Chevron Left
Back to Instructional Methods in Health Professions Education

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Instructional Methods in Health Professions Education by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
301 ratings
89 reviews

About the Course

This course provides those involved in educating members of the health professions an asynchronous, interdisciplinary, and interactive way to obtain, expand, and improve their teaching skills. These skills can then be applied within their own professional context, with a variety of learners, extending across many stages. After completing this course, learners will: 1. Understand educational theory as it relates to health professions education 2. Match instructional methods with desired educational outcomes 3. Learn a variety of applied teaching techniques 4. Share successful teaching strategies Suggested resources will include educational videos, individual readings, recommended reference books, and crowd-sourced recommendations. All students should have dependable access to the internet with video streaming capabilities. Some students may want the ability to utilize on-line video conferencing as well....

Top reviews

SM
Nov 6, 2017

Quiz 03.02 is very vague in what answer is expected. Even after several tried I was unable to complete the quiz. Please look into the issue. Otherwise the course content and delivery is excellent

ME
Jun 3, 2018

Good overview of teaching concepts. New educators will take a lot away from this course if taken seriously. Nice review with some occasional insights for more experienced professors.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 88 Reviews for Instructional Methods in Health Professions Education

By Ukpabi N S

Apr 7, 2021

Very important course for those of us aspiring to go into teaching in the medical and health professions. The content is very rich with so much information and skills development assignments and quizzes. Though very tasking, one needs to fully concentrate in order to understand and follow the instructor. Much has been learned from the course on how to impart knowledge to new learners and old learners alike. I would recommend the course to all aspiring instructors in the health professions. Thank you University of Michigan and the instructor Prof. Stalburg, you know your subject very well

By feyisara w

Aug 27, 2020

Wow! I'm glad that I applied for this great course. Well, it was very tasky, but the lecturer did a wonderful job to make it interesting and attractive. The lecture videos were also perfect. Thank you Coursera, thank you University of Michigan for this amazing privilege. It's forever memorable.....

By Thuraya K

Jan 5, 2021

Very well-organized self-paced course with lots of information not only from the materials but also from the discussion boards and peer-assessment. The course encourages you to self-reflect and assess your current practice and reflect on how to improve.

By Kalpana C

Jul 9, 2020

Excellent course for some one who wants to be a best health professional educators .I loved the entire preswntations and quiz and discussions. Keep up your good work Coursera

By Seng G M A

Aug 23, 2019

This is a very useful and interesting course. I have enjoyed going through the study materials. It will be better if I can engage active discussion with the instructor.

By Juan P P R

Dec 15, 2020

Me pareció un gran curso introductorio al campo de la educación en las ciencias de la salud, muy acertado el contenido y la duración de las clases

By Dr V K R N D o P K

Sep 22, 2020

This course help me explore strategies to make didactic lectures more interesting .The modules on 'Reflections" was very informative .

By Nuno L

Nov 23, 2020

Very weel structured, extremelly intersting subject and very usefull to instructed students in the healh care professions setting

By Pablo G

Jul 11, 2020

Muy bien curso. Preciso! Apunta a lo que plantea desde un comienzo. Me gustó muhco y la profesora es muy clara y didáctica.

By Mbono S E E A

Sep 28, 2020

I have really enjoyed this course. The lecturer was great, and I learned a lot from these classes. Thank you.

By Dr M M

Dec 13, 2020

It really helped me add semantics to my current educational practices as well as added to my knowledge

By Edward O

Oct 25, 2016

Really enjoyed Dr Stalburg's lectures and pleasant speaking voice. Would recommend this course.

By Tamica D

Oct 5, 2020

Very good learning experience. Highly recommended to improve teaching strategies and delivery.

By Monika M

Feb 25, 2017

Its a great learning experience, thanks for conducting the program in such an efficient way.

By Harris C

Jun 30, 2021

just take the course, if you are really interested in being effective in your teaching

By Janice A O M

Jul 20, 2020

Great introduction to educational theory and more for teachers of healthcare students

By Dr. M H

May 4, 2021

This course was really excellent. Thank you very much. Regards, Dr. Moumita Hazra.

By Vishaal B

Jun 5, 2021

G​reat course - I highly recommend it for anyone involved with medical education!

By Ilana D

May 1, 2021

The course is very interesting. I learned a lot of nuances in training methods.

By cheryl k

Jun 15, 2020

instructor was amazing. She was engaging and incorporated stories into lecture.

By KNB

Nov 3, 2020

great course. would recommend to new faculty going into a academic position.

By Marybeth L W

Feb 16, 2021

Excellent instruction. Engaging lectures and reflections. Highly recommend!

By Dr S P

Jul 23, 2020

Every health professional involved in teaching must do this course

By Heizekiah G

Feb 3, 2020

It was an exceptional experience I had all throughout the program.

By Noreen D

Apr 27, 2020

Excellent course for those in continuing medical education!