Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
9,081 ratings
2,053 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

VS
Sep 22, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

VC
May 16, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1976 - 2000 of 2,035 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Helene H

Sep 25, 2020

A pretty good course even if week 3 and 4 are very difficult for beginners.

A few improvements are urgently needed:

-There are mistakes in the quizzes, which mistakes have been pointed out by generations of students for months/years in the forums, but have never been corrected. Such a disgrace and waste of student time!

-Also using Chrome makes you unable to read the formulas, which should be said in the course outset.

By Deepak R

Dec 27, 2020

At week 4 the course was covered in a rush. This course could have been much better if the instructor could have taken the time out and walked the extra mile to simplify the concepts for a larger audience. I already had previous rigorous treatment of Probability theory hence didn't face many challenges. But I have empathy with students enrolling in this course who don't have prior probability background.

By Yury K

Jul 14, 2020

Course has misleading title. It has no strong connection to data science problems or examples from the field (except confussion matrix). First 3 weeks are simple math. Third one is very brief tour to probability with quite brief explanations which will not be enough for beginners to complete the assignment. There are also errors in the asssigments which I had reported.

I will not recommend it.

By Joel L

Sep 8, 2020

Instructors were knowledgeable, but I found the lectures to be a theoretical example, followed by a very simple real-life example. Then when you take the quiz, the questions are SIGNIFICANTLY more complicated than what I was ever taught in the lessons. Some worksheets of sample problems that escalate up to the difficulties seen in the quiz would have been very helpful.

By Utsav S

May 6, 2020

The course content was very basic. Especially the first part of the course.

The later part(probability) of the course was very theoretical in nature. Typical problems in quizzes and examples as you would find in any mathematics text book. Being Data Science Maths skills course, I was expecting some real life example or even the mention of data science during the course.

By Esdras C

Mar 6, 2020

After the second week, explanations become too abstract without a concrete explanation of how relates with the real world. Also, the examples are too short compare to the problems that are included in the quizzes. It will be way more interesting to learn the explanation of the quizzes than the abstract examples during the presentations.

By John

Jul 22, 2020

Some useful concepts, but several of them, especially in the last week of the course, were very vague and did not give examples on how to use them to solve problems, which is the point of the course. If i wanted definitions and formulas I can just google them. The whole point of a video is to teach me how to apply it

By Syed S W

May 21, 2020

The initial modules are insightful and helpful. But I had a lot of problems going through the material in week 4. The instructor struggles to make the content engaging and the videos often end up sounding very monotone. There's a big gap between the material discussed and the questions asked in practice.

By Jansen M A

Dec 31, 2020

The course is fairly easy and unchallenging. It's like an introduction in maths for high school students. I was expecting harder maths related to data science and/or machine learning, but this is just a review of high school maths. Not entirely a waste of time, but disappointing.

By Tanmay A

May 28, 2020

baye's theorem and the binomial addition to it should have been explained broadly, this is a multi country based program , people from different country access it. hence each and every formulae and colocations should be explained better and write-in a better way.

By Michael Q

Apr 7, 2017

Very rushed presentation. Blows right through a lot of fundamental concepts without a deep enough explanation or enough practice material (especially in the last two weeks). I feel like completing this class will require supplementation with better instruction.

By Enrico L

May 30, 2020

I was attracted by the syllabus (substance) but I found the presentation of the teachers quite disturbing (form); bad calligraphy, some mistakes, poor explanations. Anyway I completed the course and it will be useful as a general introduction to the topics.

By David S

May 26, 2020

The probability section left many serious gaps in information compared to the test. I had to take the exam multiple times, and even after restarting half of the class twice. I'm not usually one to have to do this for a class.

By Hitesh D

Jun 21, 2020

Video lectures were not very clear. It looked like these lectures are for revision and not for learning it first time. Baye's Theorem is yet not clear to me... I just mugged up some formulas which i will eventually forget.

By Sandeep M

May 21, 2020

The weeks 1-3 although elementary were explained well but the change of professor on the last one really did nothing. There were far better tutors on youtube teaching the same things he did more clearly.

By Jayprakash C

Sep 1, 2020

Concepts not covered well enough, just for the sake of teaching. Pure time waste. Bayesian Theory was not taught up to the mark, I had to refer external resources to understand it well.

By Gaurav A

May 25, 2020

the video learning was good, but the quiz questions were at a very different difficulty levels. I would just like to say that this was supposed to be an beginner level course.

By E M

Jul 27, 2017

This course is very short. I've completed it in about 4 hours. Nothing was told about linear algebra, statistics, optimization. It is not enough even to learn Data Science.

By Ashraf S

Jan 17, 2019

This course dos not contain enough examples which needed to train and practice ,PDF is not clear enough and does not contain any problems to practice.

Thanks

By Amanda G

Mar 26, 2021

The second professor isn't great. I don't think it's his fault, but a lot of information was crammed into 2 weeks and I had to do a lot of self-teaching.

By Saleem G

Apr 30, 2020

Week 1 and Week 2 material is very well presented. Week 3 was presented very poorly but reading the notes and youtube helped. Week 4 went over my head

By Maria K

Nov 21, 2020

Materials provided are not sufficient to fully understand the concepts. One has to look for additional books and forums on the internet.

By Jomon K S

May 11, 2020

The content of the course was simple. But the quiz were above average. The classes were not sufficient to answer the questions.

By Esaú C

Apr 25, 2020

I

t's a good review for the people that know something but will be very hard for students that don't have a background in Maths

By Vaibhav J

Feb 10, 2019

Found the title of the course mis-leading! School level Math skills are taught. Found the title to be similar to "click-baits"