Chevron Left
Back to Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities by Lund University

4.6
stars
1,930 ratings
649 reviews

About the Course

How can we shape our urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course explores sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. Sustainable urban transformation refers to structural transformation processes – multi-dimensional and radical change – that can effectively direct urban development towards ambitious sustainability and climate goals. We connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We examine visions, experiments and innovations in urban areas. And we look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). This course provides key examples of activities to promote sustainable cities in Scandinavia, Europe and around the world. We bring together a collection of diverse short films and key short readings on sustainable cities as well as interactive forums and a practical assignment to create an online learning community. This course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF Cities and ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability. It is available for free to everyone, everywhere!...

Top reviews

SV
Sep 28, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB
Mar 14, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filter by:

626 - 636 of 636 Reviews for Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

By Tulaci B

Sep 7, 2020

The idea is great, but the whole course just scratches the surface of the theme. I expect more of this topic however in all the parts there a lot of kinds of advertisements (from many partners) instead of real debate or even some kind of classes. The instructors talk about their expertise just in the first video of each model, without any profound discussion or examples of their work. The question part is terrible, they expect that you decorated numbers that show on the presentations or the two pdf that they ask to you downloaded. In brief, the whole course no makes sense, it seems better to watch the WWF channel instead of them. I think this course is just to make advertising from the group behind the course.

By Sharlene N

Mar 1, 2018

Little new information is presented. As a basic survey course, that would be find except for ---> The quiz questions are irrelevant. Nobody should memorize these useless facts designed to check if the videos were watched or reading completed. e.g. Does it matter what in order bicycle riders cite their reasons for choosing said mode of transport in Copenhagen?

By David N

Oct 31, 2019

Rather than an organized, professional course, this course is a collection of repurposed content from many uneven sources that gets repetitive, academic and fuzzy. Not worth wasting your time on a topic deserving of serious study.

By Zee K

Nov 9, 2019

Information was very high level, not very detailed. Quizzes were more about just memorizing statements that were opinions or frameworks or statements by specific people, rather than true facts.

By Maximilian H

Aug 17, 2020

Seems a bit like too much talk about irrelevant things. Let´s not beat around the bush

By Tiina R

Feb 25, 2020

I hope you had stated earlier that this was just a one, long ad for WWF.

By Oleksandr Z

Apr 18, 2020

Too much theory, I'd like more practical information

By daniel z

Jan 31, 2017

broad overview on

By Manchot P

Jun 4, 2016

Hi,

I'm sorry to say that this course wasn't really useful. I had the impression to see dozens of INTRODUCTION videos about sustainables cities. Because:

1. In 5 weeks you have time to cover in details all the aspects of sustainable cities: energy, transport, waste, building, sharing economy. The condition is to focus each week to a topic.

2. It is too much based on powerpoint presentation and not at all on example. Concepts stay concepts: we didn't visit one single town, a connected building, an innovative waste management system. You quote 300 living labs, let's go !

3. Pictures from the powerpoint are at least for half of them taken from pictures bank. Synthetic images, not concrete. Desapointing.

4.. Always the same example: Malmo, Copenhagen... What about the rest of the world ?

5. Videos from WWH and ICLEI are clearly revolting. Is it some publicity for them ??? This is not the place for that.

In contrast, congratulations to Yuliya Voytenko, for her speech about sharing economy: it was clear, precise, focused.

Please do your best to improve your courses: you have the knowledge, let's spread it.

By Steve P

Jan 30, 2017

Mostly fluff with little substance. The videos seemed loosely tied around a common subject, but it might as well have been a YouTube playlist on overall concepts of cities needing to be aware of climate change. The week 4 videos were the same as the week 1 with very vague statements about cities needing to experiment with sustainability to approach the challenges of the 21st century. Only the week 2 video on Copenhagen was actually educational beyond the most superficial concepts.

By Munévar F W N

Aug 18, 2020

The platform and the course may be very bad, but the platform fails a lot, they assign me very distant dates, I pay to study now, immediately, and I have to wait two months, they postpone me two months and the platform does not respond and Neither does the university, they blame each other and nobody answers, very bad investment, lack of seriousness, nobody answers, bad experience,