Chevron Left
Back to Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
2,588 ratings
901 reviews

About the Course

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a 12-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of non-avian dinosaurs. Topics covered: anatomy, eating, locomotion, growth, environmental and behavioral adaptations, origins and extinction. Lessons are delivered from museums, fossil-preparation labs and dig sites. Estimated workload: 3-5 hrs/week....

Top reviews

JH
Apr 5, 2017

Thank you for this excellent course! I really enjoyed the short videos, the concise notes, and quick quizzes (both at the end of each lesson, as well as the main point quizzes throughout the videos).

PM
Oct 17, 2020

Even as a dinosaur nerd, I still learned a lot. Instructional videos with embedded quizzes were very well constructed. I'm just a bit bummed that I couldn't access the fossil viewer for some reason.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 897 Reviews for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

By Gert-Jan v H

May 13, 2017

Great explanations and fun classes, excellent drawings and visualizations, but I did find this course a bit one-sided. You could improve it by spending some time discussing the evidences against millions of years, and the evidences of people living contemporary with dinosaurs.

By Sandra L

Oct 24, 2020

I enjoyed this class and learned a lot. My only reason for not giving it five stars is because the 3D fossil viewer never worked for me, and the reading assignments had a lot of typos/grammatical errors/spelling errors. Someone should proofread the "text book" for future use.

By Advait U

Jul 15, 2020

There are a few mistakes here and there, and a few things need to be updated, but overall, the course is really good for a beginners level in Paleobiology. It was well explained, the diagrams and quizes were helpful and the resources complemented the course well.

By Pamela T

Aug 11, 2020

Over all this course was great and i learned a lot! One thing i wasn't happy with, was the fossil viewer stopped working after maybe the 3rd or 4th interaction. Every time i would try and look at it a blue page would come up and none of it worked.

By Peter K

Jul 3, 2017

Over all a good course. Some of the quiz questions could be rewritten for clarity. The section on Diversity should be its own module, not just tacked onto the paleo-geography module. Otherwise a fun course that does a good job keeping you engaged.

By Amy J

Dec 27, 2017

I have learned a lot! If I'm honest, I didn't watch the videos as I found some of the lecturers difficult to watch (repetitive motions, speech too slow, patronising tones etc.). Otherwise an awesome, interactive and informative course. Thank you!

By Azeem K

Jun 20, 2020

The fossil viewer did not work even once in the whole course, despite complaining. Another thing is that you should appreciate the work of students by providing free certificate when you made the course free.

By Jason O

Jun 27, 2020

if your dinosaur fan you probably know much of this stuff it gets some stuff wrong like trilobites being fully extinct and stuff like that. i suggest this program to all ages who wan't to be a paleontologist

By Stephanie S

Mar 22, 2020

Overall very good course laid in a easily digestible manner. Would enjoy a bit more quizzes or interact-able diagrams to better ingrain the learned concepts. Thanks for making the course! Time well spent.

By Everton F A

Mar 29, 2019

The course is very good, but the certificate sucks. I paid 64 dollars, and do not include the main information such as the number of hours invested in the course and the history (programmatic content).

By Deiby W M H

Aug 1, 2020

gracias! este es uno de los cursos mas completos que he realizado, sin dudar les daría 5 estrellas pero no lo hago porque el visor virtual en 3D no funcionó, aun así el curso estuvo muy completo

By Brianne S

Oct 2, 2017

I thought this course had a lot of interesting information and I learned a lot from it. Some of the material was little to complicated for me to understand when I went over it the first time.

By Inda I

Nov 25, 2020

Well done, nicely organized, easy to go at your own pace. Perhaps hits vocabulary too much. I'd rather have a stronger paleoecology componet. Still, very enjoyable and full of stories.

By romain p

May 1, 2020

It was very interresting and I learned many things, but I think you could use of more pictures in the PDF of the courses... (maps, phylogeny, drawing of bones ...) Thank you for all ;)

By Sabina O

Nov 13, 2020

Lots of information to take in but very well presented using examples, showing fossils, referencing existing animals. The terms were clear and easy enough to understand.

By Mikenzie C

Apr 23, 2020

On the last quiz of the class, it said all of the answers were wrong. There was no right answer but there wasnt an option to put that! Otherwise, great class:)

By Samantha J E

Mar 9, 2018

It was fun! The questions in the middle of the video were good to maintain attention, although a few of them seemed out of place. Over all a good experience.

By Paula B

Apr 17, 2021

Lots of fun and I learned a lot. However, I was never able to get the fossil viewer working, which was a great shame. Thank you to the team of Dino 101.

By Botsula L

May 19, 2017

Very interesting course, sometimes there was too much information but it proved that this course is complete and from very clever sources.

By Rubén D B

Jul 13, 2020

Most of the question segments in between the video did not show the images that were shown, making it difficult to answer some of them

By Leonardo M

Aug 22, 2018

The first part is far more interesting than the second one. A good MOOC, not too hard, but still serious and full of notions.

By Alyx D

Jun 14, 2018

Super informative I loved learning about the dinosaurs, however the delivery of the content was sometimes dry and boring

By Rianna B

May 28, 2017

The videos are entertaining but if the pdf is read through, its simple enough to take and pass the quiz.

By Sara P

Oct 20, 2020

Great comprehensive lessons. Wish they had started with the last 3 lessons as the introduction.