Chevron Left
Back to Federal Taxation I: Individuals, Employees, and Sole Proprietors

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Federal Taxation I: Individuals, Employees, and Sole Proprietors by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.9
stars
625 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first course in a five-course US Federal Tax Specialization. It covers and focuses on the U.S. federal tax system as it relates to individuals, employees, and sole proprietors. Key concepts covered include gross income and items that are statutorily included or excluded in it, personal and business expenses that qualify as tax deductions, and the differing tax treatments for employees versus self-employed taxpayers. Unlike many other introductory courses in tax and as part of this course’s comprehensive wrap-up, learners will be provided with practical and tangible experience reporting both income and expenses on the main individual tax return used in the US, Form 1040. If you have enjoyed this course, consider enrolling in our online graduate Accounting program. The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, consistently ranked as one of the nation's top three accounting programs, now offers a master’s in accounting at a very affordable tuition rate and is completely online. The iMSA is a full Master of Accountancy program and students graduate with an MS that is highly recognized. Try an open course or two, then apply for admission into the credit-bearing version as you may be eligible to take credit-bearing courses during the application process. If you are missing any prerequisites for the full degree, you can complete Coursera courses to demonstrate readiness and strengthen your application for the iMSA. For more information on this exciting iMSA online program, refer to this link: https://www.coursera.org/degrees/imsa ...

Top reviews

TR

Apr 12, 2020

This was a great introduction into Federal Taxation. It gave excellent examples of all of the components that go into a 1040 tax prep. I loved the course and I feel the professors did an amazing job.

SM

Feb 15, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. The presenters were very thorough and detailed. the examples given were very simple and understandable.

i look forward to continuing on this Taxation journey

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 164 Reviews for Federal Taxation I: Individuals, Employees, and Sole Proprietors

By Richard F M G

Sep 6, 2018

Completed on September 5, 2018 - excellent introduction course that can lead to a Coursera Certificate titled "U.S. Federal Taxation Specialization" sponsored by the University of Illinois.

By ARVIND S

Oct 3, 2018

Thanks a lot. It was one of the the best courses I have done to date, and I have completed quite a few. The crisp lectures were very informative and have really contributed enormously to my understanding of the subject. An excellent and "must experience" course.

By Sherilee A

Mar 9, 2021

My friend who did the H&R Block training (a few years ago) said this training far surpassed hers.

BTW, thanks to this course I am now working as an assistant tax preparer! Started 02/01/2021 ☺️

Some info to be aware of: there's a lot of due diligence to be done for child credits and HOH filing status.

By TOMMIE R

Apr 12, 2020

This was a great introduction into Federal Taxation. It gave excellent examples of all of the components that go into a 1040 tax prep. I loved the course and I feel the professors did an amazing job.

By Sherillia M

Feb 15, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. The presenters were very thorough and detailed. the examples given were very simple and understandable.

i look forward to continuing on this Taxation journey

By Leonardo J R A

Jan 21, 2022

I highly recommend this course to everyone to learn and file their personal taxes. Very professional instructors and university platform. Content is very professional and easy to follow.

By Paulina U

Dec 4, 2019

One of the most complete well explaining and practice course that I ever take, I know I expand my knowledge in a very good way I can wait to start the rest of the specialization.

By Evens D

Oct 28, 2019

This course was very practical and effective. I enjoyed the lectures and quizzes. It was effective in helping me to get current on my taxes.

Thank you

By Marva K

Dec 6, 2020

The content was excellent. The way the material was presented was easy to grasp and understand. The professors did a great job of explaining the material.

The final asked us to complete a 2018 1040 but some of the forms and schedules were dated 2017 and the line numbers were not the same.

My questions in the content forum to address these issues were not answered in a timely manner and the information needed to complete the course was not provided in a timely manner, which led me to have to reset my end date. I was recently contacted with a question about whether I was going to finish the course and asked to fill out a survey.

I was frankly disappointed in the unprofessional manner in which I was treated. I believe my computer might have been hacked because I was unable to access the 1040 that I started.

I am willing to continue to take the rest of the Taxation courses as long as the materials needed are provided and I get follow up and answers to any question I might have.

Marva King-Smith

PS

This was definitely NOT a fun learning experience. All I learned is how easy it is for information to be manipulated in this online environment and fed to students for a fee. The information provided is inaccurate. I would NOT recommend this program to anyone. Thank you Geis Business School for your time and wasting mine.

By Mehmed S

Aug 17, 2019

Instructors s are not helpful in answering queries as well as content does not include many answers to assignments.

By Karen S D

May 17, 2022

Uses old information

By Aeshwar D

Apr 28, 2018

It is no secret that the USA tax code is dreaded and hated by many. Try studying it on your own and you will understand why. However, professor Lisowky has someone managed to take an incredibly difficult subject and presented it in an easy to understand form. He ensured that the core was preserved and understood, and he used clear examples to illustrate difficult points. My initial thoughts were that this was going to be a dry and dull subject - trying to learn a bunch of rules, their exceptions and exceptions to exceptions. Professor Lisowky proved me wrong. He brought the subject to life and I had a pleasurable learning experience. Thank you professor and Coursera!

By Danny R

Nov 28, 2020

Easy to follow along, the professors do a great job at explaining the material and providing a simple real world type example which enhances the learning experience. It is a great course to understand how to prepare a simple to moderately complex individual tax return using the 1040 form.

By Md. S

Aug 1, 2020

I am very happy and exited that i complete the course of Federal Taxation I: Individuals, Employees, and Sole Proprietors , I want to complete rest of the course of US FEDERAL TAXATION.

By Guilherme C

Nov 6, 2019

Very easy and fluid course. The step by step is clear.

Perhaps just improving the feedback when you get a wrong answer in the quizzes it would be helpful.

By Randy M

Feb 9, 2023

Excellent course. The quizzes and the comprehensive tests reflect the video learning sessions.

By Deleted A

Nov 30, 2022

Wonderful refresher course after years away from Accounting degree. Thank you

By Ainur Z

Nov 16, 2020

Great course

By Wes H

May 4, 2020

Too basic. We need a taxation instruction that goes beyond the basics found in the tax form instructions.

By xiaoyan y

Apr 13, 2018

first, this is a very useful course, i think everyone should learn it because one would feel convenient for one's life, even though one does't file their own tax return.

secondly, this is a well designed course by professor Lisowsky, very thoughtful, and easy to follow. a assignment after every class consolidates what you've learned from professor.

i've felt huge different after complete this course leaning process.

i think everyone should learn it. it won't take a lot of time.

By Charles P

Sep 23, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The material, which one might think of as dry, was presented in an interesting and engaging way. The instructors are likable, and I would have liked to have them as professors when I was in college. The slides--those for the modules, and the hint slide--were very helpful when I was doing the final project. I also very much appreciated the In-Focus publications from the Congressional Research Service, which added depth to the concepts.

By Nikhil V

Dec 30, 2019

This course is designed for the beginner who is seeking to understand the taxation for individuals, employees and sole proprietors thoroughly. The course is wonderfully explained by Matthew Hutchens and Pete Lisowsk. Those who are seeking career in taxation of USA, this course is must. Many good references are also added for further reading which makes the course more lucrative. Overall great experience from Illinois and Coursera.

By Veronica C

Oct 12, 2021

I enjoyed the course. It was a thorough examination of tax law, complete with up-to-date information for tax years up to 2025. The course challenged everything I presumed I knew about "taxes". I am glad I persevered, and suggest anyone who takes the course be vigilant and review the quiz questions. This will help retain the more complex and abstract concepts, as well as calculations. Most of all enjoy the experience!

By Ramses M

Apr 24, 2022

As an international tax manager, I found the Course Federal Taxation I: for Individuals, Employees and Sole Proprietors to be very useful. Having personally experienced this course for the past eight weeks, I am able to recommend it. Now I am familiar with the US tax system for individuals and employees. The course includes a lot of material to update the recent changes and amendments from the IRS.

Mr. Ramses Medina

By Aleksei K

Aug 29, 2020

The course is quite impressive! For me, as a tax preparer, it was a great experience. On the one hand, it was an excellent wrap-up and knowledge systematization. On the other hand, I discovered a few tax concepts and some other aspects of different topics. Many thanks for such a great course and additional work made to cover the recent changes in taxes! Will surely join the Part II.