Chevron Left
Back to The Language and Tools of Financial Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Language and Tools of Financial Analysis by The University of Melbourne

4.7
stars
1,226 ratings
226 reviews

About the Course

In this course, participants will learn the foundations of accounting principles and financial analysis, develop an understanding of the links between these, and the measurement of value creation at the firm level. This is the first course in a four-course Specialization on the Essentials of Corporate Financial Analysis and Decision-Making, created in partnership between the University of Melbourne and Bank of New York Mellon (BNY Mellon). View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/jeoa83t...

Top reviews

JR
May 18, 2020

Really insightful instruction on the basics of accounting and finance! I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to begin learning about financial analysis. No prior experience is needed.

GK
Jun 17, 2021

The insctructor performs excellent presentations. I am also very satisfied with the course resources. The topics gave me a good overview on the basics. Highly recommended for beginners.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 221 Reviews for The Language and Tools of Financial Analysis

By sutan a m

Jun 20, 2019

A great course, but I think you should pre-study the materials to confirm the material here. It's just the gist and from my assessment quite incomplete, or suitable if you're quite learned previously. Again, this is the essentials of corporate finance!

By Klaus B

Jan 22, 2016

A good introduction to some of the basics. The presentation was generally okay; the course materials could have been organised a little better. Requires no previous accounting knowledge (though that helps) and only very basic math.

By Prajjwal S

Aug 21, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, faced trouble in the last examination contributing 10%. this course explained all the insights of company financials I gained a lot of knowledge through this course. thank you, Coursera

By Laura B

Aug 22, 2017

It is a very interesting course for anyone who wants to learn the foundations of accounting principles and financial analysis. The course is well structured and well taught by the Prof Paul Kofman.

By Nagy R

Oct 24, 2016

Great course! It was insightful yet everything was polished and on point. The knowledge and the "tools" are really useful, for someone who is a beginner and interested in Financial Analysis!

By Yongxuan L

Feb 7, 2016

For those who have already had majored in accounting, it may seem too easy. It may be considered as a course for review some basic accounting concepts.

By Shakir I

Mar 4, 2016

excellent course especially for me as being an accountant i am learning and understanding how the numbers are used to analyze and compare

By Santiago R R

Nov 13, 2020

The first two weeks were amazing. I thought week 3 could use a bit more content and interesting material. Week 4 was just okay.

By Jason M C

Dec 15, 2015

Solid class, good overview and a useful final project. Very informative for learning financial analysis.

By Francesca S V

Mar 1, 2016

I quite enjoyed this course. It gave a good background on the necessary basics for financial analysis.

By Почкайлов М В

Aug 2, 2016

A nice introduction to accounting, giving understanding of basics. Thanks a lot to mister Koffman!

By Antoine C

Jan 21, 2016

Great quality, learning, applications. Enathe language and tools expected after course completion.

By Albert t B

Oct 31, 2020

A good introduction with alot or practical task, the speaker could show a bit more enthusiasm

By sanket P

Jan 16, 2017

The course was easy to understand. The example given were accurate to explain the concepts.

By Andrea

Sep 12, 2016

Really good course, great professor, good examples, good information and very useful

By YOGESHWARI T (

Nov 9, 2020

Such an amazing course helped to learn a lot.....time worth it thank yu

By Breno J

Mar 1, 2016

Basic introduction course.

But it is interesting and well developed.

By Ernesto P C

Aug 1, 2019

Need more examples in order to understand how to calculate ratios.

By Deleted A

Mar 22, 2018

Very well presented, easy to follow, terms reasonably explained

By Jairo P C

Feb 8, 2016

Great introductory course to understand financial statements

By Rafik M S

Jun 7, 2016

The Course is very well structured and easy to grasp.

By Muhammad A N

Oct 3, 2019

Great course for learning about financial analysis

By SHAMEER V P

Jul 13, 2020

Learn and refresh knowledge in financial analysis

By Liang H

May 24, 2017

very good course design and friendly for learners

By Dennis H

Jan 20, 2017

Could go into more detail and be harder.