Chevron Left
Back to Character Design for Video Games

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Character Design for Video Games by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
759 ratings
202 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will explore concepts and approaches involved in creating successful character designs that can be applied to video games. Following a first week delving into some foundational concepts for successful character design, each of the remaining three weeks are structured as a master class where you will observe three professional character designers at work in the studio: Andy Ristaino (Adventure Time), Jacky Ke Jiang (Journey), and Robertryan Cory (SpongeBob SquarePants). Each designer will take on two different design challenges on the fly and address the various issues in designing characters for games, such as movement, expression, and technical limitations. At the end of each week you will have an opportunity to try out some of the concepts from that week's lesson on characters of your own design. This is a fun and engaging class especially useful for students interested in animation in film and TV as well as games, and is suitable for students of any drawing ability....

Top reviews

JM
Dec 21, 2016

As I said earlier, I recommend this course for everyone; doctors included (:\n\nI like how this course was treated in a different way. We see people doing the job on there ground, that's interesting.

AM
Nov 5, 2017

Fun and challenging to me. Is not easy to me to create new characters, but with this practice and professional examples, I feel more confident to just do and see what happens. Thank you, very much.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 195 Reviews for Character Design for Video Games

By Sarah F

Feb 3, 2016

soooo much fun!!!

By Marie J A

Apr 3, 2016

Excellent. Excit

By Alex Z

Jan 18, 2016

Amazing course!

By Emil E

Feb 13, 2018

The best dude.

By Felipe S L

Feb 2, 2016

Enjoyed a lot!

By Zetan L

May 25, 2017

Great course!

By Tajarae A G

May 1, 2017

It was fun :)

By 都瑞琳

Oct 26, 2017

good to go!!

By Lucky

Apr 17, 2016

really good

By Rodrigo R

Jan 24, 2016

Compelling

By Samaa M S

Apr 10, 2016

Thank you

By Klemen Š

Dec 28, 2015

great !!!

By Sarah D

Feb 12, 2019

Helpful!

By nilce w b

Jun 1, 2017

Love it!

By Aranza M

Nov 10, 2016

loved it

By Andre B

Oct 17, 2016

loved it

By David O M

May 24, 2016

Awesome!

By Daniela M

Jan 18, 2016

Awesome!

By Satya S N

Jul 29, 2017

Awesome

By Tyraell H

Mar 9, 2017

awesome

By Stephen W

Oct 21, 2017

Great

By Tatiana M

Jul 23, 2020

I enjoyed the course and can see progress in my character design skills.

Pros: you observe the working process of famous artists; you participate in creative challenges; you get the main theoretical anchors that are needed for character creation.

Cons: fellow students check each others assignments. For many it seems hard to criticise because they lack knowledge and experience, not everyone is able to be a good mentor. Some just neglect their responsibility to give a thorough review.

I was happy to learn a lot of new things, I ended up with good pieces for my future portfolio.

Big thanks to all teachers, moderators, filming team, guest artists and fellow student for this experience!

By Streltsova M

Oct 1, 2016

A very interesting experience. I got imagination level-up. Though it was really difficult to understand what should you do in each assignment. I've spent quite a while time to realize what to do each time. And some students did their homework completely wrong. But except of that it's a great course.

By Cleo T

May 16, 2020

The course content is easy to follow, and is very insightful as you learn about the different artists' creative processes. The assignment grading system, however, needs to be improved so that it's easier to submit peer reviews, and to make sure that feedback received is constructive and useful.

By Sophie H

Dec 31, 2016

I enjoyed this course because I learned about the more practical aspects of character design. The assignments were based of the same theory but didn't feel repetitive. The only thing I found was that the grading was veryyyyy easy.

So: A bit underwhelming but fun and interesting.