Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Cybersecurity Tools & Cyber Attacks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Cybersecurity Tools & Cyber Attacks by IBM

4.5
stars
6,142 ratings
1,703 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you the background needed to understand basic Cybersecurity. You will learn the history of Cybersecurity, types and motives of cyber attacks to further your knowledge of current threats to organizations and individuals. Key terminology, basic system concepts and tools will be examined as an introduction to the Cybersecurity field. You will learn about critical thinking and its importance to anyone looking to pursue a career in Cybersecurity. Finally, you will begin to learn about organizations and resources to further research cybersecurity issues in the Modern era. This course is intended for anyone who wants to gain a basic understanding of Cybersecurity or as the first course in a series of courses to acquire the skills to work in the Cybersecurity field as a Jr Cybersecurity Analyst. The completion of this course also makes you eligible to earn the Introduction to Cybersecurity Tools & Cyber Attacks IBM digital badge. More information about the badge can be found https://www.youracclaim.com/org/ibm/badge/introduction-to-cybersecurity-tools-cyber-attacks...

Top reviews

GV
Aug 14, 2020

The reading link to Week 03's Framework and their purpose is Broken. Please Fix it. Everything else seemed perfect. I would recommend this course for people who think of starting their careers in CyS.

RV
Dec 24, 2020

If you want to learn cybersecurity and you have no idea about that. Then this is the best course which covers all the basic topics and provide you a best knowledge about cybersecurity and their tools.

Filter by:

1601 - 1625 of 1,702 Reviews for Introduction to Cybersecurity Tools & Cyber Attacks

By Gregg A

Jul 18, 2020

[Poorly produced videos - Horrible audio. Verbose and confusing grammar from some speakers]

The audio quality of the video, specially the presenters, are often bad as I mentioned in my comments on each. The delivery as well needs your close attention as more often the way the presenters speak were not intelligible and verbose. I heard sniffing sounds and encountered varying volume levels on speakers' presentation, made worse by wrong grammatical expressions. I can't help but replaying the videos of skipping them.

The content needs updating as I saw slides dated 2018.

By Thomas A

Sep 6, 2020

The content of the course is good, without a question. But the way it's presented is not the kind i would expect it from a company like IBM. The sound quality of half of the videos is very poor. Sometimes it sounds as if it was recorded during a long distance phone call. One video obviously was recorded in an office while a tenacious visitor standing outside keeps knocking on the door. As most of the content is delivered by those videos, at most half of them in bad quality and hard to understand it does not really encourage you to keep on learning.

By Iain W B

Dec 20, 2020

The course relies on memory, not understanding. The audio was almost unintelligible, at times it sounded as if the lecturers were speaking from a satellite phone.

The course jumped from being extremely slow, in the first modules, to reliance on understanding of abbreviations that sometimes only have relevance in the US. There was little mention of European contrasts.

The assertion that this course requires little or no background knowledge is false. It’s a good job that I had years of prior experience in this field.

By L N

Aug 23, 2020

If I hadn't already taken the Open P-tech course I wouldn't have gotten very much from this one. It was difficult to understand many of the speakers and the transcripts were poorly done. I got more clarity on many topics from notes from the other P-tech course and simply by doing Google search on others. IBM should not allow this course to be published as is. However, I did learn a few things I didn't get from the other course hence 2 stars rather than none.

By KELLY K

Nov 19, 2020

There are quite a few errors in the written translation where the words in the written translation are not what was said by the presenter. The course was tedious. Some of the speakers were hard to understand and were not very good at oral presentation. There was too much overlap and the course could be substantially shortened without losing the core information convey in the course. I was disappointed by this course and had expected that it would be better.

By Anton M

Jan 6, 2021

This course is not sufficiently polished to be worth the Coursera subscription fee. The low quality of the audio recordings for the presentations, the standard of written English and attention to detail make this a flawed product. From the course forums I note these issues have been raised by other students previously with apparent minimal improvement. As a world leading company IBM should take ownership and address these issues if they value their brand.

By Julie R

Mar 30, 2021

The audio quality of this is so bad that even there are [inaudible] sections sprinkled through the course. It's obviously being recorded over the phone, but can't IBM afford a decent audio engineer? The instructors often ramble, and the questions at the end of each question sometimes reference things that were only referred to obliquely by the instructors. Not impressed at all, especially given the IBM name. I'll stick with LInkedIn Learning or Udemy.

By Natalie M

Jun 1, 2020

I feel I could have finished faster if the voice overs were more clearer. Even with the subtitles, it would show inaudible. I had to replay the videos several times. I learned a lot, but I feel the voiceovers could have a better script instead of just speaking normally as they would with their friends. I really was trying to finish within 7 days for my free trial, but took longer than it should have, which is very frustrating.

By David G M

Jul 25, 2020

Good Intro but not getting deep enough as I have expected. There are no tools with which interact/train with, such as SIEM apps (OSSIM) for instance.

Honestly I wouldn't have paid the price if I could realise in advance that a high portion of the thematic could be read out from Wikipedia.

It is perfect for new students, it gives a good overview of the principles though.

By Mohammad M H

Sep 20, 2020

There Is 2 lecturer I don't remember their name.The Speech Quality Not so good as i expected.The Senior One talk like he can't talk properly. Believe me when he was talking i just pause the Video read the subtitles under the video and searched google and understand the Topics.So please make the voice and sound clear so that the topic can be learned perfectly.

By Shrikant S

Dec 27, 2020

I have learned from course, however it has been more of going to Google and Wikipedia to understand further. Some links, data are really helpful in course, however quality of audio and visuals could have been much more better.

Audio specifically has created a lot of nuisance, and someone from Coursera should consider redesigning the course content .

By michael g

Aug 5, 2020

To make the course more accessible, the transcript ought to be reviewed by a human being. Automatic transcription is clearly not up to the task when some speaks English with a thick Spanish accent.

Duplicate information between section could be removed too.

Some real-life examples would have been a useful supplement to this mainly theoretical course.

By Aenon J

Jun 20, 2020

Many presenters are hard to understand, and the transcripts don't help (they include words like [inaudible], so you can't even rely on the transcripts). It's kind of a joke. In addition, you definitely need some IT background for this. I had to look up acronyms in almost every video for the last 2 weeks.

By Paul V

Apr 30, 2020

Clearly some internal training has been re-hashed (no pun intended) for external use. Slides includes typos, speakers mumble and the transcripts haven't been QA-ed. A number of the questions in the Module 1 quiz in fact are covered until Module 4, which shows what little time has been spent finessing this.

By Seth Y

Sep 14, 2019

the contents is good the challenge is some of the presenters accents are difficult to follow specially with bad comm . they sound like speaking out of a tank or bad landline .

it would make more sense if they do it from a proper place with better quality mics not from home with bad headset

By Khan S H

May 24, 2020

Most of the video's audio quality varies from poor to very very poor. One has to continuously read the written text below to understand. Secondly, most of the video shows slides that contain many URL links, and slides are not provided. As a result, we could not go through those URL links.

By Birger T

Nov 17, 2020

The content of the course if decent, but the presentation isn't very engaging. The English transcripts of the videos contain many mistakes. Especially the recording of the videos is poorly done with different volume levels, long pauses, etc. Not what I am used to from other IBM courses.

By Anush C

Apr 27, 2020

Good course. However NO NONE ZERO introduction to cybersecurity tools. Only theory.

Some speakers are very bad (eg. McLaughlin) can't understand what they talk even with the subtitles on.

Please add some actual tools and teach about them.

Long story short- Waste of time and money.

By Iliya M

Sep 25, 2020

That was just talking! Video, more Images, Gifs, etc can increase the insights and make to understand these huge knowledge better and in a way more effective! I know this was just an intro, but at least some sort of practical education could make this course more exciting !

By Todd D

Aug 1, 2020

The course was not well organized and much of the materiel was poorly delivered. The course was full of broken links, unclear information and spelling errors. Overall, I think it needs to be looked over and optimized to ensure you're providing a higher quality product.

By MARINO' A

Mar 23, 2021

Very interesting arguments, I surely will continue the IBM courseware to obtain their Cybersecurity Analyst certification, but this course contains very bad material, with a lot of videos that are hard to be understood because of their very low audio quality.

By Kari W

Jan 10, 2021

The audio is very fuzzy. The experts have a lot of information and knowledge but would benefit from an instructional designer helping them to create a better flow of information and course materials (like slides, etc).

By Nathanael Z

Jul 29, 2020

So far a few lessons in, the material is very hard to follow due to many grammatical errors from the various presenters. This results in information that is hard to follow, especially when trying to read the material.

By Suman S

Jul 25, 2020

Very theoretical and passive course, I guess its good for beginners (not sure if that is the case it should be made interesting to grasp attention) but can be designed better. Hope the next one will not be so passive.

By Muhammad N

Jun 28, 2020

1) Nothing Practical and Applied Knowledge.My Purpose not fulfilled which I wants desperately.

2) Poor Audio Quality Issue

3) Poor Presentation skill and one of your Instructor not have lecture delivering skill.