Chevron Left
Back to Using Git for Distributed Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Git for Distributed Development by The Linux Foundation

4.6
stars
527 ratings

About the Course

Course 4 focuses on using git for open source software distributed development. Git is a revision control system which arose out of the Linux kernel development community. Git was designed to help developers spread across the globe working on complicated projects coordinate their work in a rational way and keep track of everything they were doing. Overtime, Git has grown to be used by millions of projects today. This course gives you the opportunity to learn how to use git efficiently and make contributions in a relatively short amount of time. It will cover: How to install git How to initialize a repository How to make changes in a repository How to make changes in repositories available to others How to acquire changes made by other individuals How to find errors in your work and go back to earlier states of yoru projects How to make commits, diffs, merges, rebases. The course will help you get the skills to have a good understanding on how to use git. You will have a good knowledge about git workflows, identifying problems in your workflows, and finding solutions to solve these problems....

Top reviews

DB

Dec 26, 2020

thank you very much teacher. this course has been beneficial for me. I would like to continue the specialization but being a student I have financial difficulties. thank you professor.

TP

Apr 19, 2020

Best to course to learn the basics of git and a good platform to learn how to become a power user of git.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 103 Reviews for Using Git for Distributed Development

By Just D i

Apr 21, 2021

s

By Sridhar E

Jun 6, 2020

.

By Megan H

Mar 10, 2022

This specialization is a very thorough introduction to Open Source Software, Linux development, and Git. It has a lot of good videos and articles to refer to, however, there are not a lot of practical labs that apply these skills to development. I would rate this specialization a 7/10 because the information is really good but the practicality of it could be improved. I am very glad I took this specialization though.

By Pirmin H

Oct 9, 2020

In the beginning there are questions that only can be answered if you have been working on the upcoming material. I'm not sure if the patches per mail part is really that important. I worked with git before but have never heard of that approach.

Anyway I learned something in this course and I'm confident that I will use git more professional in the future.

By Cesar C

Dec 28, 2018

Nice training!. It provides the fundamental concepts for developing with git. Maybe I missed some mentions (or even labs), which popular systems using git, such as github or even gitlab, where simple collaboration workflows may be illustrated easily.

By André L C

Apr 14, 2021

O conteúdo em si do curso é bom. No entanto precisam melhorar as legendas do vídeo e traduções dos conteúdos de leitura para o português BR. Há muitos erros de tradução e traduções de expressões que não precisam ser realizadas.

By DAVID S G

May 20, 2020

A good, gentle yet technical, introduction to Git. It would have been better for me if it had assumed no familiarity with version control systems, but even so I managed well.

By LOK A A S

Dec 24, 2020

Wonderful course!!! It provides the fundamental concepts for developing with Git and also Gerrit.

I got a clear idea of git used for development purpose for software.

By Raimon R

Aug 11, 2019

Missed maybe some practical examples to follow-up during the course. With a dummy repository just for the course so students can play with it.

By Alexander B

Dec 7, 2020

Nice! Covered much more than I will probably need, but still well made and interesting.

By Deshdeepak

Sep 1, 2020

Good. But more practical training would have been more interactive, and less boring.

By Aniruddha N J

Jul 1, 2020

Includes all basic must-know topics. But could elaborate more on important topics

By swetha y

Oct 27, 2022

good one.go for it .u will get answers in github alsofor verification

By Juan D l m

Oct 10, 2020

Un buen inicio para aprender el uso de versionado con git.

By Ankit K d

Jun 27, 2020

would be more helpful if we worked on project in git

By L L

Apr 29, 2020

Thank you for the lessons!

By Grzegorz L

Jun 7, 2022

- The speaker does not use a microphone close to his mouth, but rather speaks with room audio (hall effect). This makes him difficult to understand for people with hearing disabilities (like me)

- Some questions on the tests include obviously wrong answers, which make them to easy.

- In my opinion the course covers to much history like RVS or SVN, without going deep into the function princyples of the cours. If you really care how the old revision control systems work you should explain them more.

By Andrey K

Jun 8, 2022

Would not recommend as an introduction to GIT. For beginners, it would be great to have a course concentrating on concepts, object model. state diagrams of git objects. This course tends to represent the "zoo" of git commands. No single picture illustrating what happens "inside" when we execute this or that command. The most interesting pand new art to me was about Gerrit.

By Nehal C M D

Mar 15, 2020

Would have loved it if there were more videos showing examples, along with the reading materials provided.

By Tomas J

Nov 8, 2021

Lots of nice examples, but terrible text-only slides - missing more visual examples

By Adwait P

May 17, 2020

Only reading and very less being taught. The slides don't keep you interested.

By Jose A M A

Feb 23, 2020

maybe a project would be better. a simple txt files repo

By Jaime B

Jul 16, 2020

It lacks a lot of real practice exercises

By Takahide M

Aug 17, 2021

very difficult to understand.

By Akash S

Oct 1, 2020

Instructor voice is not clear