Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,741 ratings
1,980 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

VS
Sep 22, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

Filter by:

1301 - 1325 of 1,963 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Phan, T T T

Jul 27, 2020

I am very satisfied with this course, it provides me with the basic knowledge of the math of Data Science. The lecturers explained very carefully although the knowledge was not too difficult. I will recommend it to my friends.

By Simone M

Oct 12, 2020

This course helped me to understand probability better than the classes that I took in high school and college. I have greater confidence in understanding data presented in medical studies. Thank you for offering this course.

By Erica C

Dec 26, 2020

Overall a good review of material I learned a while ago and introduction to some concepts I hadn't covered in previous coursework. However, the course would benefit from more and varied examples to solidify concepts covered.

By Medina A

Jul 22, 2020

It helped me to understand what I should be expecting if I want to go into the data science field. I also realized it is not as difficult as it seems if only I ma willingly to work a little harder or just do some extra work.

By Abduvosid M

Jun 4, 2020

Very good explanation of Sets, Sigma Notation, Cartesian plane, functions, and logarithms. But probability (last week) requires more independent learning from learners side (this is actually a very big and interesting topic)

By Oscar F R P

Apr 24, 2020

Sometimes som expresions and explenations may confuse non american learners, but the content is amazing and its easy to learn ( Also too many videos have mistakes and some scribbles in the videos are hard to understand).

By Himal k

May 2, 2020

I m very happy to complete this course .it was very interesting and brain storming course.it Will help u in every situation of maths course simple question.it was awesome and very interested course...thank u 😊🥰😍😘

By Angelos K

Oct 25, 2020

Some problems and calculations of the last modules could be designed to be easier. Still, the course was great and offered an amazing recap of the basic math skills needed for statistics and data science. Thank you!

By Srijit B

Sep 4, 2020

It was an exceptional course , however I felt a little more of solved example and thinking procedure on encountering a conditional probability and Bayes theorem related problem can be shown a bit more for novices

By Himanshu S

May 5, 2020

A good refresher on mathematics wrt Data Science. Concepts were very well explained.

There is a vast difference in difficulty of quizzes in first 3 weeks and week 4, with the former needing to be more challenging

By Kristel I S R

Jun 17, 2020

He comprendido conceptos y su aplicación en temas que realmente no había comprendido la primera. El primer instructor explica con muchísimo detalle y es excelente para aquellos que necesitan reforzar las bases.

By Rita M

Aug 28, 2020

Although the instructors explain mathematical concepts in simple, easy to understand ways, there needs to be many more (real life) examples as well as practice questions with answers to solidify understanding.

By SANJAY T

Aug 27, 2020

The explanations by both the instructors are quite clear. However, I'm cutting one star because the difficult of the problems in the Week 4 (Probability) lectures are easy, but the ones in the test are hard.

By Bernard O

Nov 1, 2020

This is a great course. I, however, believe that the sections on algebra and especially probability need more time. I believe probability needs at least two weeks as it is highly complex and very essential.

By Armando A A E M

Apr 16, 2020

Es un curso, que dependiendo de tus conocimiento estadística será bien fácil, o algo tedioso. Las explicaciones son muy buenas, y es una gran herramienta de repaso de estadística para el uso de datos

By 吴俊杰

Jun 24, 2020

the week1 and week2 makes me feel i was a child,it is too easy, but the week4 is good, the example about ball is easy to understand, I think it is worthwell to take in this course if your have time.

By Kyle C

Oct 21, 2020

Weeks 1-3 were quality. Week 4 was a little sloppy in the instructional videos and less clear than in Weeks 1-3. Overall, concise refresher of various mathematical subjects useful to data science.

By Philippe

Feb 27, 2018

The content of the course as a whole is interesting as a good synthesis of basic skills, even though the content of the weeks 3 and 4 lacks of clarity compared to the content of the weeks 1 and 2.

By Shubham G

May 29, 2020

It is very valuable course for data science learners. They provided math topics which required for data analysis. For further learning, it is very useful. Thank you for providing such great couse

By Rahul B

Sep 2, 2020

Entire course material is very helpful in understanding the concepts.

Only request would be to simplify the probability section a bit more so that it can easy to understand the concepts clearly.

By shuman P

May 30, 2020

Great refresher and primer. The section on Probability and Bayes Theory needs a lot more support material (video and notes) as it can get tricky and abstract, especially when doing the quizzes.

By Deepa B

Jun 7, 2020

This course was very easy to understand, though I think week 4's context required more examples. Overall, it was a concise course for brushing up basic math skills required for data science.

By Paul M

Sep 16, 2017

Good refresher. Weeks 3 and 4 are much more difficult to follow than one and two. Part of this is due to the subject matter but also a change of teacher / and style makes it more difficult.

By Robert W

May 28, 2020

There are a lot of different topics in this course and I feel that more experimental examples and longer lectures that are more coordinated within the module. It was a good review, however.

By Heidi

Aug 3, 2017

Loved it! Started off easy but got a little tricky in the end with Bayes Theorem. Glad I know which data / math areas I need to brush up on for my job. Thanks, Duke University and Coursera!