Chevron Left
Back to The Global Financial Crisis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Global Financial Crisis by Yale University

4.8
1,373 ratings
298 reviews

About the Course

Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner and Professor Andrew Metrick survey the causes, events, policy responses, and aftermath of the recent global financial crisis....

Top reviews

TS

Apr 09, 2017

Great course indeed. I was following the materials and videos of the crisis for a long time and this course perfectly summarized everthing back by data analysis. Highly recommended to all enthusiasts.

RA

Sep 01, 2018

This course was excellent. The short yet crisp lectures have given me a fair perspective of what came before, during and to an extent after the GFC. I feel I will greatly benefit from this knowledge.

Filter by:

276 - 290 of 290 Reviews for The Global Financial Crisis

By Eliza

Mar 09, 2016

I will be great if you provide learners with additional material worth to read.

By Philip N

Aug 28, 2016

A strong overview of the crisis that balances the depth and breadth of the material well.

Strengths:

Balance of narrative and data.

Logical sequencing gives a nice structure and a more digestible package.

Excellent level of detail, neither missing the forest for the trees nor ignoring the trees altogether.

Weaknesses:

Does not address alternative theories or interpretations of the crisis, even to shoot them down.

Several quizzes were poorly-constructed, featuring obvious typos or nonsensical statements.

Additional module to update the material (stale since mid-2015) was promised, but not delivered.

By Fernando Z

Jan 15, 2016

Excellent course. However, lots of unanswered questions of students are still pending.

By Kamya S

Dec 21, 2016

An extremely helpful and informative course, with very detailed and well-structured content.

By Christian T

Nov 05, 2016

Very good, well-paced course. It will help you grasp the complexity of the structural issues that triggered the Global Financial Crisis, which rocked the world. I would suggest you complement it by reading some of the many books that have been written about it, say, "Too Big to Fail" (Andrew Ross Sorkin), "The Big Short" (Michael Lewis) and, of course, "Stress Test" (Timothy Geithner).

By Tanishka D

Jul 20, 2019

the course starts to get a little boring after week 5. however, the knowledge gain is amazing and the content is pretty heplfull.

By Guilherme G

Jul 25, 2019

Too many tests, but very good content.

By R L R K

Oct 08, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed being part of this course. The information and insights provided through this course into the Global Financial Crisis, has been invaluable.

By Kostadin K

Mar 29, 2016

I didn't expected so clear explanations.

Well, my impression is that the instability still exists and this is in the circular dependencies that can exist in the new system. Once the mechanisms get fast enough the crisis may appear.

There is some parallel with computer systems. In the early days of the interconnected computers the problems were much similar. I hope I could write something until the end of the course.

I would like to have some more schematic explanation of the institutions and the flow of money and the other financial products. As well as some textbook references. It is a little bit complicated to the non-american to enter fluidly at least in the set of abbreviations.

By Pete H

Feb 17, 2016

Very informative and engaging course. Very good lecture presentations by two leading subject matter experts. About the only drawback was the lack of teaching assistance interaction on the course discussion forums and maybe even an occasional drop in by one of the instructors from time to time.

By Tor-Oskar K

Aug 31, 2017

Provides a good overview without going too much into the details

By Gonçalo O M d S

Dec 10, 2015

In short, I am somewhat disappointed with the course overall. Of course both speakers have amazing experiences and that is valuable in itself but I do believe the structure of the lectures is not envolving as it should be. It seems that the basic rationale is being 'fired' in a not so much 'educative fashion'. Still there is much to learn from these contents.

By Tom B

Jan 07, 2016

Some good information but very much a political course, not much of an economics course. Stating, as if it is a given, late in the course, that there are times when it is okay to introduce a moral hazard. Erroneously defining fiat money early in the course. Stating, again as if it were a given, that deficit spending is naturally the right answer to a crisis. When politicians and their pawns develop a course should we be surprised that the answer is always more government intervention? Oh, if only we had more tools to stop this, never realizing their role in creating the crisis.

By Lucas K M

Feb 03, 2016

There was no engagement between the course instructors and students at all. It felt like students were running the whole show and discussion forums.

By Jonathan G

Mar 14, 2018

interesting course. However it dosen't take 11 modules to explain it. This was BORING AS HELL! here is how you solve the financial crisis: First, only buy what you need. Second make your own jobs if you cannot find one. Find a skill you are good at and make that your job. Third, paper money is going to be worthless soon anyway so either use bartering or some other form of currency. This will probably happen pretty soon. If one currency collapses another form of currency takes its place.