Chevron Left
Back to English Composition I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English Composition I by Duke University

4.6
388 ratings
106 reviews

About the Course

You will gain a foundation for college-level writing valuable for nearly any field. Students will learn how to read carefully, write effective arguments, understand the writing process, engage with others' ideas, cite accurately, and craft powerful prose. Course Learning Objectives • Summarize, analyze, question, and evaluate written and visual texts • Argue and support a position • Recognize audience and disciplinary expectations • Identify and use the stages of the writing process • Identify characteristics of effective prose • Apply proper citation practices • Discuss applying your writing knowledge to other writing occasions...

Top reviews

JR

Mar 08, 2017

Very helpful for writers and future career writers. Plus the professor is extremely down to earth. Was not expecting that and I forgive her for being a Duke fan. Go Tar Heels!!!! jk jk

AA

Dec 15, 2017

I very excited to get this certificate and improved my knowledge writing and skills to get better understand for create a fiction with rules that I learned in Duke University

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 104 Reviews for English Composition I

By Carlos A O P

Feb 07, 2018

A great opportunity to engage with writing and learning how approach the writing process in a more easy and way. In my case, I rapidly start enjoying writing after the first week of the course.

By MP

Feb 02, 2017

Dr. Comer is an excellent presenter. She makes you feel welcome and positive about each module. Thank you.

By Arvind P

Mar 05, 2018

fabulous !

By Javier O

Mar 08, 2018

Excellent course

By Abdemonim L

Nov 05, 2016

very interesting but ........

By Jonny J

Feb 05, 2017

Excellent course. I would recommend it to anyone.

By rabiyadebbou

Jul 17, 2017

c'est formidable merci beaucoup

By dream_fly

Jun 02, 2017

nice course

By Abdoulaye O

Dec 27, 2016

very interesting course. The fundamental of english language. It was a pleasure for me to follow that class.

Thank you!

By xbb2

Sep 07, 2016

sorry for shortage of money to support me continue the course

By Mane M

Aug 11, 2016

This amazing course brought new skills in my life. I wrote for public, and my article "India and Armenia: the Connection" got published. I learned how to make arguments and support evidence to make the arguments stronger. I learned the strategies on how to make a visual analysis. We learned to write annotations and do proper citations. I would strongly recommend my peers to take this course.

With best regards,

Mane Mehrabian, Armenia

By Susana E M L

May 09, 2017

So far sooo great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you Professor!

By Akafack T J

Oct 09, 2016

This course is huge as long as developing your English is concerned

By Ana R P

Apr 06, 2017

Hello to my instructor. It is a "Thank You Note", arriving from Palmdale California. It is my pleasure to tell the university that my instructor is great. I am expressing my gratitude and genuine appreciation for dedicating the time to be part of my life as a student, thank you so much for instructing Ana Pelayo.

By Hana H

Dec 15, 2017

If I could give a review 10 stars out of 5, I would! This course was amazing, and I definitely would recommend it

By Mohammed B

May 28, 2017

thank you very much

By Raushan K

Aug 02, 2017

Wonderful basic course to learn

By Raena S

Jan 28, 2017

One of the best course for learners who want coaching as well as practical work in academic writing. Very interesting and engaging!!

By Sanjana S

Jun 02, 2017

yoco

By Charlie

Mar 29, 2018

very nice course,welcome

By Seerwan O H

Jun 14, 2017

It is really a great course!

By Siobhan B

Mar 28, 2018

This is a great course for people who want to truly improve their writing skills.. Dr. Comer is smart, practical, and very plugged in!

By ashkn

Dec 15, 2017

I very excited to get this certificate and improved my knowledge writing and skills to get better understand for create a fiction with rules that I learned in Duke University

By Clarissa G M A

May 27, 2018

Excellent course!!

By JUAN V

Oct 05, 2017

very good speak english