Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
10,643 ratings
2,324 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

IS

Oct 06, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

JS

Jan 13, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

Filter by:

1701 - 1725 of 2,290 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Rebecca N

Jul 25, 2016

My previous review is : This course teaches NOTHING about JAVA! Does not worth the money and time!

After I learned more about coding I realized I was wrong that it is very important to understand HTML, CSS and JS before learning Java. The only thing is that I wish this course teaches more algorithm.

By Ricardo C

Dec 28, 2015

So far I enjoyed and learned to many concepts about programing, I have none technical background so for me this is like learning a complete new language with different alphabet, they explain in a clear way, with examples and easy language, the Javascript part could be more specific but it is fine.

By Siddharth S

Apr 02, 2018

The course was good in content. The way the things were delivered was really amazing and uses of CodePen for practicing is also a nice practice introduces to us in the series. Thanks Duke for providing us with a good course to begin our learning in making interactive and attractive web pages

By Deleted A

Feb 07, 2016

Very good course for beginners, but some of the practical examples could have been done better.

For example it would have been nice if the course had taught how to execute JS code directly from a webpage, with or without using CodePen.

This is the only reason why it gets 4 stars instead of 5.

By Rhythm A

Jun 26, 2020

only reason it gets one star less is because your doubts are not personally cleared by mentors and you have to wait long long time and still not sure that it will be cleared. The answers of students are shared by some of them but sometimes you still can't identify the bug in your code.

By Leon C

May 28, 2020

This course starts from scratch and it does give you a brief detail about how the user should advance. The reason for giving 4 stars is that by week 2, the pace of the course increases which seems a bit difficult to cope up with. Otherwise, this course is really good for beginners.

By Julia H

Jun 09, 2016

The HTML and CSS portions as well as the beginning javascript lessons are great. However, towards the end of this module the instructors seem to stop teaching and/or expect knowledge way above 'beginning' that make it necessary for me to teach myself way more than I expected.

By Lais C

Aug 23, 2019

I really liked the structure of the course, in general. The question on the quizzes were also very well written and aimed to test the acquired knowledge.I'd love if by the end of this course, we would have a website a bit more useful for career purposes. Still a great course.

By Sayyad J W

Oct 14, 2020

It is an awesome course to getting started with Web Development. It will be better if someone have basic knowledge of programming and how external classes will be used. It's my second online course which, I have completed. Going on through this course is fun. Thank you!!

By Anel O

Oct 10, 2016

A great and fun way to learn fundamentals of programming and basics of HTML, CSS, and Java Script. Exercises were simple and very good to reinforce what was learned on each session, plus they included challenge exercises for those who need something a little less basic.

By Alicia G

Oct 25, 2017

I thought the videos and examples were good, but when it came to the assignments it seemed like there was a steep self-learning curve. Made the course a bit tougher than I had expected, but overall the information was good and will be beneficial to me moving forward!

By Abdalla E A

Oct 14, 2016

This course is a great course. It gives you concepts and teach you how to apply them. It also provide good exercises and programming problems.

I was just wanted the course to add more materials and more lectures about HTML and CSS.

Thank You for this great course.

By Joseph S

Dec 21, 2017

Great Course! The course is presented in a great way. The green screen aspect of this course was interesting and kept me aboard. I specifically loved the steganography extra section at the end. That was a very fun and interesting thing that I had no idea existed.

By Mallorie P

Jan 16, 2020

My only complaint is that the activities all use a preprogrammed library - so instead of familiarizing myself with “common” handles, I now know specific ones that only work if I reference this material in my script. That said, the projects were fun and engaging!

By Tim A

Nov 29, 2015

Good overall beginner course but definitely for the beginners. Only the last week may be interesting to people that already know a bit about HTML and CSS, as the JavaScript part at the end has some interesting assignments; like hiding an image in another image.

By Alankrit N

Apr 19, 2019

the course content is good if you are a beginner, the projects are interesting specially the Steganography part in the honors content, however, if there was a bit more detail provided, about developing a webpage, this course would have got a five star from me.

By Vadim S

Oct 19, 2020

Quite a decent course with lots of great examples to work through, however I felt like it was lacking in clarity for some bits of theoretical material. Overall recommend to all those who want to start learning to program, as I tried it being a novice myself.

By SUTHAKHAR P

Aug 28, 2020

The exercise were good and the project was interesting but the overall teaching was not really great. The teachers were looking at the screen. It was not natural and hence sometimes felt a bit awkward. Other than that a great course with lots of resources.

By Edwin B

Jan 07, 2016

Granted it's an online course so there's not the back and forth provided at a physical classroom. However, the presentation of content is efficient and if an individual puts in enough time and effort, they'll get what they're looking from with this course.

By hülya k

Jan 25, 2020

I liked the course; but I wish there would be more explanations about content. Videos didn't give enough information about miniprojects. However, course is designed well in a way that makes you to understand better with practices after every chapter.

By Rabia G

Sep 30, 2019

The for loop part isn't clearly defined you may struggle in this part but everything else apart from this is fine. You may wanna consider this course if you are a beginner in HTML and the best thing about this course that it has no pre- resiquites.

By Roy G C

Oct 17, 2017

Very nice way to start, as long as you take it seriously and AREN'T satisfied with doing the bare minimum just to complete the tasks and strive to do the best every time, even if it implies taking twice or thrice the time 'suggested' for each task.

By Lin Q

Jan 03, 2019

it's a good class, learn something useful, something to improve: the reply in the discussion board could be faster, the instruction of the programming exercise could be more precise. but it's still very good class, better than average in coursera

By Vanessa A

Jul 24, 2020

Informational, but the videos need better sound editing. The sound of peoples' saliva made me rage-quit a few times. Speeding up the videos help a bit. Also, the Javascript information was taught WAY out of order in terms of difficulty.

By Ehren R

Jan 05, 2016

A good introduction to programming in general and in relation to web apps. A lot of focus on just a few problems, mainly graphics manipulation but a good starting point I think. Looking forward to learning much more in future courses.