical part that follows.

However, the instructor builds a sequence of strangely named metrics, and supposes you master it in a second. This is especially unhelpful for the project, where the questions are poorly presented and keep on using this vocabulary.

You will have to use another platform to test your code, which is not a bad thing per se. The problem is that this platform is far from intuitive…

This course seems to lack proper planning.

By Anirudh

Jun 18, 2020

This course was not planned out well. I would be hard-pressed to believe that the people who created this specialization had any pedagogical training whatsoever.

Many of the exercises are only partially written and are littered with inconsistencies, typos, and poor instructions. I would suggest to the course creators that they should hire an editor, or at least someone to look over these courses prior to hitting publish.

I honestly would not recommend this specialization to anyone at any stage of learning SQL.

I did like that this course chose to use Mode to run the SQL queries. They seem to have many example datasets already loaded.

By Andrés B

Apr 17, 2021

I don't like it, The metodology is a bit confusing; I realized at middle of the course that i need to save the SQL queries in order to use latter, so, should be mandatory and will be usefull to advertise it at the beginning of the course.

By Dev G

Jun 27, 2020

Code in lectures not explained properly. Discussion prompts with questions asked - these questions were not covered extensively beforehand. There are videos of solutions afterwards- but these discussion prompts seemed pointless.

By Minal A

Apr 8, 2021

Poorly designed course. Exercise are not good, instructions are unclear.

Wasted so much time to figure out what to do next, how to do it with unclear instructions.

Covered important concepts but couldn't practice them through

By Yang C

Jan 13, 2022

i am so disappointed with whole classes, when i finished the first week , i even didn't understand what the teacher was talking about , there was no any logical thinking through the class