Chevron Left
Back to Deep Neural Networks with PyTorch

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Deep Neural Networks with PyTorch by IBM

4.4
stars
914 ratings
213 reviews

About the Course

The course will teach you how to develop deep learning models using Pytorch. The course will start with Pytorch's tensors and Automatic differentiation package. Then each section will cover different models starting off with fundamentals such as Linear Regression, and logistic/softmax regression. Followed by Feedforward deep neural networks, the role of different activation functions, normalization and dropout layers. Then Convolutional Neural Networks and Transfer learning will be covered. Finally, several other Deep learning methods will be covered. Learning Outcomes: After completing this course, learners will be able to: • explain and apply their knowledge of Deep Neural Networks and related machine learning methods • know how to use Python libraries such as PyTorch for Deep Learning applications • build Deep Neural Networks using PyTorch...

Top reviews

SY
Apr 29, 2020

An extremely good course for anyone starting to build deep learning models. I am very satisfied at the end of this course as i was able to code models easily using pytorch. Definitely recomended!!

RA
May 15, 2020

This is not a bad course at all. One feedback, however, is making the quizzes longer, and adding difficult questions especially concept-based one in the quiz will be more rewarding and valuable.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 213 Reviews for Deep Neural Networks with PyTorch

By Amir J

Aug 12, 2020

Amazing course!

By CHALLA K S N M S

Sep 21, 2020

awesome course

By Aditya M P

Dec 8, 2020

Good Course

By Abdullaev S

Mar 6, 2021

Coll!

By ASITHA I D

Feb 15, 2021

Good.

By Marco C

Mar 30, 2020

The course is good and has a nice mixture of theory and practice, which is essential for mastering complex concepts. However, I do have a few observations about the course quality:

- Several of the slides in the presentations and even the labs have a lot of grammar mistakes.

- The theory is often rushed in the lectures. The course would greatly benefit from a more careful analysis of the maths behind each concept.

-In its effort to make the concepts easier to grasp, the lectures keep using coloured boxes to replace mathematical terms. I found that to be more confusing, they use far too many colours and are too liberal with their use.

-Lastly, the labs completely broke down in the second half of the course. My understanding from the course staff is that an upgrade was made on the backend which did not go well and thus caused those issues. They should have several backup plans for those occurrences, starting with having the labs available for download so that the students can do them offline.

Overall I'm happy with the course and would cautiously recommend it, given the above shortcomings.

By Peter P

Jul 8, 2020

The course was fantastic for someone like me. I already knew all the math, and the course gave deep exposure to the needed Python routines and classes. The labs really help cement the knowledge.

Only drawback is that it went a bit too slow for me (NN with one input, NN with two inputs, NN with one output, NN with two outputs, etc.), but others might disagree.

I'm giving it a four because there were so many typos and mistakes (i.e. the gradient is perpendicular to countour lines, not parallel), lots of mispellings and wrong data on the slides and the speaker sounded like a computer (he pronounced the variable idx as "one-dx" - huh? I understand that there's going to be mistakes, but this is an one online course made for many people, and you'd expect that kind of stuff to be corrected over time since it is being repeatedly delivered.

But - it was a great course and I highly recommend taking it.

By Julien P

Jun 11, 2020

Here is a list of pros and cons:

Pros: great notebooks and many examples

Cons: the videos are a bit "cheap" (typos and artificial voice) and often miss the intuitions ("To do that, we code like this"). A bit light on the maths. Quizzes are too easy to validate (people may validate with a superficial understanding of what is going on).

Summary: The value of this class resides in the notebooks and in the time your are willing to invest in them.

By Farhad M

Jun 24, 2020

I think it's a good course if you're coming in with the notion of deep learning pretty much clear and are more interested in learning the PyTorch syntax. I'm not sure how useful the course would be in terms of learning ML or DL from scratch. In particular the conceptual slides could be better.

The notebooks are well-prepared. Even though occasional bugs can be found, they aren't much to worry about.

By Felix H

Jun 30, 2020

The course gave a decent and well-structured introduction to PyTorch. However, I would have hoped for less typos (including in the code on the slides), more challenging and instructive quizzes and real exercises (there are instructive labs, but the practice section is usually only a very slight modification of the already given code).

By Mitchell H

Aug 2, 2020

Awesome course for learning the basics/fundamentals of Pytorch. However the labs often would not run some of the more complex or CPU-intensive models, so I would suggest downloading the labs to your local machine. Also could have also used more assignments for hands-on experience, but I would recommend this course.

By drygrass

Dec 27, 2020

Very good fundamental course.

It will be good if real data is used in lab rather than using virtual data.

Also, the notebook's hyperlink of the final assignment isn't work. I can't import the notebook to Watson studio and finish the assignment, please fix it, thank you.

By Josephine J

Jul 19, 2021

Explanation was confusing as time, and text-to-speech lecturer made it harder to engage. Lots of typos and unintuitive phrasing. However, taught useful skills, and all the resources were there to do own thinking/research and eventually understand everything.

By bob n

Oct 13, 2020

Concepts presented in nice bite size chunks. Labs help reinforce concepts. BUT, felt like course was just a bunch of pieces with little assembly. Kinda like finding a box of LEGOs (r) with nothing to really build from them.

By Kaustubh S

Jul 8, 2021

Good explanation with examples of code in python. The concept of convolution can be elaborated upon further as to it's genesis and how multiple processing techniques such as max pooling impact performance

By Kishan B S

Jan 22, 2021

Content wise this is very good for beginners, who have basic Numpy, Python, DL understanding. Only issue would be the automated voice of the instructor. That can be changed to make it more human friendly!

By Edward J

Oct 18, 2020

I learned loads in this course. I'm quite familiar with Keras so it was good to use a different package. The instruction was very clear but LONG. I would have liked the labs to have been more involved.

By Jesus G

Jun 19, 2020

A nice landing on Pytorch and basic Deep Learning concepts. I liked the collection of code and practical examples. If only, I missed having more difficult practical assignments along the course.

By André M

Dec 14, 2020

Course material is great, although it has some errors, as on the video slides as in the notebooks. This should be rectified. Also, the assessments and quizzes should definitely be harder.

By Evgeniya K

Sep 20, 2020

Good to dive into Deep Learning and get some PyTorch basics. However, there're sometimes mistakes in the assignments. Also, the explanations can sometimes be a bit confusing.

By Ujjwal J

Nov 3, 2020

Amazing course for a beginner in Deep Learning & Pytorch.

I gave 4 stars as I expected it to be more pytorch heavy.

Overall, a really good crafted course.

By TJ G

Jan 11, 2020

Very intensive course. Could do more training labs. But this is definitely a very dense course. Extremely helpful to get started on ML/Deep Learning.

By Jian P

May 10, 2020

Good introduction of PyTorch. There are some minor code errors and inconsistencies in the material but generally not difficult to figure it out.

By Mehrdad P

Jun 24, 2020

The courses provides basic knowledge, but I wish that it was a bit more advanced and had more challenging assignments.

By Patricio V

May 31, 2020

Some of the courses are quite harsh, but finally come all togheter and there's a light at the end of the tunnel.