Chevron Left
Back to Fashion as Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fashion as Design by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
2,731 ratings

About the Course

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top reviews

SA

May 27, 2020

I would highly recommend this course for someone passionate about the industry. It's an Insightful course too deepen inside the fashion world, through history, identity, sustainability, and much more.

MP

May 15, 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 636 Reviews for Fashion as Design

By Власова В В

Mar 10, 2019

Thank you for such an amazing and informative course. I'm not sure that I would have learned so many details, interesting facts, meanings and role of fashion, if I had not enrolled in a course "Fashion as design". You opened my eyes to what fashion items depict and what revolutionary role they carried in their time. But most importantly you made me notice the environmental issues and rethink my way of consumption. Thanks again!

By MARIA A G S

Jul 21, 2020

The course content was very informative and easy to digest. It discussed articles and garments from around the globe with different historical and social contexts. The workload is very manageable, you could finish it early if you want which is want I did. I learned a lot more about fashion in the socio-political context. It definitely made me more attentive of where I buy my clothes and how they are made.

By Pooja k

Mar 18, 2019

The course was an eye opener to the fashion world. I learned the history behind each trend which we follow till date . It was a great platform to explore the world of garments, fabrics , trends ,style . From day to day turtle necks and jeans to bespoke couture, the course gave an insight to everything. Thank you mentors and team of course era for giving me the opportunity to gain knowledge and grow .

By Mabel I M R d l V

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent reflection. It is a great experience to explore how meanings, procedures, materials and styles have changed during generations. A trip through 100 different garments to explore their evolution. It is great to understand how people express their believes and traditions through clothes, and how important it is to stop mass consumption and develop conciousness to take care of the enviroment.

By Rakhi S

Jun 28, 2020

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

It's a great course not only for fashion lovers, but anybody interested in history, design, activism or sustainability. I subscribed just for fun, but got so much new knowledge and inspiration

By Diego F

Sep 10, 2022

This course is awesome! It's a great way to start learning about fashion and fashion design. Very good quality materials. Learn about arts, fashion design, expression, identity, artists, designers, art history, how clothes are made, fast fashion, fashion brands, the key clothes to understand the fashion world, how clothes change the world, consumption, cost. Absolutelly amazing!

By Anna M

May 8, 2020

The course has a good selection of Fashion Items from the exhibition that are either iconic or known otherwise. The material covers a wide range of items, some in more detail, others just touched and provides external additional reading resources. What was important for me - the course also touches the aspect of required mindset change for circular fashion.

By Chen L

Nov 20, 2018

This course is very informative and educational. It exposed me to the histories of different iconic fashion garments, as well as the reality of the fashion industry. It made me think hard on what kind of life style I would like to lead in the future concerning my fashion choices and reflect on what kind of impacts my actions so far have already imposed.

By Helena K

Jan 7, 2019

This course is just excellent! I already knew that MoMa has a great archive and produces greatly curated work but the way this course is put together is fascinatingly interesting not only for fashion and design lovers like myself but also for people interested in learning about contemporary culture and modern history. Definitely a 5 star worth course!

By Maria A

May 16, 2020

Wonderful course, very complete with respect to the mentioned garments, it is very nice to take the time to interview designers and to be able to understand their point of view, which inspired them, their methods, it is fascinating. I highly recommend it if you want to learn a little more about the origins, changes and where a garment could go.

By Alexandra D

May 29, 2020

I have to say the course was very enlightening and inspiring. MoMA is offering a great opportunity for anyone that is interested in learning more about fashion, what clothes stand for, how they are used, what they are meant for, how they are worn, how they are made and what is their impact in the world. For me it is worth the time and effort!

By Гребнева А С

May 28, 2020

Thank you to the teachers and staff who participated in the preparation of the program of this course for such an interesting and entertaining selection of topics. I did not miss a single minute while I was taking the course "Fashion and design". It was great! And I am happy that I have expanded my horizons and gained new knowledge.

By Nivetha S

May 29, 2020

Hi..I am always wanted to new things. In this course l have learnt about what we are wearing and why we wearing it and what it means and it changed my view about many things. I really like this course. Coursera content about fashoin as design course is exceed my expectations. Actually this course is really reflect on my wardrobe.

By Vagisha A

May 23, 2020

Even if you are not related to the fashion industry , this course is excellent as it dwells to the history and the timeline of items that we daily were like hoodie, sneakers, little black dress etc along with providing an insight into new technologies like the 3D dress.

It is such a fun course that you wouldn't want it to end .

By Laura.G

Aug 28, 2020

Truly a creative insight into iconic fashion statements and clothing necessities. I particularly enjoyed the themes which dealt with sustainability and the frank discussions around the impact of fast fashion and consumerism on the environment and the people employed in these apparel factories working under unfair conditions.

By ERIKA C R

Oct 27, 2019

More than the theme of "Fashion" or "Haute Couture", I think the important thing is the socialism behind the story, behind the designers, the influence through the garments in our society; which is the important point of view to understand our natural psychology ... this course exceeded my expectations. Thanks to MoMa.

By Marina P

Jul 14, 2022

One of the most amazing courses I've ever got. So many eye-openers and discoveries for me. My approach to fashion and to clothes in general has become wiser, more profound and thoughful. I was so excited to find out new things about the garments I thought I knew about! Thank you a hundred times, this is awesome.

By Aditya M

Aug 16, 2020

Very Informative and a diverse course

It became a bit boring towards the end as i had my online school assignments and later it became a challenge to complete

but it was good.

My advice " Do not Procrastinate, finish the course in time".

Thank You, Paola Antonelli and Bruce (Coursera customer service, email help).

By Alba R M G

Dec 22, 2017

I loved the course, it is an incredible experience, I learned to observe the rpa and the accessories from other perspectives, analyzing their history and the reason for their creation.

I also learned a lot in relation to sustainable productions, to think more about the future and the environment.

Thank you.

By Elizabeth M

Jun 13, 2020

Excellent course. I have learned a lot and would to enrol for another one like this from MoMo or any other institution. the tutors gave us a lot of information and our knowledge of fashion and the fashion and design worlds has increased enormously. the readings were also excellent. Super course

By Lillian S

Feb 10, 2018

Thank for the opportunity to participate in this course, it was well developed and organized. I learned so much about the history of specific clothing items and have become more conscious about the apparel process. I hope to see more classes with this team in the future!

Sincerely,

Lillian Sharpley

By Andrea S G

May 3, 2018

Me encantó el curso, el material informativo es de primer nivel. Estoy muy contenta con todo lo realizado estas semanas!!! Felicito a Coursera y al MoMA el haber incluido este curso que no sólo habla de Fashion sino de historia y conciencia a la hora de elegir una prenda de vestir. Maravilloso.

By Andrea D

Nov 2, 2017

Incredibly fascinating, I really feel as though I learned a lot about the fashion industry, and about myself as well. I thoroughly enjoyed my course, and I think a lot of what I learned here will continue to influence and my consumption of clothes, as well as how I perceive fashion in general.

By Yazmeen S

Jan 31, 2022

What a wonderfully laid out and informational course. The experts had so much information to share and the material was very accessible. I have told several people about how much I enjoyed this course. I would love to see more courses like this or more courses from the MoMA on coursera.

By Payton N

Apr 15, 2021

It was super interesting and it was a really fun course to complete. The only thing that I did not love was that the quizzes did have some information that was not covered in the course. Overall as someone who wants to go into fashion design, this course was really helpful. Thanks, MoMA!