Chevron Left
Back to Intellectual Humility: Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Intellectual Humility: Theory by The University of Edinburgh

4.5
stars
325 ratings
88 reviews

About the Course

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

Top reviews

GL
Jun 3, 2020

Intellectual Humility: Theory is an important course for any leader or person who wishes to increase their awareness in a changing world and to understand the importance of awareness and knowledge.

CT
Jun 30, 2020

This really motivated me to consciously practice intellectual humility. I would definetely recommend this course to whoever may want to open their mind and get a bigger picture of the world.

Filter by:

76 - 88 of 88 Reviews for Intellectual Humility: Theory

By Henrique d M

Jun 25, 2017

It is a great course. Looking forward to the next two modules.

By Amy J V A

Aug 6, 2017

first on-line course - enjoyed myself

By D S

Jan 31, 2018

Hmmm ... the concept was great, and it really is an important aspect of intellectual pursuits in an age of fake news and internet facts (both comments are sarcastic), there must be honest deliberation on such issues. But as a course, it seems lacking in the mature "punch" needed to convey the right concpets to the learner, gets lost sometimes in the mundane aspects. But overall, worth while, just not a spectacular course experience.

By David F

Dec 22, 2016

Some interesting ideas but not entirely convinced by the concept of 'humility' in this context. Is it really any more than simple openness to new ideas and the possibility of being wrong. That is not really 'humble'/ Smacks at times of academic pretension. You need to follow carefully what is being said - not a course to do while doing something else!

By Jason A

Jun 30, 2020

I enjoyed exploring the content behind the course, but the material was a little dense for someone without any type of philosophy background. I was familiar with some of the content due to my psychology education.

By Terry C

Jun 6, 2017

Interesting topic. Reasonable lectures, but poor study aides. Interesting fora and discussion groups.

By Katherine J

Mar 12, 2017

Great Course, but much too fast paced

By Joy S

Feb 19, 2017

rather hard to understand

By Chris S

Aug 12, 2021

Very dense material

By Steven G

Dec 15, 2016

Not so inspiring

By Allyson S

Jan 12, 2021

Unfortunately, I found this course to have long and wordy videos and the lectures unclear due to over-intellectualization of the concepts.

By Philip M

Dec 22, 2016

I do not feel that this course is ready for publication and is overlong for the material presented.

By Shonal R

Apr 8, 2020

Teachers are not good