Chevron Left
Back to Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
2,653 ratings
544 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to design technologies that bring people joy, rather than frustration. You'll learn several techniques for rapidly prototyping (such as Wizard of Oz Prototyping) and evaluating multiple interface alternatives -- and why rapid prototyping and comparative evaluation are essential to excellent interaction design. You'll learn how to conduct fieldwork with people to help you get design ideas. How to make paper prototypes and low-fidelity mock-ups that are interactive -- and how to use these designs to get feedback from other stakeholders like your teammates, clients, and users. Armed with these design-thinking strategies, you’ll be able to do more creative human-centered design in any domain. This is the first course offered in the interaction design specialization series. Browse through previous capstone projects for some inspiration here: https://medium.com/capstone-projects/capstone-projects-2019-abc67d3f6f26...

Top reviews

SM

Apr 10, 2020

I just loved this lesson! Lots of things to explore. A lot of hands-on experience. I am very pleased with the amount of theory and study that I have.\n\nI wish to thank UC San Diego & Scott Klemmer

T

Feb 4, 2021

This course opened my eyes to the foundational basis of design as a problem solving tool primarily. Can't wait to apply all I have learned and make world class designs that make the world better!

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 529 Reviews for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

By Richard D

May 31, 2016

Some of the videos feel a little outdated but otherwise high quality.

By Ansh G

Aug 28, 2018

Great course, insightful, provides many real-world examples, etc.

By Darren G

May 16, 2016

This really helped me scope products before building them

By Amit A

Nov 13, 2015

Very helpful for understanding the basics of UX process.

By Padraic C

Sep 21, 2020

I found the course very insightful and well taught.

By Himani D

Aug 9, 2016

Some assignments could have been better explained

By Norma A D A

Jan 29, 2020

Really enriching. Love the practical excercies.

By Giuseppe R

Mar 7, 2016

Good material

maybe you can do more examples

By Joaquin A

Oct 5, 2016

Great starting point for software design.

By pradeep b

Dec 16, 2021

learn on the go videos are very helpful

By Benedikte H

Jun 16, 2018

I found it very useful and interesting.

By Jaclyn D

Feb 26, 2017

Needs better instruction on assignments

By Manny O

Aug 8, 2016

Good intro to the concepts of design.

By 황수정

Sep 15, 2020

It was very helpful for my career!

By Marnu F

Mar 21, 2016

Its good start of for this course.

By Dnyaneshwar P P

Jun 10, 2018

Course is quite well structured

By Virginia S R

Dec 20, 2016

Me resulta muy interesante! :)

By Vasiliev A

Mar 29, 2020

Это было полезно и интересно.

By Piotr J

Jul 24, 2016

very interesting

By Edwin M

Oct 17, 2016

Nice course!

By Jose

Feb 22, 2016

Very useful.

By Ashwin J

Apr 29, 2021

good course

By Katherine J

Dec 23, 2015

It's good!

By Ian A

Apr 23, 2016

Good intro - I'm learning a lot. But in the end I feel that this specialization is not focused enough on developing portfolio pieces. One portfolio piece at the end of an 8-month course does not seem adequate to me. So I wish we focused more on developing high fidelity work - in addition to the need-finding, user research, sketches, short weekly assignments. This high fidelity, digital work could even be optional, but I need some guidance on what work to develop and how the overall process should look.

Or even being allowed to enroll in the capstone before completing the first 7 sections would be helpful.

By annie a

Jun 29, 2020

It a refresher course for me. But materials need to be updated since the course was developed in 2015, there are so many softwares already that are inexpensive that allows you to do your prototypes. Likewise i am not a fan of peer grading as most of those i encountered are really taking this course seriously. Quizzes should also be improved as it leads to a lot of guess work when you do select all that applies . Anyway the basics are there . Videos are correctly phased as it is not too long to bore you out.