Chevron Left
Back to Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.6
stars
3,394 ratings
935 reviews

About the Course

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

Top reviews

N
Apr 11, 2020

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

A
May 30, 2020

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 920 Reviews for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

By Rupsa T

Aug 1, 2020

I am a 3rd year student of dentistry and I've always hated public health. But this course opened my eyes to what public health actually is and I am very grateful to the teachers for that

By Apurvi J

Jan 3, 2021

I have learned how to apply the things learnt in this course to analyse and interpret public health data. The course is full of examples explaining all the concepts in simple language.

By Erika T S Z

May 20, 2020

Buenas tardes, el curso te da un abre bocas del campo de la epidemiología y la salud publica. Brinda las pautas de herramientas fundamentales para hacer investigación en epidemiología.

By Amitabha D

Apr 19, 2020

This Epidemiology basics course is very good for the learners, who actually wants his/her career in the public health sector. I wish good luck to the instructors for their endeavours.

By Shaheena A

Mar 19, 2018

Well managed course. Excellent teachers with good teaching skills, I didnt expect myself to complete this course on time but you compelled me to work harder and achieve it. Thank you

By Md. S U A A

Apr 12, 2018

Thank you very much. It provided a very good basic foundation of epidemiology, public health & research designs to me. Excellent videos & additional resources. Love from Bangladesh.

By Mohammed H

Oct 7, 2020

It was a great experience to be a part of this course and I have enjoyed a lot and come to know lots of new things that open my thinking process and got so many ideas for research

By Huber V

Nov 17, 2015

One of, if not the, best course in the topic. Highly recommended for med students, statisticians, graduate doctors and public health servers. Great job Dr. Yeatts and Dr. Alexander!

By Dr.Trishnika S

May 25, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Very efficient course for someone who wants their basic to be cleared. The quizzes were a bit difficult and also, the quizzes made things clearer.

By Benchirouf N

Apr 30, 2020

A very interesting and informative course, it gave me a good start in the field of epidemiology in a simple and organized way.. I am happy I joined your class ..Thank you very much

By Ying X

Oct 12, 2020

The course is very useful and interesting. It helped me be clear in important concepts of epidemiology and also help me build a clear structure of epidemiological studies. Thanks!

By Mohammad J Q

Sep 3, 2020

One of the best course ever I came-across. Pedagogical approach is excellent. Clarity of concepts with genuine examples are helpful in better understanding. Keep it up. Thank You

By Muhammad W A

Apr 30, 2020

The best course with best syllabus and outline. The beauty of this course "Simple and advanced.

Thanks you UNC to provide us with brilliant educational content and certificate

By JUSTIN C N

Mar 8, 2020

The course has the basic fundamentals in the field of epidemiology in public health science and I will recommend this course to everyone interested in public health in general

By Shari E

Jul 28, 2017

This class is wonderful for those looking to get a foundation in public health! A very comprehensive, well-structured syllabus that is well adjusted to suit an online course.

By Abigail J (

Jan 25, 2016

This is a great course. I learned a lot and was challenged a lot. Thank you professors! I hope to see you online again for a credited course certificate in the near future.

By Dehbia m

Jul 12, 2020

Thank You so much, literally one of the best courses here!

I loved every second of it, and am so happy that i've learned so much more about epidemiology and public health <3

By ABID H

Nov 2, 2016

it was superb experience at coursera to get certificate on completing the course. I'll refer these courses to my friends and colleagues and will also join the other courses.

By Virendra M

Jul 23, 2020

Have been interested in this field, especially due to my own observations and some study of current covid-19 pandemic. I hope I will be able to better apply this knowledge.

By Aaina B

May 17, 2020

I am currently a high school student who has finished this amazing course. It is quite knowledgeable and the videos are really very informative. I had fun learning . THANKS

By Kannan S

Jun 18, 2020

amazing course. more informative. intricate details , yet outlined clearly and twisted questions , made me curious as whats next. i enjoyed it fully .

great instructors !!

By Kamran I

May 21, 2020

Very good course. I really liked the way both instructors simplified learning such that I am able to grasp important concepts I learned 15 years back in my medical school.

By Ghie D

Jun 6, 2020

the first few weeks were pretty difficult but it was worth it in the end. I love studying about epidemiology i hope i can apply these knowledge to the my life. thank you!

By CASTRILLON L D M

Aug 8, 2020

Excelente curso, práctico, conciso, explican muy bien las bases de la epidemiología y como interpretar las diferentes medidas de ocurrencia y asociación. Muy recomendado