Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Music Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Music Theory by The University of Edinburgh

4.5
stars
1,448 ratings
462 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top reviews

GE
Apr 1, 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

SS
Aug 22, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 456 Reviews for Fundamentals of Music Theory

By Galeno G

Jan 29, 2019

Great course!

By Aleix G M

Jan 3, 2020

Great course

By Jimmy V

May 20, 2021

Lots of fun

By FREDERICK O A

Feb 13, 2018

Excellent!1

By Samanta G P

Jun 16, 2017

Excelente!!

By Albert T

Jan 26, 2017

nice course

By Ruarai M

Jan 29, 2019

Excellent!

By Daniel W

Aug 23, 2018

Very nice.

By Eugene E

May 16, 2018

Excellent!

By Emmanuel c o

Mar 21, 2018

i love it

By Guillermo Á M C

Oct 26, 2017

¡Gracias!

By Wilma E R I

Jul 3, 2017

Loving it

By Yvonne C

Mar 30, 2017

仔细、认真、全面。

By Sarah G d S

Feb 24, 2019

Exelent!

By Stella K

Dec 21, 2017

Thank yo

By Антон Ю

Jun 24, 2017

Perfect!

By Prithiraj R N

Nov 4, 2021

Amezing

By Maria V C

Sep 19, 2018

amazing

By Nomit N

Jun 14, 2017

superbb

By andres b

Jan 19, 2017

Gracias

By Marlena B

Sep 9, 2016

Super!

By Akhil18 V

Jul 28, 2019

good

By Hai y

Jun 8, 2018

TQ

By Gregor M

Jan 5, 2021

What began as a passing interest in improving my scant knowledge of music theory became a full on obsession by the end of this course. I was staying up until 9pm over my Christmas break, taking and re-taking quizzes and studying cadences, secondary dominants and modulation. Who would've known? Certainly not me when I began!

For me, playing music is a hobby. I've never studied it, taken graded exams or anything of that sort. I saw 'fundamentals of music theory', free of charge, and thought it would be a good place to start. A word of advice: this is certainly not for beginner musicians.

My only criticism of the course would be that the end of unit quizzes, and final exam, are a VERY steep climb from the comparatively pedestrian level of instruction (barring the rhythm section, which required a lot of further study to get my head around).

The formula seems to go: crawl (teach concept), baby steps (watch demonstration of concept), Olympic 100-metre sprint (answer university level questions). If you have the time and dedication to put into this course the rewards are plenty. You can take end of unit quizzes as many times as you would like, meaning the challenge just about meets the pace of learning.

I am thoroughly pleased with the time I put into this course, and I am excited to go back to my instruments (saxophone and guitar) armed with a greater understanding of these fundamentals, and indeed more complex concepts, of music theory.

By Alison C

Jul 6, 2020

Most of the course was delivered at a suitable pace, with plenty of examples. The one week where my eyes glazed over was week 3 (I think) which was all about time values of notes, etc. Fortunately, I already read music, and so managed to pass the assessment. Otherwise I think I'd have struggled. Even so, some of the questions really stretched my brain - many of them were NOT normal rhythms!

I felt that one or two of the questions in the final exam were quite complicated - cases where we were to disregard "passing notes" for instance, which was something I felt wasn't really covered in the course, and the one about "phrasing structure" (but that may have been in week 3).

In short, I'm not sure it's the FUNDAMENTALS (which to me means the basics) of music theory, but after well over 40 years of being able to read music, and over 20 singing in choirs, I finally understand the structures and names of chords, and simple progressions, and can work out an accompaniment for a simple tune, which was absolutely what I wanted to achieve. Thank you!