Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Music Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Music Theory by The University of Edinburgh

4.5
stars
1,427 ratings
452 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top reviews

SS
Aug 22, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

GE
Apr 1, 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

Filter by:

426 - 445 of 445 Reviews for Fundamentals of Music Theory

By Gregory C

Nov 1, 2016

This course does not do a good job at teaching the material. The lecture videos gloss over the topics briefly, but do not give a thorough explanation of the core topics of the course. The quizzes will repeatedly test on terms not even remotely mentioned in any of the course materials.

By River S

Jan 31, 2020

Its great for those who had a music background to review about music theory , but its definitely not for absolute beginners. This lacks coherent guidance and could cause misunderstanding to those who didnt get a big picture of music theory in advance.

By Tom F

Nov 19, 2016

This was fun as a refresher course. If you're brand new to music theory, this course won't help much unless you spend a lot of extra time learning the concepts using secondary materials, google, youtube, and your own keyboard.

By Mostafa A

Aug 16, 2020

Very difficult to be a "fundamentals" course. You certainly will need to be acquainted with some of the concepts introduced even in week 1 and 2. Not recommended as a first course.

By Iasonas T

Oct 30, 2016

could offer and cover much more subjects.

spend too much time on basics, less on advanced.

could have chosen better music examples.

By Ana

Feb 4, 2021

The description of the course does not portray the real contents. Not for beginners, specially from week 4.

By William H

Sep 4, 2021

The final exam is incredibly hard compared to the rest of the course. Please beware!

By Asterios K

Feb 23, 2020

Starts really well, but then there is a huge leap in complexity and difficulty

By Nicole R

Nov 2, 2020

Very confusing, goes too quick without actually explaining things

By Cariomeuf

May 4, 2020

not a begginer course. specially week 3

By Linda R

Jun 15, 2020

Huge disparity between the information provided in the lectures and the difficulty of the quiz at the end of each module. I found the presentation of the lectures good and while they covered the fundamentals they often mentioned! more difficult aspects. However the quiz content seemed to feature more of the difficult aspects than was covered comprehensively in the lectures. I had to avail of the guidance of other music educators on youtube to explain some of the questions on the quiz as when I reviewed the course videos and material I didn't find the answers to my questions. The course videos and material are beginner and the course quiz material is at least intermediate if not advanced.

By Deleted A

Nov 8, 2020

This course was the must confusing thus far on Coursera. Not because the subject matter is complex because it is. But because the lectures are simple, the reading is literally non-existent and the quizzes, well they are just impossible. This was suppose to be a beginning course but it is far more advanced. I truly was looking forward to an basic understanding of music theory, though I am not a musician or a composer and don't wish to become one! I wanted to learn the fundamentals. Very disappointed and very frustrated. I will not attempt to finish a class where success depends on quizzes that the student cannot complete.

By karthik

Jul 15, 2020

Not beginner friendly at all. They should not have advertised it as such if it isn' t. I feel bad for people who actually bought the course thinking they can learn something new. Course start out as easy and it's a trap, believe me. first few quizzes are fine but then shit gets crazy.

The entire course was boring but i thought i could survive the boredom for the sake of learning something new. but oh boy i was wrong. this is the only course in Coursera I had to stop halfway through. Youtube has even better content.

By Dr. K N S

Jun 27, 2020

The course is good but the way of teaching and lectures are not delivered in perfect way. Way of teaching makes me blur and it is not a course for the beginners that i could learn the theory of music. The notes what provided are very difficult to understand.

By Joe G

Dec 6, 2020

ui is awkward. answers to quizzes during lectures are not always correct. can't see answers to quizzes at the end of section to see why answers were correct or wrong. the videos are difficult to see hand positions when playing piano.

By Oliver D

Apr 6, 2021

Dr Michael Edwards is extremely confusing, making the lecture hard to follow, test don't cover by lecture

By Mar K

Oct 23, 2020

Terrible course. Poorly taught and zero resources really. very disappointing.

By Ника А

Apr 9, 2021

Не могу выйти из курса, меня это очень раздражает.

By Rishabh J

Mar 28, 2021

It is very hard to understand