Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Clinical Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Clinical Data by Stanford University

4.7
stars
289 ratings

About the Course

This course introduces you to a framework for successful and ethical medical data mining. We will explore the variety of clinical data collected during the delivery of healthcare. You will learn to construct analysis-ready datasets and apply computational procedures to answer clinical questions. We will also explore issues of fairness and bias that may arise when we leverage healthcare data to make decisions about patient care. In support of improving patient care, Stanford Medicine is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team. Visit the FAQs below for important information regarding 1) Date of the original release and expiration date; 2) Accreditation and Credit Designation statements; 3) Disclosure of financial relationships for every person in control of activity content....

Top reviews

OA

Mar 14, 2021

The course program is very intuitive and challenging. Overall, it is a very good course and I will recommend it to anyone interested in understanding clinical data, in particular for data scientists.

IA

Jan 7, 2023

In High School I wanted to study computer science and Biology together, but there was no option for that career track and here I am thirty years later, full filling that dream through Coursera.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 52 Reviews for Introduction to Clinical Data

By Frank C

Nov 15, 2020

Overall, the information in the course was useful. However, the videos in most modules were very short and could have been combined into more logical segments. The assessments were often disconnected from the actual material covered, meaning that questions were asked about topics that had not been discussed. The assessments needs to be reworked to reflect the actual content taught OR the modules need to be more fully developed to cover the content of the assessments.

By Crystal X

Nov 5, 2020

Very clear and well-organized course. I have learned quite a bit about the different types of clinical data, why they are important, and how to transfer them to analytical useable data sets.

By Stephan R

Oct 27, 2020

Good introductory course covering key features of the various data that are gathered or used in health care. No prior knowledge about the topic is required.

By Budianto T B

Jan 22, 2021

Main lecturer was difficult to understand -- I needed to spend time going back over and over on transcript of lecture and change the sentence structure on my notes to be able to comprehend. It was a rather disheartening experience

By Will B

Feb 21, 2023

The course is well organized and information dense - very efficient and very clearly explained. Highly recommend for a solid overview of clinical data in healthcare.

By Nikki J

Nov 20, 2020

It would be helpful to be able to see all items that need to be completed. I took the final test and it says I've only completed 2 of 5 courses.

By Kushal A S

Oct 17, 2020

Nicely Framed and Executed in a simple language so anyone can catch up earliest.

By Dr. R A A I

Dec 5, 2020

Examples are narrow and give the appearance of snippets rather than instruction. Course not well aligned,

By David R V

Mar 27, 2021

There was some interesting information in this course but it was too basic and stayed too basic. Really, if you added up all the 1 and 2 minute videos for any given week, you wouldn't even get a single good lecture out of it.

By Yolanda T

Aug 8, 2022

Videos are too short, some are just seconds long. The videos were not informative enough. There is one presenter that speaks so fast that you can't understand what he is saying. I would have liked more practice examples.

By hugo b m

Sep 16, 2023

It has been a great course that obligued to me to work hard snd read too much because I am an Electronics with some self study programs in Medical field that open to me the path to go to AI in Healthcare Specialization programs run by Stanford University School of Medicine, the greatest one.

All the study material and tools are excellent. But first class as a top lectures the Highly Professional professors of the Stanford University with whom I took a contact in a weekly time.

I expect to continuo with the program till I become conversant to get my AI Healthcare Specialization. Thank you very much. I will highly recommend your online programs in Medical Field to all of my friends.

By Rozarina

Aug 28, 2023

Great introduction and overview of how medical ethics, medical data, clinical trials, and other non-standard data can play into the formation of ML workflow and pipeline towards generating algorithms that can give health insights, and feed into improving patient care. Approaches to forming appropriate research questions related to types analysis and patient data is valuable for those who are migrating into Health AI from other fields.

By Marek Ś

Apr 7, 2024

Solid knowledge about how to work with clinical data, covering all important differences as compared to typical data science tasks. For me the most useful concepts were: dealing with unstructured data (esp. clinical text), knowledge graphs and electronic phenotyping.

By Olabode A

Mar 15, 2021

The course program is very intuitive and challenging. Overall, it is a very good course and I will recommend it to anyone interested in understanding clinical data, in particular for data scientists.

By ibn A

Jan 8, 2023

In High School I wanted to study computer science and Biology together, but there was no option for that career track and here I am thirty years later, full filling that dream through Coursera.

By Chalita

Jul 2, 2021

I like this course because duration that instrutors teach it isn't too lone it easy to understand. And you can gain more your skills.

By FSJ W

Dec 28, 2022

Excellent intro with the right amount of information to provide a good overview of the subject without confusing

By zoi k

Nov 15, 2023

really interesting, especially when data questions and types of data and patients timeline where explained

By Subhashree B 2

Apr 8, 2024

This course helps me a lot for how to frame clinical research question. How researchers make question

By Eugene P

Feb 15, 2021

Was helpful and informational - a non-healthcare technologist looking into healthcare data management

By Tai-Ying L

Jan 1, 2022

Very nice and accessible introduction to clinical data and the associated ethical considerations.

By Abu S

Aug 10, 2021

Course is very good. It would be more beneficial if more AI persepective will add.

By Mariam C

Dec 11, 2020

Great learning on uses of AI in healthcare and how to deal with ethical concerns

By Raimundo N

Mar 24, 2022

So grateful for continuing this learning journey with the prestigious Stanford!

By Benjamin E

Jul 28, 2021

Excellent overview supported by good frameworks for understanding concepts.