Chevron Left
Back to The French Revolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The French Revolution by The University of Melbourne

4.8
316 ratings
78 reviews

About the Course

The French Revolution was one of the most important upheavals in world history. This course examines its origins, course and outcomes. This course is designed for you to work through successfully on your own. However you will not be alone on this journey. Use the resources included in the course and take part in the suggested learning activities to get the most out of your learning. To successfully complete this course, it is recommended that you devote at least six hours to every module over the six weeks of the course. In that time you should watch the video lectures, reflect and respond to in-video pause points, and complete the quizzes. As part of the required reading for this course, during each week of this course you will have free access to a chapter of Peter McPhee's textbook, The French Revolution, which is also available for purchase as an e-book. View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/gstw4vv...

Top reviews

AK

Aug 11, 2017

Well-structured course that explores the topic with depth and clarity, taught by a brilliant and engaging professor. Would recommend to anyone interested in the French and world history

JK

Mar 14, 2019

An amazingly organized series of lectures that had helped me to understand the French Revolution and inspire me to explore more information on this period of world history.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 74 Reviews for The French Revolution

By Tim H

Jan 04, 2019

This course is extremely well presented by Peter McPhee. I thought I knew a bit about the French Revolution but he presents the events in a completely new way and I learnt a lot more about the impact on real people in France. Peter's lecturing style is very engaging and comes across extremely well in the video. The course material is almost too comprehensive and I know I will be coming back to this course even after completion to continue working through the great resources provided. A must for all history buffs.

By Alex B

Aug 17, 2016

This was one of the best courses that I took at Coursera. The wide ranging knowledge of Professor McPhee is impressive. The course was well organized and well presented.

By Vicky

Mar 15, 2018

Just take this course! Professor McPhee is amazing! He explains really well what happened so that even if you have no prior knowledge on the topic you can participate. The course material is really interesting and the presentations are really well organized. I can't recommend it enough! You will have though to spend some time. I would say for those who have no more than 2-3 hours, that it will be a bad choice. But take this course as soon as you will find the time. It is worth it!

By Charles G

Mar 16, 2018

Wonderful course! I had already some knowledge of the French Revolution but I have learned so much more. It really helped me to understand the causes and consequences of the Revolution, the sequence of events and the links between them, etc. The multiple examples, illustrations, or anecdotes included by Professor McPhee facilitate our understanding and liven up the presentations. The online support was also much appreciated; I asked twice a question on the forum and Professor McPhee replied each time with a surprising rapidity. In brief, it was just great. I wish there had been more lectures or that Professor McPhee and his team would offer additional courses on this topic or on similar ones (e.g., Napoleonic era). Thanks a lot for this course!

By Frank F

Mar 30, 2017

Excellent ..I always knew ABOUT the French Revolution - i.e it happened- but I never understood the FULL consequences. Thank you, Professor McPhee..

By Toni C

Dec 15, 2018

Enjoyed the easy approach of the instructor and the insights into the effects of the Revolution

By Henry-Claude B

Jan 05, 2019

Very good, brilliant presentation.

French, nobody is perfect, and retired Ingineer, loving the history of my old coutry, I'have discovered a lot of onknow events about this era.

Obviously, Professor Mac Phee knows France "comme sa poche", and I even sent to a frend of mine the photo of the garden gate of Erceville, the village evocated in Video #2.2.

He is a direct descendant of Barthélémy Gabriel Roland de Chambaudouin d'Erceville, who seated in Parlement of Paris from 1749, and then will take the Chair between 1760 till his death by decapitition in 1794.

Of the whole property, presently only a farm remains, the other contructions were destroyed during the WW2.

By Thomas A

Jan 24, 2019

Easy to access, well documented and a pleasure to follow. Thanks :)

By Raphael N A

Apr 14, 2019

I really enjoyed professor McPhee's course and the amount of historical knowledge we are able to obtain from this course ! Clear, concise and interesting.

By Junah K

Mar 14, 2019

An amazingly organized series of lectures that had helped me to understand the French Revolution and inspire me to explore more information on this period of world history.

By Juan M P

Oct 17, 2018

Incredible course! McPhee is simply an amazing teacher, and his book is very thorough, concise and easy to read.

By Robert G

Oct 08, 2018

Excellent course, interesting content & well presented

By alejandro

Mar 24, 2017

A really great course which is a credit to distance learning, with lots of material and insights into Revolutionary France. I particularly like Professor McPhee's clear and engaging manner in delivering this course.

By Silvana B

Apr 19, 2016

The course is very well prepared and structured, the information provided is clear and concise, Prof. McPhee's teaching style is very adequate to the MOOC approach. Highly recommended!

By Parimal

Feb 27, 2017

This course is Great. The professor is excellent.

By Steven P

Aug 12, 2017

Love. It. I will be on the lookout for more courses by McPhee.

By Ilanka

Jan 31, 2018

Great course

By Anna V

Nov 25, 2016

Great course! The materials were very interesting, the delivery was just excellent. I learned a lot about French Revolution, it's causes, process and outcomes.

By Marius M

Jun 05, 2017

A very good course very pedagogic and summarizing so well this time of changes for the French history.

By Gy N

Jul 17, 2017

The content is easy-following and detail. It's is a very good fundamental course for those who want to have a basic idea on the French revolution.

By Emmanuel Q

Sep 20, 2017

marvellous. hope to find more courses made by peter

By kenneth j j

Mar 18, 2016

g

By David D

Jun 11, 2017

Engaging. It is clear that the professor has a passion for the subject which makes all the difference.

By Pablo

Jul 26, 2016

Great MOOC, very well explained and focuses on the most important things with tons of art and quotes from the day and historians

By Luan S F L

Mar 25, 2017

Muito bom, conteúdo abrangente, professor qualificado, método instigante. Aproveite!

Very good, wide ranging content, qualified professor, instigating method. Enjoy!