Chevron Left
Back to Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship by The University of Sydney

4.6
stars
937 ratings

About the Course

This course is for entrepreneurial managers who are looking for tools and techniques to introduce exciting, innovative products or services to market quickly and informed by high-quality customer insights. It is applicable to a range of organizations from small-medium sized enterprises through to corporates, and across a range of industrial segments. The problem this course helps address is the constant pressure managers face to be innovative and introduce novel products and services for their customers. However, many creative ideas get ‘stuck’ in the boardroom or are subject to intra-organizational tensions or group think. This course provides methodologies to break through these challenges. We build on the widely known concept of design thinking but update it and apply it to advance business strategy and entrepreneurship. Over five weeks you will learn what ‘design strategy’ is, how it differs from traditional design thinking and business strategy, and how it can be used to improve existing products or services in your business, or introduce breakthrough ideas. We will also provide an exclusive, deep-dive into the practical application and impact of these strategies in one of Australia’s newest, most innovative financial institutions, UBank, and the global re-insurance giant, Swiss Re. Through conversations with their Senior Executive Leadership Teams, including UBank’s CEO, we will explore how they have embedded innovation through design thinking. By the end of this course, you will have a set of tools to inform product design and development for your own start-up, or to extend the product roadmap of an established organization....

Top reviews

JJ

Aug 19, 2019

This was very interesting and detailed oriented learning experience, giving insights towards the overall design leg strategy and components of creating a design led customer driven value proposition.

LN

Sep 17, 2021

The course material was well packed and perfectly delivered. You would feel like is classroom-based. I think customer journey mapping should be included. Overall it was interesting and insightful.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 253 Reviews for Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship

By ADEYEMO O

Jun 11, 2020

Excellent

By ANUBHAVA S

Jul 14, 2020

nice hai

By Nguyen T T

Feb 18, 2023

Great!

By nethmini t

Aug 10, 2020

Great

By Mahatam P

Jan 12, 2023

good

By Amar A

Feb 8, 2022

Good

By Sohel S j

Jun 4, 2020

Good

By Nguyễn A N T

Nov 29, 2021

hay

By SOFIA C C A

Oct 27, 2022

.

By Martin B

Jan 27, 2021

I liked the course, which conveys design thinking and design strategy principles and tools effectively and understandably. I hoped for a refresher on some key concepts and this course delivered. Some suggestions for improvement: The intense focus on the cases (Ubank / Swiss Re) is a bit too much. While the videos exemplify some of the ideas conveyed in the course, their value add is somewhat limited, so I ended up skipping through lots of these segments. Another idea, given that this wants to be a University course, would be to add some more in-depth reading material beyond blog posts. Other than that, thanks for the effort that went into preparing this!

By Roger R

Apr 14, 2020

The course started off really well. However i felt it ended a bit prematurely. The concepts of Business Strategy was explained and then there was a little deeper dive in design thinking. uptill here it was good.

However the part where Design Thinking meet Biz strat is what i was disappointed in. I felt there was more of a product development focus rather than Biz strat. I am still left wondering how to use design thinking in business strategy.

By Nele R

Jan 29, 2021

I enjoyed the refresher on business strategy and learned more about the principles of design thinking. The material was easy to grasp and useful. Even though it was great to get examples of how design thinking can be used in a practical context, there was too much emphasis on two very specific examples. I would have enjoyed a more varied approach with different examples of design strategy in practice.

By Tanmaya R

Apr 4, 2020

I would love if we could get a PDF of the course information which we could use for our own reference. The content of the course is very informative. The content is well created and gives a through overview of what exactly is Design Strategy. It would be nice if we could actually see the product and application developed for SwissRe and Ubank.

By Donatella D

Oct 3, 2022

Hi, I ve appreciated all the speeches, questionnaires and testimonials stories. I would only reccommand to change the BMC explanatory lesson and make it more practical and visual, showing the "how to" complete the Canva , not only telling. BMC it's a visual tool and in that way must be used.

Thanks to all the staff.

Yours

Donatella Derchi

By Carol K T

Feb 8, 2022

A good introduction to Design thinking as it is used as part of business strategy. As with many coursera courses, this course was well-structured and communicated. More importantly, this is a good beginning to pursue greater learning by either applying the teachings "in situ" or as a springboard for further courses etc on this topic.

By Karthigeyan S

Dec 9, 2020

Good course giving a perspective on applying design thinking principles in business strategy. One suggestion - Both the case studies or examples are only in the area of product development. It would have been great if one of the case studies were in other business areas it would have helped get a broader perspective.

By RAUL B G

Apr 23, 2020

It has very good content but the videos are a bit simple compared with other courses in Coursera. The study cases are great but it would be great to have more visual examples of how to apply design thinking and how an MVP or a prototype looks like. Nevertheless great course.

By Laura H

Oct 23, 2020

The course was informative and helpful. The videos were very fast paced with tons of information and lessons taught in a very short timeframe. I often had to pause or repeat them to understand all of the information and take adequate notes for my own learning.

By Kean E

Jul 5, 2020

This is a really great introduction to Design Strategy. While I do have experience in HCD, this was a good insight into applying the methodology in business strategy. I would like to see more challenging assignments introduced as this quiz felt a bit too easy.

By Marie-Andrée J

Apr 9, 2020

Good overview of the deisgn thinking practice.

However more focused on design thinking than corporate strategy; the use case could be more detailed as well;

Not suitable for people who already know and have use Business Canva business model .

By Anderson C

Jan 18, 2020

Love the program. It would be 5-star excellence if the program is longer and deeper-dived with into each of the subjects giving more exercises and case-studies beyond what is current. Dr. Carla Harris made the course easy to understand.

By karan m

Sep 3, 2021

Well articulated material and easy to digest byte sized elements. Covers well the topic of design thinking and how it blends with corporte and product strategy to result in design strategic thinking.

By Danielle C

Feb 13, 2021

The course was succinct and provided useful case studies and tools to help implement a design thinking process. I would recommend it to other busy professionals who need a crash course on this topic.

By Esmari W

Feb 24, 2021

The course is very useful and I've learned a lot. A suggestion is to add a few examples of completed artefacts, e.g. Business Model Canvas and explain the theory around the completed examples.

By Alejandro L

Mar 21, 2019

The course was great but I wish it had dug a bit deeper into how to use the BMC and how to use the Value Proposition Canvas, which are key tools to understanding the business and taking action.