Chevron Left
Back to Leading Teams: Developing as a Leader

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leading Teams: Developing as a Leader by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
5,337 ratings

About the Course

In this foundational course, you will be challenged to develop as a leader. You will explore the concept of leadership, assess required competencies for today's leaders, learn more about yourself and how you can make effective and ethical decisions, identify how to build trusting relationships with others, and articulate a practice for growing as a leader. This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA, iMSA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

IR

Dec 16, 2020

I found this course to be very informative. I really enjoyed the Videos and i was very much surprised at the interactive sessions. I am encouraged to complete other courses.

A huge THANK YOU!!!!!!!

IJ

Jul 3, 2020

Honestly, its one of the most effective online foundational course on effective leadership. I'm particularly overwhelmed by the much I have learnt about utilising the group decision making process.

Filter by:

1176 - 1200 of 1,401 Reviews for Leading Teams: Developing as a Leader

By Tapdiq M

Dec 17, 2020

Good

By Augustin U

Dec 16, 2020

good

By Shreya J

Oct 20, 2020

Good

By H A

Oct 20, 2020

Good

By Shahdeen A

Sep 15, 2020

Nice

By Maryam S A

Sep 6, 2020

good

By I A

Jul 8, 2020

good

By Maryam N

Jun 16, 2020

best

By Malek A A

Jun 8, 2020

good

By Syed T H

May 10, 2020

Good

By Abdulaziz A M

Jan 10, 2020

nice

By KUSHAGRA S

Apr 26, 2020

gr8

By Udayagiri P K

Jun 22, 2020

3

By Sama J

Apr 17, 2020

.

By aysha a

Apr 12, 2020

g

By Vivian C

Nov 26, 2019

G

By Greg T

Apr 17, 2019

e

By Kevin S

Dec 12, 2017

G

By Roshni F

Mar 13, 2016

The course was very informative and practical. I liked that it had case studies that needed working with others. However, if there is a way that mentors from the university could also grade the case study assignments, it would be useful. When I graded, I didn't look for the exact use of terminology but if my coursemate had documented the idea, I gave a positive grade. People could have a bias to the grading. At times I found people randomly added me probably to access the case study but didn't bother to discuss. In a future upgrade of the course, if the university can assign teams and track progress somehow it would be great. Perhaps limit the number of entries to each course and assign a mentor per few groups. I enjoyed it however and learnt alot which I will apply to my work. Thank you.

By Yoan I V G

Jan 3, 2022

As a Cuban academic on Scientific Leadership this Course "Foundations of Everyday Leadership" helped me to improve my skills on how to better manage my colleagues team in science-making with effective leadership when doing research on scientific leadership. Thank you so much for this opportunity. Want to know why I did not rated the Course with 5 stars? Because as a Cuban scholar, and despite the fact of me being a UNHCR refugee in Ecuador, even though I was able to get a new skills set, given the US Embargo against my country´s Communist regime, my Cuban passport is not accepted by the ID Very system of Coursera and therefore I am impeded to be issued my Course Certificate. How unfair!

By Mohammed M

Apr 18, 2020

The overall course was easy and required minimum work which is great for the executive. One thing I as hoping to better designed: the video lectures, they needed more interactivity. moving graphics or animations or even case studies. Also some of the articles. while they were a great read, they were not truly part of the course. They needed special memberships, which is fine, but that should have been clarified in advance. Additionally some papers were available in links othter the ones mentioned, which would have provided access to the artic;le for the students, without breaking IP regulations

By David R

Nov 5, 2016

Great course. my constructive criticism has to do with the organizing of the group activities, it's just very difficult to organize into groups via people whom you have not met, especially given the time zone differences as well the differences in daily schedules for group members. I just wonder if there's a possibility to organize the group projects in such a way that the website allows for better asynchronous work (not just emailing back and forth as that feels very disorganized)? Otherwise I feel that I learned a lot and I feel that this is a great intro class.

By Chris S

Feb 7, 2019

Personally, I really enjoyed the experience taking the first course Foundations of Everyday Leadership. The videos and readings were very informative and helped to develop my perspective in decision making and be able to articulate why taking certain approaches are important when making decisions. The biggest challenge I've found is getting on a efficent schedule and cadence with classmates on group excercises. Everyone is working remote from all over the world, so schedules are difficult to coordinate.

By Grant B

Jul 2, 2020

It was a great experience learning this program. My favorite part was a video with an actual speech of a professor that explains and highlights important matters in the discussions.

The peer graded part of the course is something that pending in finishing the courses and it really take awhile for another peers to give you a grade. This is the reason I did not gave a 5 star. Other than that it is a nice course that you can use to update your resume. Great school and reputation.

By Val S

Apr 9, 2020

This is a solid introductory leadership course. I was surprised, however, that two of the four case studies had obvious legal issues that students were supposed to ignore. I think that sends the wrong message to students, that is, that it is appropriate to ignore legal issues,or worse, to engage in crime, in real life situations. Those case studies could have been constructed in ways where there were no legal issues.