Chevron Left
Back to Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
2,161 ratings
762 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wished you knew how to program, but had no idea where to start from? This course will teach you how to program in Scratch, an easy to use visual programming language. More importantly, it will introduce you to the fundamental principles of computing and it will help you think like a software engineer....

Top reviews

ED
Apr 4, 2016

the course is what the name says it is, an introduction to programming, great course for any code beginner. Lecturer is doing amazing job and keeping the lectures interesting, easy and understandable.

MT
Jun 3, 2020

for a total beginner in coding, this course was the perfect start! It was easy to understand, and easy to program (coding wit already?)\n\nThank you so much for offering such a wonderful way to learn!

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 754 Reviews for Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming

By Rizka A

Sep 6, 2020

Great!

By Akhas R

Jan 9, 2021

Nice!

By Pankaj R

Jul 9, 2020

Great

By yenffrey j h a

Jun 16, 2020

Great

By Shah M F S

May 28, 2020

great

By Hyt G

Nov 13, 2015

great

By Sarthak S

Dec 28, 2020

good

By RITVIK B

Sep 7, 2020

best

By Soumyadeep B

Jun 24, 2020

good

By Akira S W

Jun 15, 2020

good

By Vajinepalli s s

Jun 12, 2020

nice

By Wasim A

May 18, 2020

good

By Ritwick M

May 12, 2020

Nice

By Arin M

May 12, 2020

good

By Avinash S P

Mar 6, 2020

nice

By Robert B C

Aug 15, 2015

Good

By Afraz G

Sep 18, 2016

Fun

By NIKOLAOS L

Nov 3, 2020

A

By Tharuka W

Aug 19, 2020

y

By Jolibeth S H A

Jul 7, 2020

i

By Deleted A

Jan 11, 2016

E

By Foong Y L

Dec 14, 2015

f

By jarrod j

Sep 18, 2015

i

By mariko

Feb 13, 2016

You will have to make a Scratch account (free) for this course.

Areti is a very clear instructor that explained concepts very well for complete beginners into programming, like myself and I found the course insightful.

1) Presentation - I couldn't help but wonder whether they had a lower target age (teenagers or younger) in mind, which was entertaining at some points but also distracting at other times. // Also, I only realized halfway through the course that it is in fact possible to see what Areti is doing on the Scratch program once the quality of the video is adjusted.

2) Projects/Time Commitment - Going through the lectures and quizzes are not time consuming at all, but the projects (especially the final project) takes a lot of time. It took longer than expected because I felt like much of the practical instructions on how to use Scratch for specific purposes were not provided during the course, leaving me to work by myself.

3) Discussion Forum - When I took the course, the discussion forum was close to being dead (especially compared to some of the other courses that I was taking simultaneously on Coursera). Gerry (mentor) did an amazing job responding to my inquiry, but I noticed that although there were a lot of students talking at the beginning, introducing themselves, there weren't that many discussions concerning the final assignment, making me feel like I was working alone. It would be great if there was more time to work on the final project, and perhaps a way in which students can collaborate and help out others when faced with a bug (ie preliminary project submission and feedback session).

I recommend taking this course, but realistically, you won't be program proficient after 5 weeks. You will, however, learn some basic programming theory, understand how programming works, and learn how to make a fun interactive game on Scratch!

By Ariadne T

Aug 26, 2015

The course was highly informative, entertainingly presented and does not require an unreasonable amount of time to complete. It serves well as an introduction to programming, especially the two course projects, where the peer review system works well. The instructors and mentors show a commitment to helping students and improving the already well-run course. An unusual and welcome feature of this Coursera course is the immediate verification of one's typing. My only criticism is the lack of downloadable written/pdf material related to the course, although students who go on to learn programming languages will likely relearn much of the knowledge they gained here.