Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
22,889 ratings
6,730 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

NP
Aug 22, 2021

Very informative! Thanks for having this course free so that more people who are starting to learn about eating properply (like me) will be able to get access to authentic and legit lessons on food ;)

PE
Oct 18, 2021

This course taught me a lot about the components of food! Processed and non-processed food which was the best food of all. I will be happy to spread this healthy dietary ways to my family and friends!

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 6,744 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Maria J

Oct 25, 2020

Hello, thank you for the opportunity to study, in this course I learned how great is the influence of corporations on the food industry, and how serious is the topic of healthy food. The most difficult thing for people nowadays is to control the quality and quantity of food.

By Hugo J A F

Oct 13, 2016

Great experience! This course is really well structured. It have short but very objective lessons with really good take home messages. Easy to understand, and no time consuming. Congratulations to the organizers, specially to Maya Adams. I recommend this course to every one.

By Patricia S A

Apr 8, 2016

I really like this course. For me, it was a good introduction to know how to eat properly and how I should combine my food. The way Maya teach is clear and close, and you can understand and assimilate easily the concepts. Also, the videos of the last lesson are very helpful.

By Aniket H

May 8, 2021

It's a good course for an average person who is just a beginner into getting his/her health corrected just by altering the way and type of food consumed. The details are just enough to get going and getting yourself closer to a better diet based disease free healthy living.

By Alyssa M

Jan 24, 2021

I've learned so much about the different types of fats, sugar content, and even how to properly shop the grocery store. I will be applying these useful tips going forward to provide a healthier lifestyle for myself as well as my family. Thank you for all of the information!

By Gilleon C

Oct 27, 2020

It's my first course with Coursera "Stanford Introduction to Food and Health" and I must say it was very detailed, informative and quite an awesome course to complete.

I will definitely recommend this program to anyone who is interested in learning more.

I thank you kindly.

By Diann E

Apr 19, 2020

Already made positive changes to what I eat as a result of this course. The interviews with Michael Pollen were great. The whole course served as a great reminder about getting back to the basics and with social distancing during COVID-19 it’s a perfect time to eat at home!

By Deleted A

Feb 16, 2017

Excellent course! It is a very useful and helpful course. i learned a lot of new thinks of food we consume every day. And get a new way to look at your food, to love it not fight it. As a med student i want to thank you for your efforts to help us eat healthy and be healthy

By Sara M

Aug 19, 2016

I think that course is so useful ,, it helps me understand more about food ..the most thing i like about it is the great videos form as it gives me info in an interesting way avoid learners to get bored and frustrated with the info ,, it goes easy and smoothly so 5 rated ..

By Kalpagam

Feb 8, 2016

This course has helped to connect in a very persuasive and positive way to basics of food and health. It gives a deep yet simple approach to food and the art of eating, living and enjoying life. Kudos to Maya and her team!

Looking forward to more such courses in the future!

By Minerva N

Mar 11, 2017

Very helpful and informative course. Enjoyed the interviews with Michael Pollan. He always has something useful to say. I learned so much about nutrition, reading ingredient labels, shopping for groceries and living a healthy lifestyle. Enjoyed the recipes in the end too.

By Todor K

Sep 7, 2016

I really enjoy the course although I've only been through Week 1. The video lessons are interesting and full of useful information. They use a very easy to understand language so I can recommend the course to everyone who likes to improve their understanding on the topic.

By Arpita N

Jan 18, 2021

I liked the research based approach to food and nutrition. I am hoping this will help me build a better relationship with food. I have struggled with weight problems all my life. I do love to cook at home, but my challenge is I go to food when I am stressed out or bored.

By Devan

Nov 16, 2020

Please give me the Certificate I have Given The Exam and i am Passed in all quizes. I am a high school student so how can i pay the money and i have studied with my whole heart please give me the certificate please ,and my parents are not rich enough to give me the fund.

By Auke W

Jun 17, 2020

Covid19 was the perfect opportunity to expand on my skill set and have loved learning more about food and nutrition. It gave me a better understanding of the basics of food and health for my family. It even inspired me to further study a degree in Nutrition and Medicine.

By Samuel N

May 26, 2020

Thank you Coursera and Standford University for making the course informative, comprehensive and relevant. I now find myself in a better position to make informed decisions in regards to the choice of foods and the preparation of meals that are nutritious and enjoyable.

By VIGNESH S

Oct 22, 2020

Terrific course about what we eat in daily life and what we must to avoid. Some practical sessions are available. Best takeaway quote from the course is Cooking is not the job for women. Share things while making the meal and definitely after the meal too. Enjoy cooking

By Juan P S C

Oct 18, 2020

La información fue clara, especifica y completamente práctica. Soy psicólogo de la salud, me especializo en el área de prevención, por lo que este curso me servirá muchísimo en próximas experiencias profesionales. Muchas gracias a la persona que hizo posible este curso.

By Hina

Jul 4, 2020

It was great to understand the food values. This course was very helpful in understanding how to read labels? What to buy? How to proportionate the meal? What is the difference between fats, proteins and carbohydrates? Really, it is good to know what nutrition value is.

By Matilde N H

Jun 24, 2020

es un curso muy interesante, aprendí muchísimo y me encanto. llevando a cabo lo que nos enseña no es difícil llevar una dieta saludable.

muy recomendable para las personas que quieren cambiar a un estilo de vida que te dará muchos beneficios en el futuro.

gracias COURSERA

By Shonnah H

Jun 2, 2020

It's a very informative course that gives you a baseline to starting a healthier diet where you'll know how to further research. I'd say it's a great starting point, but if you've already done a handful of research, you'll probably know most of the stuff in this course.

By Amin H

Mar 9, 2020

For Italian Guys : Per chi fosse interessato ad imparare le basi per una dieta sana ed equilibrata, questo corso è l'ideale! In più può aiutare come me ad arricchire il proprio curriculum avendo più possibilità di ambire in ciò che si ha passione! Grazie per la lettura!

By Minh A P

Jun 18, 2017

This course provides me with reliable information about food and health. It is really informative and helpful. The professor is really passionate about the topic, which makes the subject much more interesting to study. I would strongly recommend this course to everyone.

By Carolina G

Nov 22, 2016

This is a great and really inspiring course on food, nutrients to improve your health. It really inspires you to take second look and how you feed yourself and others who matter to you. Most importantly it teaches you to respect food and to see the connection to the hum

By Dr. P D S

Nov 25, 2021

Dear Maya madam and Michael sir ,You both are best. everything is so much aptly taught. Learnt very important basic key factor about nutrition which is mandatory for knowledge about food. Thanks for giving me this opportunity and making me part of Stanford University.