Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
22,846 ratings
6,723 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CN
May 13, 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

PE
Oct 18, 2021

This course taught me a lot about the components of food! Processed and non-processed food which was the best food of all. I will be happy to spread this healthy dietary ways to my family and friends!

Filter by:

6626 - 6650 of 6,732 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Jenny B

Feb 1, 2016

Really very basic, anyone with an interest in the subject is likely to know most of this already. nicely presented though, good quality videos.

By Lia C

May 10, 2020

Though this course was informative, I was hoping it would focus more on the biology and chemistry of foods, why they would be beneficial etc.

By Laura E

Jun 26, 2016

This is ok if you know absolutely nothing about nutrition. Otherwise, it's basically information I'd expect to be relayed to kindergarteners.

By Romario V Q

Aug 3, 2021

Solo te dicen recetas y muy poca información sobre la alimentación en general,

Va mas encaminado para gente que tiene sobrepeso y desea bajar

By Yang G

Mar 30, 2020

general and shallow, not very informative, could be inspirational for those haven't cooked in a long time. recipe are at the end of course.

By Nadezhda

Mar 29, 2018

Этакое руководство для будущего первокурсника, который собирается покинуть родительский дом и хочет правильно организовать свое питание.

By barbara c

Apr 26, 2018

I think this course is too basic. I had expected to learn more in-depth about nutrition. It feels more like cooking for dummies.

By Andrés d J

Apr 13, 2020

I'm a little disappointed about this couse of Stanford. The content is very basic and I it could have been done in only 1 hour.

By jpesnichak

Jan 13, 2020

It was mostly common sense after week 2 with very little in the way of facts that would be considered educational.

By pooja b

Jan 15, 2022

rather than teaching how to cook, the teaching should be about the nutritional value of a particular food item.

By Christiaan

Aug 9, 2021

Started off promising, then took a dive. A deep dive into the sea of useless information and irrelevance.

By Grigorieva N

Apr 27, 2021

Курс очень поверхностный. Не ожидала такого от Оксфорда... Хотелось бы более углубленного изучения темы.

By Álvaro L M G

May 24, 2020

There are other "introduction" courses here in Coursers very much completed and better than this.

By Vanya D

Aug 2, 2019

Very high level, basic information. Probably useful to someone that has no idea about nutrition.

By Yashasvi g

Sep 11, 2019

I knew almost everything this course taught. Was expecting to get more detailed information.

By Veronica S C

Nov 19, 2019

Demasiado fácil, ojalá pongan uno con mayor dificultad y metiendo materias más interesantes

By rebecca f

Mar 21, 2021

I was expecting a little more focus on the chemicals and the nutrients that we use to cook

By Sebastian S

May 12, 2018

Vegan propaganda and encourage you to eat shitty foods such as pasta. Can't believe it.

By Haolah M

Sep 2, 2020

The course was good, but I'm unable to get a coursera certificate like other courses.

By El b

Dec 29, 2021

Pretty much a waste of time, but it is a quick summary of mostly very obvious stuff.

By Noa A

Jun 12, 2020

it's a nice introduction, but doesn't give you much more than basic information

By Timo S

Jun 5, 2019

Too Basic for me. No deeper Informations and a little bit too american focused.

By Linda W

Feb 13, 2016

Too simplistic if you already have some knowledge about a healthy lifestyle

By Gonzalo G

May 3, 2020

Muy básico, y si viste la serie Cooked de Netflix ya sabés todo.

By kyle H

May 6, 2020

Good info but little to no content and I did not learn anything