Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
6,239 ratings
1,500 reviews

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

GA

Aug 21, 2018

Very interesting, I liked the format. Easy to follow, nice excercises. It's actually good to cover the basics of design, even if you are not an absolute beginner, and especially if you are self taught

AR

Apr 18, 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,460 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By Debangana M

Mar 21, 2019

Really helpful course for a beginner

By Susan L

Mar 21, 2019

Really good intro to design. Easy to follow, videos were interesting and informative and the assignments were not too demanding.

By Rajesh H

Mar 24, 2019

Best course ever the briefs are awesome it gives ability to us to perform real graphic designing at the very beginning

By Matías A

Dec 04, 2018

Excellent course as an introduction to the graphic design world and it' s principle concepts.

By Mariya N P

Dec 04, 2018

K

By Autumn

Dec 24, 2018

Great course for complete beginners. Lots of hands on projects

By Nuria M F

Dec 08, 2018

It has been very pleasant and very useful. A fantastic base to continue learning

By Charles I W

Dec 09, 2018

Very proffesional

By Gillian S

Dec 10, 2018

brilliant

great to have a certificate and more knowledge in stuff i've been doing for years to promote my business ventures

THANK YOU

By Chia Y

Nov 28, 2018

Interesting concepts learnt and I look forward to taking more courses in this specialisation.

By Todd H

Dec 13, 2018

The lessons are easy to follow and packed creative knowledge and helpful tips not B.S!

By Aušrinė O

Dec 13, 2018

Easy understandable fundamentals of graphic design with practical tasks.

By Efren A

Dec 27, 2018

This is a GREAT course, as simple as that. It is exactly the perfect first step into the world of graphic design, which is at least what I needed. Thank you so much for putting together such a great help!!!

By Rafeeque P P

Mar 29, 2019

Beautiful experience. This course changed the way I looked at images.

Thank you so much Coursera. :)

By harshita r

Mar 31, 2019

The way of teaching is very creative and easily understandable.

By Samarpita P

Apr 01, 2019

Fantastic course. A BIIIIGGGG THANK YOU to the instructors and everyone who is involved in designing such a fantastic course. Just Loved it

By Swati R

Apr 02, 2019

It was a very nice course and the video lectures was so helpful and thanks coursera for approving my financial aid.

I loved this course.

By Haidar h

Apr 01, 2019

thanks very much

By Maja L

Apr 03, 2019

This course was extremely informative and it encompassed numerous information which will be useful in my further professional development.

By Natalia B

Apr 04, 2019

Excellent course!

By Marcela M

Apr 07, 2019

Really good introduction to most concepts in Graphic Design. The homework for each week is very useful and should not be skipped, even when optional!

By Alvaro M

Apr 07, 2019

For anyone who wishes to understand and develop the essential fundamentals of Graphic Design.

By Enrico J

Apr 08, 2019

It is a great course and I learned a lot!

By Beatriz A

Mar 28, 2019

I really like of this course, because I'm not from the Area of Design or take classes about it, but it is something that I always enjoy to work (most, in school works).

I learned, in general, the basics about the Design (terms, practical exercises),which gives me other perspective of my previous knowledge and confirms that this is something that will continue to work as a hobby or, perhaps, something more professional at the future.

Congratulations, Professor Michael Worthington :)

By Chrisha M

Feb 18, 2019

Absolutely helpful when you're a beginner. It explains as well as put examples so it's easier to understand, especially in visual art, I think that's needed