Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
9,583 ratings
2,178 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

AS
Jan 11, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

Filter by:

2126 - 2150 of 2,171 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Amanda H

Mar 26, 2021

The second professor isn't great. I don't think it's his fault, but a lot of information was crammed into 2 weeks and I had to do a lot of self-teaching.

By Saleem G

Apr 30, 2020

Week 1 and Week 2 material is very well presented. Week 3 was presented very poorly but reading the notes and youtube helped. Week 4 went over my head

By Maria K

Nov 21, 2020

Materials provided are not sufficient to fully understand the concepts. One has to look for additional books and forums on the internet.

By Jomon K S

May 11, 2020

The content of the course was simple. But the quiz were above average. The classes were not sufficient to answer the questions.

By Esaú C

Apr 25, 2020

I

t's a good review for the people that know something but will be very hard for students that don't have a background in Maths

By Vaibhav J

Feb 10, 2019

Found the title of the course mis-leading! School level Math skills are taught. Found the title to be similar to "click-baits"

By Hubert W A E

Apr 12, 2021

It was too short, I think they must add additional mathematics course to make this program complete for Data Science needs

By Xose C

Apr 6, 2020

You'd spend lots of time checking other sources as they do not explain things in detail. They assume many things.

By Peter G

Mar 4, 2018

I enjoyed the first 2 weeks. Weeks 3 and 4 were harder to follow. Too few examples, particularly in week 4.

By Andersson F R A

May 17, 2020

A pesar de que el curso es básico, la parte de probabilidad no está muy bien explicada.

By Nayaung L

Jun 30, 2020

The last probability course is really horrible It should be changed or make it easier.

By vivek a

Apr 12, 2020

The course name should be Bais Mathematics instead of Data Science Maths Skills.

By PRASAD K

May 23, 2020

Concepts from Probability up to Bayes' Theorem could have been explained better

By Saurabh S

Jul 11, 2017

Week 1 and week 2 are good. rest of the weeks are very fast and not clear.

By Jonathan H

Feb 8, 2017

Very basic course... probably won't teach you a lot of new things

By 小洋xiaoyang

Dec 27, 2020

Wish there will be more example question in the lectures

By A M A

Dec 24, 2017

Probability part is good others are elementary math

By Rodrigue S

Jun 24, 2020

This is really basic basic.

By Derek S

Mar 29, 2018

last week was very hard

By Deeraj

Apr 30, 2020

It's nice to learn

By Stan M

Feb 15, 2021

dropped

By Mohana N

Aug 5, 2021

E

By Eray C

Jan 25, 2021

With all due respect but this was honestly the worst paid education-experience I've EVER had in my whole life! What is this?

Okay let's summarize the problems:

First of all. This course does NOT provide any useful math skills. No, in the first 3 courses, you learn a tiny piece of minimum basics of college math.

And then comes week 4....... what.. is... this... why.. Any note written on the screen looks like the drafts of college times, where we had no pleasure to even write.

It's totally hard to even understand what is being "explained" nor to even READ what is being written! It's a total loss of time and money. The only thing worth in this course is the title of the course, written on the certificate. But there absolutely NO quality behind it! I'm honestly disappointed.

Half of the quiz-questions are very misleading because of lacking a proper, clear and distinctive use of language (is this math or not???)!! The theory PDFs are okay at the beginning then get worse with each week. There is such a lack of clarity proper explanation!

please just delete this course.

PS: it seems, the discussion forum is not even touched by providers. Why? There are a ton of suggestions to improve the course. I mean... there WERE... if someone would read them to actually improve the course.

PPS: And HOW did this course get 4.5 Stars?? Makes no sense to me.

By John Z

May 7, 2021

This course was pure garbage. Though it seemed promising in the beginning, it was clearly too ambitious and poorly designed. The topics are too quickly covered, and don't build upon each other. It's a very disconnected learning experience. The probability modules are completely useless. The "instructor" just read some definitions and sloppily wrote some formulas on a virtual whiteboard. Though I appreciate the exposure to a wide array of topics, my time would have been better spent reading a book on the same concepts - an exercise I will inevitably now have to do.

By Suresh K

Sep 16, 2021

T​he course is divided into 4 weeks. Topics in Week 1 and 2 are explained very well. But Week 3 and Week 4 are just useless. There is no teaching in Week 3 and Week 4, just writing down the formulas present in texbooks.

T​he reason anyone wants to take courses like this, online is to understand how the formulas shown in text books work and have a deeper understanding of the topic.

B​ut unfortunately the topics in Week 3 and Week 4 were just presented as it would appear in a text book, no teaching there.