Chevron Left
Back to Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology by University of Alberta

4.9
1,015 ratings
352 reviews

About the Course

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a 12-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of non-avian dinosaurs. Topics covered: anatomy, eating, locomotion, growth, environmental and behavioral adaptations, origins and extinction. Lessons are delivered from museums, fossil-preparation labs and dig sites. Estimated workload: 3-5 hrs/week....

Top reviews

JH

Apr 06, 2017

Thank you for this excellent course! I really enjoyed the short videos, the concise notes, and quick quizzes (both at the end of each lesson, as well as the main point quizzes throughout the videos).

TW

Dec 16, 2017

The instructors' explanation are very clear and easy to understand. Would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in Paleontology or dinosaurs in general. I really had fun learning.

Filter by:

326 - 348 of 348 Reviews for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

By Sarah H

Nov 14, 2018

Easy to follow and complete -- which there were reminders as to when things were due

By Gert-Jan v H

May 13, 2017

Great explanations and fun classes, excellent drawings and visualizations, but I did find this course a bit one-sided. You could improve it by spending some time discussing the evidences against millions of years, and the evidences of people living contemporary with dinosaurs.

By Samantha J E

Mar 09, 2018

It was fun! The questions in the middle of the video were good to maintain attention, although a few of them seemed out of place. Over all a good experience.

By Andres A

Sep 27, 2017

Los exámenes al final de cada modulo deberían ser un poco más complicados.

By Peter K

Jul 04, 2017

Over all a good course. Some of the quiz questions could be rewritten for clarity. The section on Diversity should be its own module, not just tacked onto the paleo-geography module. Otherwise a fun course that does a good job keeping you engaged.

By l

Apr 08, 2017

Engaging intro course with superb visuals and virtual specimens.

By Cora H

Apr 21, 2017

This was fun!

By Raymond D

Oct 10, 2017

Great course. Learned a lot.

By Laura T

May 16, 2018

This was very informative and enjoyable

By Ishaan K

Jun 09, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. It gave me a deeper insight into theories and characteristics surrounding dinosaurs and their existence, and at the same time, told me a great deal of new things about their classification, characteristics and evolutionary context. I liked the clarity with which facts were presented and the stress that was applied on the idea of hypotheses and their acceptance/rejection. It inspired me to think more scientifically about the world around us.

By Andrea f

Dec 21, 2016

very fun, informative and interesting. definitely recommend to any one interested in dinosaurs

By Botsula L

May 19, 2017

Very interesting course, sometimes there was too much information but it proved that this course is complete and from very clever sources.

By Brianne S

Oct 02, 2017

I thought this course had a lot of interesting information and I learned a lot from it. Some of the material was little to complicated for me to understand when I went over it the first time.

By Rianna B

May 28, 2017

The videos are entertaining but if the pdf is read through, its simple enough to take and pass the quiz.

By Amy J

Dec 27, 2017

I have learned a lot! If I'm honest, I didn't watch the videos as I found some of the lecturers difficult to watch (repetitive motions, speech too slow, patronising tones etc.). Otherwise an awesome, interactive and informative course. Thank you!

By Robert C D J

Jun 06, 2018

After completing this course, I still find it very interesting that the presenters and the chief paleontologist believe that the earth and her inhabitants are millions of years old. It's a bunch of nonsense. Especially the fact that evolution is a a theory and not scientific fact. Darwin refuted his own theory while on his death bed. Read is bibliography. Anyways, aside from the false science of evolution presented in this course, it was informative to a degree, a bit humorous, based on the assumption that birds came from dinosaurs (really?), and somewhat fulfilling. As a Christian who believes in biblical science which supports a young earth, I wold like to see both sides of evolution and creationism presented in future courses for this particular topic.

By Alyx D

Jun 14, 2018

Super informative I loved learning about the dinosaurs, however the delivery of the content was sometimes dry and boring

By Leonardo M

Aug 22, 2018

The first part is far more interesting than the second one. A good MOOC, not too hard, but still serious and full of notions.

By Joel H

Jun 08, 2019

Very good course with lots of detail.

By Izhak E

Jul 08, 2019

The course is very nice for beginners, and there was a great deal of investment in it. The direct observation in real fossils (both in the video and in the 3D fossil viewer) was very beneficial. The presenter was graceful and the lecture notes were good. However, for people with more than basic knowledge in dinosaurs the course is not enough and doesn't offer much new information. This course has the pontential to be expanded and elaborated by adding lessons with more profound survey of all the dinosaurs groups, their anatomical features and their ecology niche (e.g. considering 15-mins video of each major clade, such as theropods, coelosaurs, sauropodomorph, ornithopods, thyreophorans and marginocephalians). Overall the course was fun.

By Dr A J P

Sep 06, 2019

I really enjoyed the course. There were no current participants in the forums, but I read them all and learned a bit from those, too. I especially liked Betsy's presentation and hope she gets a raise for her good work. This course is obviously a broad overview and a great place to begin for anyone interested in this line of study.

By Eli B

Jul 03, 2019

Great that it's free, and while it does give a lot of interesting information it is pretty low-level for a college level course. It is very much an introduction to dinosaurs (and some other related topics). Would love to see expanded course offerings.

By Brent L

Sep 30, 2019

It is a fascinating subject, that's why I listened, however,

The young lady giving the lectures to be polite should have a desk job. Very poor public speaker with nervous hand gestures, monotone delivery,hard swallowing. What is an interesting subject matter becomes insufferable. That said, perhaps the use of charts listing types, locations and ancestry, specific features, etc. would help keep track of a vast subject matter, alas, now more of a jumble than I had anticipated. Also, please eliminate a good many of the intra-lecture pop quizzes, unless your target audience is 8th and 9th graders. Unnecessarily simplistic, bordering on insulting. The week end tests are well thought out, thought provoking.