Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems by University of Colorado Boulder

4.6
stars
956 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5360, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

Top reviews

KS
Jul 30, 2020

This is an extremely good course and I learned a lot. Thank you very much sir "Timothy Scherr " and all the people who make this a such a nice one. Also thank you very much "COURSERA" !!!

RD
Oct 24, 2018

Very good course, focused on the quartus prime tool and touch a lot of topics on FPGA design, optimization, time analysis and a little of comparison between Altera and other FPGA vendors.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 235 Reviews for Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

By rajkumar g

Nov 8, 2019

Good

By Ivano B

Aug 1, 2021

3

By Khalid J

Jan 28, 2020

This course is very helpful for FPGA learners, engineers, computer scientists, and hardware geeks. You will find everything you need about FPGA conception and architecture. You will learn about how to use Altera Quartus Prime, how to select the best technology based on your projects and assignments, FPGA design and analysis, and many more techniques that will upgrade your domain skills. But this course is not about programming FPGAs using VHDL or VERILOG. I really liked it and the tutor is amazing. Thanks Coursera for such helpful programs.

By Andrew K

Jun 8, 2020

I thought the class was very useful and I am confident I can select the proper device and design for it in Quartus and Qsys. The quizzes during the videos were very effective in keeping my focus on the video and cementing the ideas. Really good pace and level. Some of the books and the demo boards sugested were not used much or not used at all. It took me to the end of the class to get the hang of submitting and grading assignments. The best online class I have had.

By Filip K

May 17, 2020

Course is a good introduction.

Knowledge of Boolean algebra is a plus for the first exercises.

The Altera BeMicroMax10 is used as reference in this course.

FPGA dev board is not needed for this course. The suggestion of the Terrasic DE10-lite is a bit misleading, as it's referred to for future courses.

Certain parts of the course are not working as shown in the Quartus II. (bug in 16.1 196 build?)

By Steven K

Aug 1, 2020

Enjoyed the course and found it useful and challenging. There were a few minor but annoying bugs in the material that should have been fixed long ago, however. Also, it appears as if the forums where students can ask questions are unmonitored, since questions often go unanswered, and the same questions seem to pop up repeatedly.

By Joshua R

Aug 12, 2019

It was a nice course. But I feel the Designing part could have been taught more slowly so that those who are new to FPGA might understand a little bit better. Regardless, the syllabus was very nice, covering everything. I thank the course instructors also for taking effort to provide such a nice course.

By Jason C

Feb 4, 2021

This class feels a bit dated in that it doesn't mention Xilinx Zynq. It is also less useful to individuals focused on FPGA platforms other than the Altera platform used in the exercises.

Nevertheless, it is a good class that provides perspective that one might not get elsewhere on the web.

By David G

Apr 29, 2021

It is a nice course! I did learn lots new things and quizzes and homeworks are properly aligned with the content. Though I don't believe this is an intermediate course, this is more close to an almost beginner course, maybe upgrading it to have more of a challenge would be good :)

By Muhammad S A

Jun 21, 2020

It was a good one overall as it provided new ways to design and improve on FPGA which is not taught in most undergrad universities. Although, if they made assignments a little engaging and challenging, It will be really good for whoever comes next.

By K S

Jun 12, 2020

The Course was very good, But Week 3 was only regarding FPGA by various companies. I would rather suggest to limit that two 2 or 3 videos and get some more insights on FPGA in that week. Other than that the course was great. Thank you So much!!

By Parker O

Apr 10, 2021

I think my biggest complaint with this course is need for memorization during the exam. There is a lot of dense information in this course and you will be expected to retain a majority of it to do well on the final.

By Hanming Z

Apr 8, 2021

Overall pretty good introduction course. The 2nd week survey of products was boring, not particularly useful. The quiz could be better designed to rely less on memorization of what's covered in lecture.

By Ali A

Nov 8, 2018

The course was great. I learned a lot about FPGA architecture and choosing the right kind of tool for a particular task. The week 2 peer assignment needs a bit of some fixing, but the rest was awesome.

By John S

Aug 12, 2020

Some procedures through the tutorials in the course are told without explanation, why we use this or why we do that.

But overall this is an amazing course, and I learned a lot from it. Thank you all ❤️

By Karthik P

Nov 16, 2018

It had been quiet a knowledgeable course with the best aiding CAD tools and elobarate walk-through to work with it. Definitely a good starter into world of FPGA design.

By Mohamed R H

Jul 22, 2021

​Great course for who wants to start FPGA learning. The most effective weeks I have learned from are two and four. I am looking forward to start the second course.

By FARHANA S J

Jul 5, 2020

Bit harder course, but after finishing it, will surely improve knowledge on FPGA. Have few bugs on graded submission part. Overall great experience.

By Husam k

Oct 4, 2018

awesome course, hope there would more courses similar to it and if possible it would be great if you provide a step-by-step VHDL programming course

By Thierry

Feb 19, 2019

Very good introduction to fpga design! I regret recommended hardware is not on the market anymore and some recommended lectures are outdated.

By Kaijun F

Dec 27, 2017

Good course. Could improve by giving a little bit more background information or project goal of the circuits we build in the course.

By Jasper H

Nov 17, 2017

Good introduction to FPGA design, programmable logic and use of the Quartus II software. Can't wait for the follow-up modules.

By Kyle H

Nov 28, 2017

Material is introductory, but thorough. Quizzes had some issues, and the 'correct' answers need to be rechecked carefully.

By Arjun A P

Jul 27, 2020

Found this course very useful. But the explaination of circuits could be improved as it is a beginners course

By David T

Dec 17, 2019

Very nice course giving a good overview of FPGA, though sometimes not detailed enough. It is an introduction.