Chevron Left
Back to Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.6
stars
3,863 ratings
1,033 reviews

About the Course

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

Top reviews

N
Apr 11, 2020

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

TW
Jun 17, 2021

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 1,028 Reviews for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

By Luluh B A

May 10, 2017

Great

By Khushboo c

Jan 16, 2022

Best

By joseph m

Nov 26, 2020

good

By Shamna n

Nov 10, 2020

Good

By Sagarika G

Aug 9, 2020

Nice

By Priyanka g

Jul 29, 2020

Good

By Subham P

Jul 26, 2020

good

By Johorul I

Jul 16, 2020

Good

By USHASREE P

May 14, 2020

GOOD

By Sharmistha S

Jan 5, 2020

Good

By Zihan.Dong

Dec 22, 2015

Good

By Luthfi S A

Sep 16, 2015

Good

By Dr M K P

Aug 24, 2015

Good

By Diego D L T

Apr 14, 2021

...

By Isaac Z

Mar 3, 2017

Gr

By TEJASWI B

Aug 7, 2021

By Su M S T

Jun 27, 2021

v

By NAVEEN B

Jun 3, 2021

By R. T P

Oct 28, 2018

.

By CLARE O O

Dec 16, 2016

C

By Junwen Z

Dec 8, 2016

V

By GLADYS L H

Jan 24, 2016

D

By Chun L

Apr 17, 2020

This is an excellent introduction to the basics of epidemiology. I took it at the testing time of COVID-19 to be able to critique the evidence presented in the vast body of news coverage. The course structure is well balanced and key epidemiology basics covered. The explanations to concepts are very clear, often with reference to real-life examples for easier understanding. The course slides are detailed but concise, with key information highlighted. The additional reading provides useful extracurricular materials in greater depth. After learning this course, I find myself more confident in reading publications on public health studies for my work in air quality, which is such a wonderful reward for following through this course. Many thanks to Drs Alexander and Yeatts! One of my suggestions for improvement would be to provide detailed explanations to the questions in the weekly quizzes. Currently reviewing the answered questions does not provide any informative feedback apart from right or wrong - it does not even show my answers, which is not very helpful for effective learning from the mistakes. Another suggestion may be to add sample size calculations for each study design? However, these are really minor comments, compared with the great materials the two instructors prepared. Once again, thanks very much!

By Josue A

May 7, 2020

Overall this was a good course! There were good topics in each module, and modules were organized in a logical sequence.

Some of the modules (especially those dealing with statistical analysis) were a bit confusing and I had to research a bit more to fully understand them. Also, some of the quiz questions were complicated to understand due to the answer types, phrasing, and they contained information not covered in that specific module.

But, overall it was an enjoyable course that allowed for a basic understanding of epidemiology and its role on public health. The videos' lengths were adequate, most concepts were explained thoroughly and effectively, and the facilitators did a good job of providing enough examples to further explain the application of each concept.

By Tony C

May 5, 2020

Excellent introduction to a broad subject. Clear, concise and well structured. Three suggestions of improvements:

1) Please share the slides separately as a course companion.

2) The quizzes requires some improvement and why don’t provide explanations for some of the answers - specially those with multiple choices to get the full point on the question

3) Some More concrete examples and more exercises (homework) would be extremely useful in the chapter of understanding measures of disease frequency and Measures of association. Granted it requires more Maths (statistics and probability) understanding but that’s the whole point of those chapters.

Thanks again, truly enjoyed.